We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good place for first days in HCMC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duc Vuong Hotel
Ranked #30 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place for first days in HCMC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on early February for 2 nights. I used the airport transport as I knew I'd be too tired to haggle after a 25 hour journey. The driver was waiting with a sign with my name. I got there at 10:30am and they had 2 rooms ready for me even though check in time wasn't until 2pm. The bellboy advised me in which room to take, even though it was too big for just me. The front desk staff spoke English well and were very helpful in directing me. The computers were fast as was the WiFi. The breakfast in the rooftop restaurant was plentiful with a mix of western and Vietnamese food in the buffet and the nightly parties overlooking the city was a nice break from the bustle. The location was good for me - just far enough from the backpackers but still close to the action. A nice 10 min walk to Cho Ben Than.

Negatives - ride from airport $17, but ride to was $10. Curious? I asked the front desk to call a local number and confirm a night tour I had booked and he charged me 5000VND/min and told me it would cost 10000VND/page to print. But the morning girl said there was no charge and printed something for me 3 times before it came out right. I don't mind paying but it just seemed sort of random.

Room Tip: I had a "deluxe" room, with 2 beds. Ask the bellboy which rooms are quieter, he'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM_by_the_zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    687
    204
    53
    19
See reviews for
228
696
197
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff were exceptional. Their knowledge and willingness to help is second to none. The hotel facilities were terrific. Clean, comfortable and well equipped rooms. There is a great massage business around the corner. 120vnd ( $6aud) for a one hour massage. The hotel has a roof top bar and restaurant serving lovely food and beverages at surprisingly low prices. The view is beautiful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Ben thanh market. And to top it off, they offer an extensive selection for breakfast to prepare you for your day in exciting and hectic Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The bed sheets and blankets are old but bathroom is very new. Very clean also. Got an upgrade to a triple room with window, bathtub and a safe box. Toiletries came in 3 sets and they are nice. There's a column between the small bed and the big bed, so they made a shelf with mirror in front, and I could put the remote controls there. The air con works well and is very quiet. Furniture in room are made up from the old style so they look outdated. They give free water bottles, coffee, tea & pop corn in room. Couldn't find the plug to use the kettle so had to bring kettle to the bed to boil water. In the rooftop restaurant, they have vegetarian dishes. Mine tastes very good. The buffet breakfast is a good value for the price paid (I paid only 27 US$). Located slightly out of the happenings in this backpacker district, so a few minute walk will bring you to see hundreds of Caucasian guests sitting on the street to drink beer. Imagine a narrow shop has no where for them to sit, so they sit in front of the shop to the street, about 5 to 6 rows x 8 people a row. Many shops like this. The local restaurant on the right of Duc Vuong Hotel, 2 houses apart I think, has excellent noodle for only 50,000 VND.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wsea3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Front Office Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
First of all, we are very thank you to all your recommendation and suggestions to our hotel and service.
There are a lot of room types. We chose the traditional way to bring impression to you (all customers). Actually, we have just done renovation since July 2012, so you could see all the new stuffs & bathtubs new furniture, fridges and air-cons. It could bring to you more conveniences like you are living in your home-sweet-home.
For the same comments about the bed sheets and blankets, you will spend no worries at all because we have the cleaning team to do all the washing, they are experience and very tiny, there is no problems at all with it, because we use the best way to clean
There are some electric holes in the room, not only are by your bed, but they are also from behind the “make up” cabinet, next time, you could call 0 and receptionist will show you . However, in some rooms, there are barely electric holes, but anyway we will inspect and maintain it to fix the demand of using the kettle
There are many narrow shop and very loudly on the street outside the hotel. But we could bring it better with our restaurant on 7th floor, you could also enjoy Vietnamese or European meals and get good view terrace up there. If you come here by yourself, you could also make friends with a lot of other guests, good conservations, nice view, cold beer and delicious dishes. Thus, you do not need to walk further to those eateries from the street if you like quiet place in the terrace.
We are not only bringing our services, but also giving you the feelings as living at your home. You would feel more enjoyable and relaxing with Duc Vuong family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights. Very friendly staff. They accidently washed some of our clothes but we didnt have to pay for it. Awesome rooftop bar! Good location at end of bar street. Close to all sights. We would definately stay here next time we visit Saigon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnieIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

It was our first stop on our holiday to Vietnam, after reading about the taxi scams, we used their pick up from the airport which was worth the money. All the staff were extremely helpful in making our 3 night stay a good one.
Rooms were clean and they also had fresh water containers on each floor. Location was ideal as you did not have to walk far to the many restaurants, although we were offered a free meal on our arrival. The roof top bar was a bonus away from all the traffic again service was good and prices reasonable, the only down side is that the music was very loud and as our room was on the 5th floor this could be heard till late. We booked our tunnel visit and a 3 day 2 night Mekong delta to Phnom Penh with the travel agency downstairs both good value and very well organised. Would use this hotel again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent 3 months in this wonderful hotel in 2012 at the beginning of the year & another week in September. I enjoyed my time there very much - the staff are incredible - nothing was too much trouble - very friendly & helpful - just like family which is how they billed themselves & they lived up to that very well. They were undertaking some renovations to some rooms in September, so I guess it is even better now. I am hoping the new mattresses are not quite as hard!
The rooftop terrace is a great place to relax, cool off in the evening, have a meal or a drink with friends & meet some new ones. The computer room was great - a cup of tea appeared at my elbow whenever I sat there! The free bananas were also a nice touch.
Every member of staff contributed to a great stay in HCMC. I am returning for 10 days in April this year.

Room Tip: Always ask for a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, our staffs are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time for long term stay with us. The renovation has been finished and all rooms have been upgraded to a better quality of furniture and stronger internet, but price is still reasonable. All our mattresses are high quality and at your choice to be softer. it was quite hard because we used double layer. I am glad that you enjoy the rooftop terrace, now it is also possible for you to request songs to play as your favorite. we are looking to seeing you again at our hotel as "we are family". Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here (regret not) but the rooftop bar was fantastic with cheap beer, great food and awesome atmosphere. Had a great time here for TET (Lunar New Years Eve). Well worth a visit, staff are hilariously fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trueman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Oh, I love your words "fantastic with cheap beer, great food and awesome atmosphere." Yes, our beer is cheap as 12,000vnd, but it is also free with 1 cup of banana wine and snack such as peanut or french fried. The cheap price is for all the time of day. Hope to see you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#21 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#40 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#37 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#17 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#13 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Property: Duc Vuong Hotel
Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#20 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing