We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to Vietnamese hospitality”
Review of Luan Vu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luan Vu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for our first 3 nights in Vietnam. We organised a pick up from the airport which was very easy. It was reasonably priced in comparison to some other places and no extra charge for a delay, which was lucky because our bags got lost en route and we were quite late in. The loacation is perfect, just off the main bar and restaurant street. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. We booked standard room with no window. The AC was excellent. It was a good size, spotlessly clean and had everything you would expect from a premium hotel room. It was also silent which is unusual in Ho Chi Minh. Breakfast was basic but it was tasty and kept you going until lunch. All in all a great start tour trip. We have one more night passing though Ho Chi Minh and we have booked in here again.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room with no window. They are big enough that it isn't claustrophob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 453 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

For only $20 a night this hostel is the perfect place to stay in Ho Chi Minh. It's located just off the main road so you miss the noise but are right next to the buzz of the city. The rooms and clean and spacious with a very nice bathroom, fridge, TV, aircon, fan, kettle and you get a great free breakfast the next morning. The lady running the hostel is lovely and was really really helpful with booking tours and bus trips for us. You can't go wrong with luan vu, it's the perfect place to come back to after a long day out in this crazy city!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a great little hotel to stay in. Everything you would expect...clean, standard breakfast, and great location. The staff in particular were super friendly, accommodating and always helpful. They helped our party of four with everything from tours, to places to eat, to getting to the airport super early. One thing I really liked was how quick the owner was to respond to my emails before booking the room. I would definitely recommend staying here and would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window if possible. Also ask for lower floors as the stairs to the fifth can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 729beckyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Air con not really cold. Had to carry heavy luggage up 3rd story. Rooms a bit dirty. Hygiene could be better. Needs some renovation. But overall, price is fine with simple breakfast. But the location is quite convenient.

Room Tip: Choose lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnktony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we have 3 twin rooms. The request was for lower floor as we were seniors. They worked with me to plan trip and given me 3 rooms on same floor but diff. category on 1st floor to climb only 1 floor. What a nice gesture! The location was perfect and safe. The standard room was nice and clean but very small, superior was ok and deluxe was very good. we stayed 3 nights. The staff was very good and BF was very good. They helped us book sightseeing tours. I am very pleased to stay here.

Room Tip: If you have little more money to spend, go for Deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksn1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Luan Vu is in the perfect location, right smack in the backpacker's district along Bui Vien street. It's not far from Ben Thanh market and walking to and fro the area made us pretty safe and secure. Don't be scared to walk through the small street leading the hotel, there are police officers around and the people living around the area greet you with a smile on their face and a little hello. The staff speak good English and helped us get our tours and taxi to wherever we needed to go. The hostess in the front desk also helped recommend the best places to shop and dine in our area; she even printed out a map to guide us along!

The rooms are quite huge for a backpacker's hotel and we had clean sheets and towels all the time. We had free lipton tea and good coffee in our rooms which was a plus. The only let down was the teensy toothpaste which barely fit our needs, but overall, it was convenient and a comfortable stay. Highly recommended for backpackers and family travellers on a budget :)

Room Tip: Our room was in 301 and we could hear the pre-school nearby in the mornings. Better get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleEmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and nothing to complain about !
Clean and spacious rooms with air con, fan, big TV, good shower. Breakfast a bit small but lots of bananas and toast if you want to.
Friendly and smily staff.
Right in the center but hidden from the busy street.
What else do you want !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,222 reviews
1.6 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#49 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#3 of 731 in Ho Chi Minh City
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 731 in Ho Chi Minh City
749 reviews
0 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#10 of 731 in Ho Chi Minh City
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#6 of 731 in Ho Chi Minh City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luan Vu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luan Vu Hotel

Address: 35/2 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 731 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $18 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luan Vu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with LCD screen, cable TV, desk, coffee/tea maker in each room. Luan Vu hotel has room service daily, business center, wifi at lounge and room, airport transfer. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Luan Vu hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Luan Vu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing