We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for banh mi sandwich but a bit pricey”
Review of My Banh Mi Saigon

My Banh Mi Saigon
Order Online
Ranked #172 of 4,981 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic Taste, Clean & Healthy My Banh Mi (MBM) should not be mistaken with a sidewalk street stall. We are a specialty restaurant recognized for authentic Vietnamese home cooking. A two page limited menu offers authentic Vietnamese Vegan & non- Vegan meals: Classic Noodles, Meats and Vegetarian Items. As MBM culinary bonafides, food professionals rate MBM specialties as #1 in Vietnam for both taste authenticity and quality. Ctrip (China PRC) - Food Maps (Pan Asian TV ) - Moya Moya Japan TV - TripAdvisor Over 1,100 reviews - Rurubu (Japanese Tour Guide) - Vinadaytravel (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Tripzilla (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Coconuts.Co (Asian Travel Advisory Service) AMBIANCE: Air-conditioned - English speaking table service. AUTHENTIC: Authentic meals imparting delicate flavors combining authentic herbs and spices. SERVING: Clean, healthy, authentic meals offering excellent value for money. Five star quality moderately priced. DINING HOURS: Last orders 8:30.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Tried the saigon beef banh mi, the veggie banh mi with beef pate and the tofu salad. The beef sandwich is really good, the beef is very juicy and the sandwich is crispy, highly recommended! The veggie banh mi is so-so. The salad has a peanuty sauce and the tofu itself has a different sauce which makes it a bit weird tasting. A small cafe located next to the post office just across the street. English menu and the server speaks decent English which makes it easy to order.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 3jjjjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear 3jjjjo,

Thank you for your review mentioning “The beef sandwich is really good, the beef is very juicy and the sandwich is crispy, highly recommended!”

The reason for this taste quality is that our Banh Mi beef is imported from the United States (USDA Choice New York Strip loin) and slow oven roasted to insure maximum succulence.

You mention our Tofu sauce,… we do not add sauce to our tofu but our tofu is marinated with annatto seed oil (considered medicinal). This is in accordance with our use of herbs and healthy spices in the accentuating of our practice of healthy dining. (a major consideration with our vegan options)

Yes, our sandwich does cost a little more than one bought in the streets but the comparison of ingredients quality cannot be compared.

Our specialty is authenticity of taste and quality; for this reason we are recognized and rated by professional food reviewers as serving the #1 Banh Mi in Vietnam for both authenticity of taste and quality. Our patrons dine with us understanding that they may pay a little more for our Banh Mi but they are assured of authenticity, unequalled quality and the demanding hygiene we practice.

We all know that quality costs a little more but is well worth it when it comes to a meal.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

The banh mi is really good. The taste is special that no where can do the same. Staffs are also nice. I will try other foods here next time

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank February02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear February02,

Thank you for your review and greatly appreciate your comment on our Banh Mis as “The taste is special that no where can do the same.”

You are correct in making this observation as constructing an authentic Banh Mi requires quality ingredients that most find as cost prohibitive.

We at My Banh Mi specialize in authenticity and quality. This demands quality ingredients that cost us more but this is the only way we know how to insure the authenticity of taste and quality our loyal patrons demand.

You may have noted that many professional dining reviewers have rated our Banh Mi as #1 in Vietnam for both taste authenticity and quality. This recognition was not earned by accident …. and by the way, constructing a outstanding Banh Mi is not rocket science and we will share this secret with you, …. we simply construct with the absolute best ingredients and allow our meal ingredients to then speak for themselves. Our Banh Mi fillings of beef -imported USDA Choice NY Strip Loin, Chicken, Pork, Fish and Tofu are the best that can be found. We simply use the best ingredients and believe that simplicity is best.

Thank you for your review and we trust that we will have the opportunity in future to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Prices are very excessive and taxes are just insane ! You have to pay a minimum of 50000 dong per person ! It's unbelievable !
Stealers !

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 126pierreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Dear 126pierreb,

We are a very small boutique type restaurant of 3 small booths and only a few small tables for two; our seating is very limited. As such to protect space for our patrons who actually visit with us to dine, we have been forced to install a nominal minimum charge of VND50K or US$2 per seated person.

As our premises provide free Wi-Fi and a very comfortable attractive air-conditioned seated ambiance, without a minimum service charge both we and our diners have experienced group abuse. Unfortunately, groups of 4 and 5 persons would descend upon our restaurant and order one cup of coffee between the four individuals. This action was to take advantage of our complimentary Wi-Fi and our comfortable air-conditioned seated dining area.

This flagrant abuse often denied many a legitimate diner meal seating and was viewed as totally unfair to actual dining patrons.

Regarding your comment on VAT tax on a meal bill - VAT tax is charged by all responsible government registered businesses. As your profile shows you as being from India, the VAT tax in India is 12.36 percent. In Vietnam, it is only 10 percent, as such we do not understand your question on VAT tax. It is mandatory by law.

If you were one of the group of four that recently wanted to split a cup of coffee four ways so you could take advantage of free Wi-Fi and comfortable air-conditioned seating you would occupy indefinitely, we suggest you find a larger property where space is not critical.

Your comment referring to us as “Stealer” is rather harsh as we simply seek to protect our limited dining space for real dining patrons, rather than opportunists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

Excellent food and service! Highly recommend Banh mi Chicken- Lemongrass saute with spicy garlic sauce and wild Vietnamese salad. End your meal with Ultra Dark chocolate brownie and a shot of Vietnamese coffee. Will definitely visit again. Thank you Mr. Frank!

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Gerantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear Gerantheman,

Thank you for your review and meal photos. We are pleased to read how much you enjoyed dining with us.

Being recognized by independent food authorities for our authentic Vietnamese home cooking, we appreciate our diners such as yourself, confirming our meal taste and quality.

As a specialty Vietnamese Bistro, our focus is serving authentic Vietnamese meal classics in both the form of a main course or as a Banh Mi. It is for this reason that we offer the widest selection of authentic Banh Mis in all of Vietnam. In addition to the pleasure of serving you, we hope for the opportunity to meet and serve you and your wife Judith in future!

Thank you for your review and hoping you visit us from Singapore again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

The banh mi was very good, but way overpriced compared to similar quality available elsewhere. This eatery is definitely taking advantage of the tourist trade and I doubt you will see many locals eating here.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Hanyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear Hanyut,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate that it is easy for a visitor to confuse Banh Mis. As the word Banh Mi in Vietnamese simply means bread; meaning any bread and any sandwich, it is easy for a visitor to err as to Banh Mi authenticity.

One must not confuse our authentic Banh Mi with that from a street cart. These are two different sandwiches. The street version is correctly called a Banh Mi as it is a sandwich but it is not the same as the authentic and original Banh Mi introduced to 19th Century Saigon by the French. The current street Banh Mi which you have obviously tried has been designed for the street diner with cheaper ingredients to allow for a cheaper price for diners on a tight budget.

We could explain all the differences but if interested, please look over many of the previous reviews we have replied to, explaining why the chili sauce and pickled vegetables are added to the street sandwich.

In addition to ingredient quality, ambiance, food safety and our demanding hygiene practices, our diners are assured that the meals we serve are safe to eat. For this reason, knowing locals, in addition to visitors, elect to dine at My Banh Mi where food safety is assured.

Our dining patronage selects authenticity, quality and hygiene as opposed to taking chances of exposure to potentially contaminated cheap street food poisoning.

HERE ARE THEIR CONCERNS AND WHY….
POTENTIAL FOOD CONTAMINATION

- SALMONELLA – Vietnam rated #2 in the world for food poisoning
- CHEMICAL PESTICIDES - 33% of local vegetables contaminated*
- UNSAFE MEATS- 62% of local meat designated questionable*
- COLIFORM BACTERIA (HUMAN EXCREMENT): In up to 62% of street food**
- TOXIC FUNGI – Discovered in over 40% [SF] causing food poisoning, cancer and fatal organ failure**

These are not our findings but Vietnamese Government sources.

- SOURCE: National Institute For Food Control (NIFC) VIETNAM
- VIETNAM Food Safety Administration and Vietnam Labor Confederation – Over 10,000 street stalls surveyed

These statistics are published by Vietnamese agencies in protection of ALL diners and the warning of caution. Local residents having grown up in country have developed a tolerance to many contaminants but visitors who have spent a significant sum to visit should be aware of the potential risks.

Our service objective is authentic safe meals at a good value for money. For this reason, many locals dine with us for our assured quality, authenticity and safety.

We hope our reply has answered why our quality meals cost a little more and the dining safety regarding our hygiene and the provenance food source requirements we demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Banh Mi Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to My Banh Mi Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing