We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists only!”
Review of My Banh Mi Saigon

My Banh Mi Saigon
Order Online
Ranked #168 of 4,929 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Authentic Taste, Clean & Healthy My Banh Mi (MBM) should not be mistaken with a sidewalk street stall. We are a specialty restaurant recognized for authentic Vietnamese home cooking. A two page limited menu offers authentic Vietnamese Vegan & non- Vegan meals: Classic Noodles, Meats and Vegetarian Items. As MBM culinary bonafides, food professionals rate MBM specialties as #1 in Vietnam for both taste authenticity and quality. Ctrip (China PRC) - Food Maps (Pan Asian TV ) - Moya Moya Japan TV - TripAdvisor Over 1,100 reviews - Rurubu (Japanese Tour Guide) - Vinadaytravel (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Tripzilla (Vietnamese Tour Operator) - Coconuts.Co (Asian Travel Advisory Service) AMBIANCE: Air-conditioned - English speaking table service. AUTHENTIC: Authentic meals imparting delicate flavors combining authentic herbs and spices. SERVING: Clean, healthy, authentic meals offering excellent value for money. Five star quality moderately priced. DINING HOURS: Last orders 8:30.
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

The banh mi was very good, but way overpriced compared to similar quality available elsewhere. This eatery is definitely taking advantage of the tourist trade and I doubt you will see many locals eating here.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Hanyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hanyut,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate that it is easy for a visitor to confuse Banh Mis. As the word Banh Mi in Vietnamese simply means bread; meaning any bread and any sandwich, it is easy for a visitor to err as to Banh Mi authenticity.

One must not confuse our authentic Banh Mi with that from a street cart. These are two different sandwiches. The street version is correctly called a Banh Mi as it is a sandwich but it is not the same as the authentic and original Banh Mi introduced to 19th Century Saigon by the French. The current street Banh Mi which you have obviously tried has been designed for the street diner with cheaper ingredients to allow for a cheaper price for diners on a tight budget.

We could explain all the differences but if interested, please look over many of the previous reviews we have replied to, explaining why the chili sauce and pickled vegetables are added to the street sandwich.

In addition to ingredient quality, ambiance, food safety and our demanding hygiene practices, our diners are assured that the meals we serve are safe to eat. For this reason, knowing locals, in addition to visitors, elect to dine at My Banh Mi where food safety is assured.

Our dining patronage selects authenticity, quality and hygiene as opposed to taking chances of exposure to potentially contaminated cheap street food poisoning.

HERE ARE THEIR CONCERNS AND WHY….
POTENTIAL FOOD CONTAMINATION

- SALMONELLA – Vietnam rated #2 in the world for food poisoning
- CHEMICAL PESTICIDES - 33% of local vegetables contaminated*
- UNSAFE MEATS- 62% of local meat designated questionable*
- COLIFORM BACTERIA (HUMAN EXCREMENT): In up to 62% of street food**
- TOXIC FUNGI – Discovered in over 40% [SF] causing food poisoning, cancer and fatal organ failure**

These are not our findings but Vietnamese Government sources.

- SOURCE: National Institute For Food Control (NIFC) VIETNAM
- VIETNAM Food Safety Administration and Vietnam Labor Confederation – Over 10,000 street stalls surveyed

These statistics are published by Vietnamese agencies in protection of ALL diners and the warning of caution. Local residents having grown up in country have developed a tolerance to many contaminants but visitors who have spent a significant sum to visit should be aware of the potential risks.

Our service objective is authentic safe meals at a good value for money. For this reason, many locals dine with us for our assured quality, authenticity and safety.

We hope our reply has answered why our quality meals cost a little more and the dining safety regarding our hygiene and the provenance food source requirements we demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Very nice staff and good food.
WonderfulI music and charming place. Very clean. Good relación quality/ price.
recommend it.
IF u are not feeling very well, the lemongrass chicken with rice is very good.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank farahd755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear farahd755,

Thank you for your review and the opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our authentic Vietnamese home cooking.

Your mention of the pleasant dining ambiance, meal quality and price is appreciated. Also, our service is based upon the mantra we practise of “Mi Casa Su Casa”.

Thank you again for your review and hoping in future to have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Relaxed little place with a friendly atmosphere. Food was extremely tasty and the beer was cold . Perfect for our first night in Ho Chi Minh .
Also was made to feel really welcome by who I can only guess was the owner ( I think his name was frank ) offered us a salad tester to try and it didn’t disappoint was delicious . Recommend !

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank getoutsideyourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear getoutsideyourself,

Thank you for your review. It was truly our pleasure to have had the opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our authentic Vietnamese home cooking.

This style of take-your-time home cooking is quickly becoming a lost art form. As such, we are proud to continue being recognized as serving the best of the best, simple but authentic Vietnamese meals of taste and quality.

Thank you for your letting us know of your dining pleasure. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

My husband wanted to go somewhere with proper aircon and the choice was McDonalds or here!! I can confirm aircon was lovely, however Bahn Mi was just average. We’ve had better from street stalls at a third of the price. Unless you need to cool down I’d skip it.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 726beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Dear 726beam,

Thank you for your review noting your taste preference. We totally respect your taste preference and understand that taste is dictated by each individual relative to their palates’ preferences.

On the flip side of the coin, please understand that we are a restaurant; not a street stall and our specialty is serving an authentic Banh Mi as introduced to 19th Century Saigon by the French. Our Banh Mi is authentic and totally differs to the sandwich served on the street.

The original and authentic Banh Mi was a quality sandwich and rather expensive. As this introduction of a sandwich to Vietnam became very popular, street vendors, just as franchisers in developed economies make cheap versions of burgers, pizza and tacos, so did the same occur in Vietnam. The street food is constructed with cheaper ingredients to offer the street diner on a tight budget an inexpensive meal (we could write reams on the subject and the differences should you be interested – just stop in for a chat).

I will not go in to all the differences of our quality and authenticity compared to a street sandwich as they basically are two different meal items. Just as an apple and an orange are both fruits, they are not comparable. The same is the case for the authentic Banh Mi we serve and are renowned for versus the cheaper street version.

Regarding street food, as a visitor, you might be wise to note these considerations.

As hygiene is a critical consideration, many of our diners both visitors and local residents are familiar with the following statistics. As such, they do not want to take chances of exposure to potentially contaminated cheap street food poisoning.

HERE ARE THEIR CONCERNS AND WHY
POTENTIAL FOOD CONTAMINATION

- SALMONELLA – Vietnam rated #2 in the world for food poisoning
- CHEMICAL PESTICIDES - 33% of local vegetables contaminated*
- UNSAFE MEATS- 62% of local meat designated questionable*
- COLIFORM BACTERIA (HUMAN EXCREMENT): In up to 62% of street food**
- TOXIC FUNGI – Discovered in over 40% [SF] causing food poisoning, cancer and fatal organ failure**

- SOURCE: National Institute For Food Control (NIFC) VIETNAM
- VIETNAM Food Safety Administration and Vietnam Labor Confederation – Over 10,000 street stalls surveyed

These statistics are published by Vietnamese agencies in protection of all diners and the warning of caution. Local residents having grown up in country have developed a tolerance to many contaminants but visitors who have spent a significant sum to visit should be aware of the potential risks.

We hope our reply has answered why our quality meals cost a little more and the dining safety regarding our hygiene and the provenance food source requirements we demand.

Should you require cooling again, please do not hesitate to return to enjoy our climate controlled air-conditioning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Visited. Very overpriced. The sandwiches were kind of small and not that good. Staff was kind of rude, asked me to shift tables in mid-bite.

Can totally do better at a local Vietnamese deli. Give these guys a pass.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank RangoMa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kheng T, Owner at My Banh Mi Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear RangoMa55,

It should be known that you have mis-characterized events out of context to satisfy your false assertions.

For those who want to know the truth regarding the false review assertions, please read further.

As for you who hide behind the nom de plume of “RangoMa55,” let’s get the facts straight. You are very well remembered by our staff who had the unpleasant task of dealing with the rude and loud vulgarities you expressed for our entire restaurant to hear. Some of our patrons actually thought you were unbalanced or deranged in some way.

The facts are that (mid-day Saturday 27th) you and your female companion had been sitting at a table for two. When one of our booths for three or more became vacant, you had asked that although you were only two, would we allow you to occupy the larger table until such time a larger incoming party required the space. You had expressed understanding that we are a very small restaurant with only three booths capable of seating three or more. Further, you had also acknowledged that should a larger group require the larger space we had now allowed you to relocate to, you would move back to the original table you were previously seated at.

As it was our busy lunch hour, shortly after you had changed tables, a larger group arrived. Upon their arrival, as agreed, we kindly requested your moving back to your original table to allow the larger party to be seated. Upon our request, you refused and loudly replied using a vulgar four letter word beginning with “F” demanding that if we required a large space for the new diners, we should instruct the family in the adjacent booth to leave as their “F---ing” children make too much noise.

At this time, you then turned around to the adjacent booth and insulted the family with the children. Your continued loud repeating of your ultra-profane language succeeded in disrupting our entire group of lunch diners. As we refused to eject the family as you had demanded, you then threatened us with your submitting of a very bad review to TripAdvisor and Google. We note that you have now fulfilled your threat of the bad review since we would not succumb to your demand to request a family with children to leave, simply because their children talked too loud. Your demand was out of line.

You may be interested to know that upon your departure, many diners called us over to ask who the rude “Jerk’ was that had been making all the noise.

Your profile states that you are from Singapore. This is very surprising as we have found the Singaporean people to be very polite and considerate.

The problem with many review system is that the establishment reviewed is identified but the writers of a false review are allowed to remain anonymous. This allows one to falsely accuse others while hiding behind a mask.

Individuals such as yourself should not be allowed to hide behind a pen name as their identity should be disclosed so all can recognize the miserable individual you happen to be.

We have no recourse for your false review but there is an applicable saying of “What goes around comes around.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Banh Mi Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to My Banh Mi Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing