We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied!”
Review of Hoang Lien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoang Lien Hotel
Ranked #203 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I went to Ho Chi Minh from May 26th until May 29th, 2014 with a friend. We booked this hotel through Agoda with VERY CHEAP PRICE! At first, I thought I will have a poor facilities since I found it came with a low price but I was wrong. This hotel served us with complete facilities! Only $60 for 4 days and 3 nights, we got a nice clean room, wardrobe, international TV channel, wi-fi, coffee tea maker, hairdryer and even a bathtub! The breakfast was very simple but it taste good. Feels like home when I stayed here, thank you Hoang Lien Hotel for gave us such a good experience and sure I will stay here if I visit HCMC again in the future..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Hoang Lien Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 179 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night before he headed to Nha Trang. The hotel was average at best. I guess if you just need a place to crash for cheap then this is a place to be. Reception staffs not as happy. They should smile more. Anyhow, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the showers were hot.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Diana8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

After a long tiring over night bus journey we arrived here to be told that they had over booked their rooms and that we would have to stay in the hotel opposite. Telling us a story that one of there customers needed to stay longer due to travel problems.. But why should we be having to move to a different hotel if we are booked, shouldn't that person be over the road?? I also don't believe that this story is true after reading reviews that it's happened to other people before. It's takes a lot of time to decide what hotel is best to stay in so to turn up to find your room has been given away it's just not good enough. They told us that we could check back in after 12 the next day, didn't even offer to make the room available earlier so we didn't have to wait around all day to change, so instead we told them we would stay in the other hotel for the rest of the time. Simply not good enough, if you have booked a room in advance it should be available for you, very bad customer service, take your money else where and stay across the road at Lam Binh because it's likely you will get put in there anyway!!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Its a nice place and value for money. Some mini marts and 24hrs convenient stores are around and easy to find, near Starbucks, Nguyen Trai Street, Ben Thanh Market but a bit far if you want to visit Dong Khoi street (Vincom centre, Parkson Paragon ... and other shopping malls)

Room is clean and comfortable, bathroom is a bit small, but it is worth for your spend :)

Room Tip: The back and front room is the best, while the middle ones seem to be smaller.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trang1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. It's only 12 minutes walk to Pham Ngu Lao but a bit far from Ben Tahn market. We enjoy their buffet breakfast and the staff are friendly. Value for money!
There are three 24 hours convenient shop nearby. Besides, our favorite Aiya! restaurant which serve nice authentic Vietnamese food and Trung Nguyen Coffee is just nearby!
Choose the room not facing the main street as the motorcycles horn can be quite annoying

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bibiana0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Chosen for its location close to the centre of the city but outside of the noisy backpackers district. This is a budget hotel so you very much get what you pay for (as with all things in Vietnam) so do not expect a 5 star hotel for these prices. What you get is a basic room of good size and a reasonable but basic ensuite with bath with a wall mounted shower over it. Hot water was good and everything worked in the room including the aircon unit. The hotel was clean (again a relative term in Vietnam - US or European standards of hygiene are rare here and usually only found in 4 or 5 star hotels). The breakfast was a small buffet that was adequate but not exciting. The staff were helpful in allowing me to print boarding passes on their printer and also keeping our bags when we checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trailfinder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very nice and comfortable rooms for the price. Large wardrobe, large bed, nice flat-screen TV, and bathrooms have a tub & shower curtain! Definitely one of the more comfortable places we've stayed in Vietnam. They do not always change the sheets, so you have to ask. It was always easy to be helped with anything from the wireless router needing to be restarted, or the lack of clothes hangers, or needing extra towels. For laundry, they charge by the item, which is very expensive unless you have very little to wash. Wash clothes elsewhere. We stayed an extra night and had no problems at all. Was the same price as agoda. We did check-out early in the morning (6:30am) and the staff was very frazzled at that hour.

One of my favorite things about this hotel is the delicious breakfast, IF you are into Vietnamese cuisine. The choices are limited if you only like Western breakfasts. Breakfast was a buffet and they always had chao and noodle soup and 2 other dishes like banh cuon with fish sauce or banh tet. They change the dishes every day! But the only western breakfast option was usually eggs and bread. Very yummy passion fruit juice! Combine with the orange juice! I looked forward to breakfast every night! Hotel is in a good location. Great walking around the area. Access to the dirt cheap public bus, which is abhorrent to most travelers apparently, but we loved it. Mini mart a minute walk down the sidewalk serves most your needs. The best restaurants seemed to be closer to city center, but this street is quieter. Also you avoid the tourist trap of the backpackers street, Pham Ngu Lao (not recommended). I will use this hotel next time as well!

Room Tip: Standard rooms do not have a window, may feel poorly ventilated.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#94 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#137 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ngoc Minh Hotel
Ngoc Minh Hotel
#215 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
Little Brick Saigon Hotel
#143 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#153 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#145 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Lien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Lien Hotel

Address: 15 Bui Thi Xuan Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1 | Ward Ben Thanh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hoang Lien Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoang Lien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing