We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,helpful staff”
Review of Madam Cuc 64

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madam Cuc 64
Ranked #211 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
West Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly,helpful staff”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January.Room was good and the staff very friendly and helpful,and the location was good for taking a walk around HoChiMinh. Area is full of tourists and restaurants catering to tourists.It was probably easier to get a pizza than a good bowl of Vietnamese soup.Only bad thing was we had a front room on a Saturday night and had loud music from a bar across the street until 5AM. Back rooms are OK, I was told after.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a noise problem, which is worst on Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
51
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I came across this place a few years ago so I was happy to make a return visit in Jan 2013. All I can say is that the quality, location, value for money and friendliness of all the staff are hard to beat. We had a spacious room with AC & street view at a cost of $20 per night. This was for two persons but the room could easily have accommodated three. The room rate includes breakfast & a light dinner plus hot drinks all day long. Free wifi. If you are on a budget but don't want to rough it you would do well to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights and felt like at home. Very helpful staff and very clean rooms. Anything you need just ask at the reception and they won't hesitate to help. The best location you could have in Ho Chi Minh and prices are reasonable. I would definitely recomend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasalacas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Good location, but our room wasn't that great, really thin mattresses that are rock hard and very old.. As was the air-con that was really noisy and blew warm air, so not the best night sleep Iv had by a long shot.. And at $20 you can get a lot better..

We were meant to stay for 3 nights but left after the first and moved to vinh chung, around the corner, this one isn't on trip advisor.. But it's $15 far quieter as its in an ally way, far cleaner and comfortable beds. Would recommend..

Just got the feeling that madam cuc are living on a false reputation for being lonely planets top pick... Not the worst stay in the work but definatly not the best.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesandchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms here were clean and spacious with hot showers and all the amenities you need. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and most of them could speak relatively good English.

Rooms go for $20 to $25 which isn't bad. You could get cheaper rooms elsewhere but it's nice that they provide breakfast and dinners, as well as unlimited coffee and tea. Breakfast consists of bahn mi and scrambled eggs while dinner was what seemed like instant noodles and vegetarian spring rolls.

The location is right in the center of the backpackers district and surrounded by bars and restaurants, so it's good if partying and being able to crawl home is what you're after, but it's quite noisy at night.

I preferred staying at Madam Cuc 127 which is just a street away. It's close enough to the action but farther away from the noise.

Room Tip: get a room that's not on the street side as it can get pretty noisy until quite late
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunterthomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean, basic rooms, really nice staff. The girl who worked the front desk, though she seemed a little cold at first, we realized she's got a great sense of humor and a great attitude once you start getting to know her. She was really helpful in booking buses etc.

You get a small breakfast and dinner included, which never really sustained us but the breakfast was a great get-you-out-the-door kind of thing and the dinner we used as an afternoon or late night snack. We took advantage of this most days and really liked having it since we were on a pretty tight budget.

As others have said, if you want to be in the backpacker area this hotel is perfect. If that's not your scene, you may not enjoy this as much since it is in the busy thick of it.

Room Tip: Get a room lower down if you can because the stairs to the top can be pretty exhausting after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Madame Cuc has three Hotels and we had previously stayed at Hotel 127, with absolutely excellent, friendly service and a small market place down the road.

However we found that staying at Hotel 64 the music in the neighboring nightclub pounded through the walls. Although I would not usually by bothered by noise, this went till about 4 in the morning and I could listen to the words of the pop songs. We had booked for four nights but left the following morning because we had had such a bad nights sleep.

Again I would like to stress that I recommend checking out Madam Cucs 127 Guesthouse, as they have the friendly service without the noise. They also have a tiny pet chihauha there which walks around the foyer. It's so tiny it can't climb up the stairs. I suppose if you don't like animals that might be a problem but we love them so it wasn't a bother :).

Breakfast is basic (bread rolls, butter jam and some watermelon) + tea. So I'd recommend going out and getting some fresh and zingy street food for $1 instead :).
I can't remember exactly what was on offer for dinner but we came in late (10pm) one night and they happily fried us up some little spring rolls which were filled with rice or something. Plus there was also instant noodles on offer with broth. Simple but filling if that's all you need.

With the breakfast/dinner... we actually found that most cheap hotels provided very simple meals for foriegners... Don't bother with them if you're on a culinary adventure ;)

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms and on the higher up levels... We stayed at level 3 but could still hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Saigon Odyssey 1 Hotel
#220 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#131 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#174 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aston Hotel Saigon
Aston Hotel Saigon
#234 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#139 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#80 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madam Cuc 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 64

Property: Madam Cuc 64
Address: 64 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 64 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing