We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Backpacker Location-Great Rooftop for Escaping City”
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #39 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as part of a 3 month SE Asia backpacking trip. It was $30/night with taxes and all and that included breakfast which we found to be quite good, although somewhat unorthodox by Western standards you could say. You could have eggs made ready any style, baguettes, mixed fruit, fried rice and noodles, french fries some days, spring rolls other...all very good though regardless and for $30/night I will take what I can get on a budget. The room itself was nice, we had a standard with a window; which included cable TV, free in room wifi, hot shower, soap, shampoo, etc...and it suited our needs just fine. Nothing excellent but defintely above average. This hotel is located at the very west end of Bui VIen st. which is literally at the heart of District 1, backpacking area-take my word for it. Walk outside, turn right, and you are faced with multiple options of food, bar, shopping and we had no problem walking during day time heat to the War Remnants Museum and Golden Water Puppet Theater. Cab was less than $3 USD on one occasion we didn't. The hotel staff was very nice to us and even change dour room five minutes after checking in as we did not like its proximity towards the restaurant/bar. No questions asked. I would say the highlight of the hotel is a pubic rooftop bar which serves delicious foods and drinks, at a fairly reasonable price depending on what you order, with an incredible view of the city. If you visit there, you will meet a very nice Vietnamese woman with an Australian accent (her English teacher was Australian) who was incredibly welcoming and a hard worker. The rooftop bar was a great escape from the hustle of the city and there you wont have to worry about any hagglers. My only complaint, an this is not necessarily directed at the hotel, was that some other guests staying on our floor were very loud and allowed their children to run around very early morning. The walls are thin and the halls carry sound very easily so this will certainly disturb you if you are a light sleeper. If you're on a budget or want to be in the thick of things, I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid staying near the rooftop bar as the sound carries very easily through the walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longhorn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
We were delighted to hear that you had great experience during your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful. The team at Duc Vuong hotel is always committed to providing the highest level of customer service to each and every one of our guests.
About your complaint we will consider more and careful. We will try to find the best way to solve this case
If your travels bring you back to Ho Chi Minh City, we trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Duc Vuong hotel and this is the opportunity to extend our warm hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived at 4am and made our way to the backpackers area in HCMC, after surveying the place we decided that the hotel had a good location surrounded by many eateries and small shops. A better location than the slightly cheaper hotels we were initially considering(inside small alleys and near to dubious bars). The service staff were welcoming and very helpful, even at 5am! The room was clean, good basic amenities and free wifi with fast connectivity. Only thing was that it had no window, so it might be a little stuffy to some people though we were ok with it. The rooftop bar and restaurant was very pretty with a great view of HCMC. The hotel motto "we are family" really applies to the way the hotel staff treat the guests. We would recommend this hotel and will go back to stay there if we are in HCMC again:)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_Beins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for sharing your great comment with us.
We are so glad to hear that you had a such enjoyable stay at Duc Vuong hotel
We are more than delighted to welcome you back to the warmth and hospitality of our hotel again soon.
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I've stayed here twice before and have recommended this place to many colleagues and friends so I didn't hesitate in booking again on my last trip to HCMC. Overall it was disappointing and I won't come here again.

They've invested in a bar/restaurant on the roof which looks great but I found hotel staff really pushy in trying to get you to eat there. Each time I passed through reception someone thrust a menu in my hand and wanting to know why I was buying food and drink elsewhere.

Don't accept a room on the 7th floor. After the first night, they changed my room, but I didn't get much sleep as it's directly underneath the bar, and the tiled floors mean you hear every chair movement especially as they clean up after it's closed in the early hours. And then the early risers are there for breakfast at 6.30am! All the bar's customers use the lift from the 7th floor so there were noisy people right outside my door waiting for the lift at all hours and the tiles means the echoing noise is really loud.

The rooms are fine and generally service is good at the hotel, but there are plenty of other options in this price bracket and I don't think this place deserves such high rankings among HCMC hotels which are due to the great reviews and ratings in the past not the present.

Room Tip: Avoid the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our third trip to Vietnam and the first time we have stayed at the Duc Vuong.

I am in the hospitality industry in Australia and absolutely loved this hotel.
Apart from my mother in law;), I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
We stayed in a deluxe room (level 7, room #713) and everything was perfect.
The hotel is centrally located in District 1, so you just walk out of the hotel and you are straight into the backpacker tourist area.
The hotel is very clean, food very good, so much so that guests from neighbouring hotels dropped into the restaurant and roof top garden bar to eat.
The staff are very efficient, most speak very good English and their customer service is excellent...nothing was too much trouble.
Management need to be congratulated for their staff training procedures and although I have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever, if I could make one suggestion to management it would that because you have a shower over a very deep bath perhaps some hand rails on the bath walls would assist the older clientele getting in and out.

Great hotel and looking forward to staying there again next trip!

Cheers Ghools

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for choosing Duc Vuong hotel. We’re honoured that you decided to visit Vietnam and delighted because you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly appreciate your feedback and will take your suggestions in to consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. It included a delicious and varied breakfast. We loved the rooftop bar and restaurant. Our room was always clean. In the tourist area but often walked to other areas, to the markets, museum, etc. We have wonderful memories of Ho Chi Minh! We want to go back again and again. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
Thanks you for taking time to share as the good review about Duc Vuong hotel
We highly appreciate your extensive feedback and we will certainly pass some of the constructive comments onto our management team to ensure further quality improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of Duc Vuong Hotel in the not too distant future.
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

For the backpackers and flashpackers, if you can afford to splurge a bit and pay more than what you would for a hostel, I would stay here at Duc Vuong. You get the benefit of meeting backpackers from all over but the comfort of a hotel.
What made my experience great was the staff. They are super hospitable and attentive, from the porter to the door staff to the front desk to the breakfast staff. They were always ready to help with anything, especially answering questions on where to go and how to get around Ho Chi Minh.
I was able to stay here on my trip into Vietnam and on the tail end, and I stayed on the 1st and 3rd floors. If you can, get a room higher up. I also had a room that had no windows, but that was a benefit as you could hear no outside street noise.
If there are any negatives it would have to be the inside noise. Although not often, you will hear people come and go on your floor in the same hallway. And to be honest, I did hear a quite amorous couple somewhere as well.
Also, the 1st floor room had a bit of an ant issue (but not a big deal, really), while the 3rd floor had no ant problem as far as I could tell.
But being that is a budget hotel, it's hard to expect total silence so I was fine with it all. Overall, Duc Vuong is a great value and is situated in a great location in the middle of all the action, and most of all, I'll never forget how great the staff was. I wll definitely return and recommend Duc Vuong to anyone.
Ling, if you are reading this... thank you for all your help !!!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for taking time to post your review and for choosing to stay at Duc Vuong hotel
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vietnam.
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We initially hated this hotel as our room was tiny, hot as the aircon didn't work properly,which you need in Hong Chiming city and the noise from the rooftop bar spilled directly into our room.
We asked to be moved but they said we couldn't as they had no rooms left. We asked to pay for an upgrade and surprise!miraculously there was a superior room available.
Once we changed rooms we were more comfortable ,so paying a bit more was worth it.The room was bigger and we got a bath, however the shower over the bath was a nightmare to use as it would flood the room.
If you like tea and coffee you get it premade but are given no sugar or milk for your team. That was frustrating as I like my coffee.
The hotel is based in a good tourist area in District 1 with walking distance to good restaurants and the main market is a 15minute walk away.Try the cycilo for a fun easy way of getting to any tourist destinations in the main part of the city.
There is no pool but there is a rooftop bar with great views and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Stay away from standard rooms pay $5 + more for a quieter better nights sleep in superior Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Valued guest,
Thanks for taking time to share your feeling about your stay at Duc Vuong hotel. we would like to confirm with you that we have different type and size of room for all kind of guest. All of them are valuable with their price. The satisfaction will be depend on individual demand . As we have known the Standard room was not suitable for you because you think it small. So we did offer you a better one. It cost should be US$15 extra but we just get US$5 from you (as being discount). Anyway thanks for your review, but we think the Standard room is really good and suitable with the price for it. We will take note this case and remember to offer the big room for you in next reservation and we will give you the Good price as well.
We hope to see you soon in your next trip to Ho Chi Minh city
Best wish for you
Thanks and Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#48 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#105 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#50 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#66 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#26 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $30 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing