We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Location good, very clean, friendly staff"”
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #99 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is also very quiet at night despite the busy surroundings. Simply good value for money.
Lot's of good street food everywhere. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included)
is a little simple but it works.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hans Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 820 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was the best place I have stayed in Asia. For the price , it is extremely great value for money and I wouldn't stay anywhere else given the choice. We were blown away with how clean and comfortable the room was, the staff were excellent and communicated well in English, they organized a taxi to the airport at the end which was pre-paid and seamless. The breakfast was delicious and it is central to everything and really made our stay a very positive one. Recommend it 100%, go for it.

Room Tip: You're in the middle of HCMC so it is going to be a little noisy but the room and bed was so com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riggadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Three different Blue Rivers all near each other. We entered the wrong one but were taken across the alley to ours. The room was clean. The beds were a bit hard, but you get used to that travelling in SE Asia. The bathroom has opaque sliding glass doors, which could be a bit embarrassing depending on the travel partner. For this trip, it was fine. A good selection of breakfast foods. The location is parallel to the main backpacker strip, so very close to many bars and the market. Usually, I would give this hotel an average rating, but because the staff were very friendly and accommodating it deserves a higher rating. Great budget choice for those not wanting a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kitovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The best thing of Blue River is it's situation. Just near Bui Vien street (a street of tourists and backcampers with lots of restaurants and shops). And about 10-15 mins from most of showplaces.
Service is also great.

Minus: there's no elevator so be ready to take your bags up (anyway the staff is always there to help you). The conditioner is rather noisy but tolerably (nothing extremely)
About 20-30 min to airport

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Good value, clean and comfortable rooms. Only 5 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes to good restaurants etc. Only complaint is that 2 items of my clothing went missing when they did our laundry and due to the language barrier I'm still unsure what happened to them!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascottnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Me and a friend stayed here for 5 nights and were extremely happy with our choice, the surrounding area isn't particularly nice or safe but do not be put off! The staff are the friendliest hotel staff I have ever encountered. When we chose Ho Chi Minh we knew that petty crime and theft was an issue in the area and the staff made sure that we were well aware of this and how to minimise our chances of being targeted. Unfortunately on the final night of our stay my bag was stolen from a passing bike, it contained a phone which needed to be claimed through my insurance so I needed to acquire a police report... This is much harder than it sounds in Vietnam as most police officers do not speak english or take well to westerners. A member of staff from the hotel took me to the police station and sorted the whole report out for me! As we were leaving that day they even offered to send the police report up to our next destination in Vietnam so we would not have to change our flights to wait for the report to be finished. I was completely blown away by this service, as without it I doubt I would have even acquired a report and therefore no new phone! I am so grateful for the service I received as many other hotels just wouldn't really care, I would hugely recommend this hotel to anyone, because if anything happens (like my situation) which is very very common to travellers in Ho Chi Minh, the service is invaluable when it comes to your safety and belongings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

When we turned up we were told we were being placed in one of their newer hotels just up the road which was fine. The room was simple and not quite as attractive as the photos of the main hotel. However it was a good size and really clean with a modern bathroom.
Breakfast wasn't great but not the worst we had in Asia!
The location is perfect for bars, restaurants and tour bookings.
Despite the busy area our hotel room was really quiet! Great value for about £15 for a double room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,222 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#51 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,148 reviews
1 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#111 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
88 reviews
0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $18 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing