We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Cholon street photography

Considering myself as an advanced photographer I haven’t signed up to a photo tour in a long time... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
dhtt29
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
HCMC Photography

Thanks Arnaud for a great afternoon in HCMC. Arnaud is a great host and photographer, combining a... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2018
markp0102
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 185 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ho Chi Minh City
from $59.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $32.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
180
2
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
2
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street photography backstreets tour photography skills photographic experience professional photographer skill level camera settings love photography amazing teacher skype calls meo vac amazing shots fun person private lesson few hours a great learning experience his passion
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 185 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2015

Recently my husband, sixteen year old son and I joined with Arnaud on his Cholon backstreets tour. Having only a very short window of time to spend in HCMC, this tour provided the perfect mix of a guided exposure to a side of the city which we may not typically have had the opportunity to access, with a very high standard photographic teaching and learning experience.

Although it was mainly I who had the interest in photography per se, Arnaud managed to engage and accommodate both my son and hubby in the experience to make it fun and interesting for everyone.

He has a teaching style which is technically and aesthetically of a very high standard, and was able to communicate this knowledge in such a way as to be both personally challenging (I sweated a lot!!) whilst also very encouraging. I truly felt that the experience pushed me creatively and technically, and I came away with practical skills and creative ideas about "seeing" that I would continue to carry forth on the rest of our adventures through Vietnam.

We all absolutely loved the experience and would most definitely look Arnaud up again for another round the next time we visit Vietnam.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2015

Arnaud is a fabulous photography teacher. He tells you exactly what you need to do with your camera to capture the best pictures and is constructively cricitial of your results. My husband and I are quite experienced photographers and I definitely learned a lot from our tours with Arnaud! We did the scoot 'n' shoot and the morning in the Chinese quarter tours.
We visited areas of Ho Chi Minh City which tourists probably wouldn't normally visit. Arnaud knows where to go to take great photographs and knows lots of the locals too. He will definitely help you know which settings to use on your camera to achieve the best street photography results and will look at the pictures you have taken to tell you how to improve them.
I am a pet photographer normally, so I think he was a little perplexed by my wanting to take pictures of the cats and dogs I saw! By the end of the tour, I think he knew why I was into pet photography too!
Thank you Arnaud for your instruction and company for the day. I love the pictures I got from the tour and there were definitely more than 1 or 2 that were keepers!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

This is my second photo tour/class with Vietnam Photo Adventures. I learned so much from the first class a few months ago, that this time I brought my family. Arnaud is knowledgable, patient and an excellent teacher. Spending a day seeing the city through different eyes, going to parts of the city we'd never go to otherwise and learning more about people and their stories, incredible. Plus, we all learned a lot about capturing moments, composing pictures and using our cameras. Next time, I'd love to take one of the tours of the
Mekong or other parts of Vietnam.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank PalominoMadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile

I'm a 14 year old photography hobbiest. My mom took me on a short trip to Ho Chi Minh. She was there for a business trip. So not having anything to do, I came across Mr.Foucard's website. So I emailed him asking whether a 14 year old can go alone. He didn't have any problems :) So booked for the Cholon Backstreets tour. You would think a 14 year old going alone would be unsafe, but for my case, I couldn't feel any safer and I trusted Mr.Foucard entirely! So if you are planning to come to Vietnam and your son/daughter is a photography enthusiasts, I fully recommend Mr.Foucard's tour!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank petec143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

We really enjoyed the photo tour - particularly meeting Arnaud who is a very interesting and friendly person, seeing parts of the city we may have missed otherwise, and the interactions with locals. He was very patient with us, the only shame being that our photography skills were not particularly well developed (excuse the pun); better photographers would probably get even more out of it.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews