We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social hostel, basic rooms”
Review of Madam Cuc 64

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madam Cuc 64
Ranked #210 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Beirut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Social hostel, basic rooms”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited a lot of hostels before choosing this one in the neighboring streets, we found cheaper offers, but none was as clean as this one.
We took the least expensive room, it was windowless and very average, however our friends had a nicer room with big windows.
Very nice atmosphere in the reception where you can have breakfast and a basic dinner (included with room) while sharing tables with other backpackers, some friendships were created there :)
The staff was very friendly at the reception, they reserved us our flight to Vientiane, because we had problems with our credit card while reserving online (surprisingly, for the same price!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were simple but included everything you need (TV, fridge, ensuite etc). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We decided not to book any tours or buses with them however as we always managed to find what we were looking for much cheaper elsewhere. Rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily. My only problem was that the mattress was made from a strange foam material which didnt give the best nights sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building so the sound of the street couldnt be heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at Hotel 64, twice: 5nights the first time and 3 another nights second time. Both the last January and February.
Spotless rooms, breakfast and dinner were included, free internet, wifi, a really good deal in Saigon for only 15-20$.
Breakfast was baguette, omelet and jam, dinner was soup with noodles, basic, but OK;
coffee and tee were served all the time.
Very friendly and helpful staff, and perfect location in the backpackers area.
You can hardly find a better bargain in Saigon

Room Tip: ask a room with a window, street side rooms can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beata707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January.Room was good and the staff very friendly and helpful,and the location was good for taking a walk around HoChiMinh. Area is full of tourists and restaurants catering to tourists.It was probably easier to get a pizza than a good bowl of Vietnamese soup.Only bad thing was we had a front room on a Saturday night and had loud music from a bar across the street until 5AM. Back rooms are OK, I was told after.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a noise problem, which is worst on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I came across this place a few years ago so I was happy to make a return visit in Jan 2013. All I can say is that the quality, location, value for money and friendliness of all the staff are hard to beat. We had a spacious room with AC & street view at a cost of $20 per night. This was for two persons but the room could easily have accommodated three. The room rate includes breakfast & a light dinner plus hot drinks all day long. Free wifi. If you are on a budget but don't want to rough it you would do well to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights and felt like at home. Very helpful staff and very clean rooms. Anything you need just ask at the reception and they won't hesitate to help. The best location you could have in Ho Chi Minh and prices are reasonable. I would definitely recomend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasalacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Good location, but our room wasn't that great, really thin mattresses that are rock hard and very old.. As was the air-con that was really noisy and blew warm air, so not the best night sleep Iv had by a long shot.. And at $20 you can get a lot better..

We were meant to stay for 3 nights but left after the first and moved to vinh chung, around the corner, this one isn't on trip advisor.. But it's $15 far quieter as its in an ally way, far cleaner and comfortable beds. Would recommend..

Just got the feeling that madam cuc are living on a false reputation for being lonely planets top pick... Not the worst stay in the work but definatly not the best.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#141 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#129 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aston Hotel Saigon
Aston Hotel Saigon
#211 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#173 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#80 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#46 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Cuc 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 64

Property: Madam Cuc 64
Address: 64 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Madam Cuc 64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 64 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing