We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried to cheat us”
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #109 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tried to cheat us”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The room was fine and the staff were nice...until it came time to pay. When we arrived, the price was quoted in dollars. When we tried to pay with dong the woman at the front desk tried to charge us a 18,600 dong to dollar exchange rate when it should have been 16,600 dong per dollar. Don´t stay here. (We also stayed 1 night next door at the Bich Duyen Hotel. The room and breakfast were the same and the front desk didn´t try to rip us off)

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Front desk tried to cheat us
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    273
    91
    31
    33
See reviews for
89
304
120
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our trip to Vietnam for Honeymoon in June. We couldn't have been more pleased. It's not luxury, but it's clean and safe and comfortable. The rooms were spotless. I noticed some other reviews say there wasn't a "normal" shower, but as this was Vietnam, or anywhere in Southeast Asia for that matter, that was to be expected. However, there was great water pressure, the water was hot, the beds were comfortable, and the air conditioning worked. The hotel is also very convienently located by everything you need.

Breakfast was great, a fried egg, ham, and bread as well as fresh fruit, juice and tea.

However, the standout part of this hotel was the hospitality. We were completely amazed at how above and beyond the two young women who were in charge of the hotel went for us. We went down one morning to ask about where to buy bus tickets or where to find the bus station. They told us not to worry, where did we want to go and when? They called to arrange everything and even went down to the station to pick up everything for us! They called to help us out with a messed up plane ticket. But what really took me was when I came down to ask if I could bring a bit of bread upstairs for my husband who was feeling ill. They wouldn't have any of that. Instead, she told me to go back up and proceeded to bring us a full tray of breakfast in bed complete with herbal teas to soothe my husband's aching belly. No charge. They genuinely wanted him to feel better.

This hotel is fantastic. If we're ever back in Saigon we will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My sister and I have just returned from HCM City and from a 4 day stay at the Blue River. The people at Blue River have helped to make it a great experience. Special mention must go to Thuy who has gone out of her way to help and guide us in our stay in HCM. Wonderful recommendations for food, shopping, massage etc. Made arrangements for transport to and from airport, and arranged for our joining of tours. A better concierge than any at five star hotels cos she remembers everything.

We had arrived sick on the first day (lots of throwing up) and she helped to arrange for delivery of porridge, and helped us become well. We cannot say enough about her wonderful service and friendly nature. It was a home away from home.

  • Liked — Great Servcie and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotsasangria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

Nice place, smack in the middle of the backpacker street. Great value for money. The girls that own & run the place were most helpful in sorting out tickets & accommodation in Nha Trang as well. Rooms were comfortable, clean and the complimentary breakfast was a good spread as well.

Numerous bars & restaurants are there nearby. Will certainly stay here again when traveling thru the region.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank quarryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

First visit to Ho Chi Min and i was offered the option of $200 a night approx 1-2 miles away of a stay at a boutique hotel for $20/pn.

Staying with business colleages i followed their advice and all i can say is the hotel is great. The atmosphere is very frinedly, these people cannot do enough for you to make you feel at home.

The rooms are neat, comfortable with Satellite TV, Fridge and A/C. The bathrooms are well fitted out.

Don't spend stupid money. Stay at the Blue River and i promise you won't be disappointed.

All the best

Stuart "The New One" (aka "The Bald One"

  • Liked — The people and the facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing A++++++
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stuboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Lovely quiet and clean little hotel. Best feature was friendly family atmosphere created by staff.
Facilities may not suite some people. Bathroom has no separate shower. Shower is in same space as toilet and sink and so everything gets wet. May not suite families or older people. We didn't have any hot water when we were there and i assumed that was how things were but they were surprised when i told them when we were leaving so it may have been a maintenance issue.
We also stayed at a 5 star hotel in HCMC and despite the problems I enjoyed the Blue River more.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Poor bathroom facilities
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hocka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The Blue River hotel was a good value hotel in a very convenient location. The hotel was very clean (evident by the ever present and constant staff cleaning up and down the stairs). The staff were very friendly and the receptionist provided a lot of useful advice to us. There was also fast and free internet. The bathroom was very small but functional enough for us. I think it would be hard to find a better hotel for the money ($25 per room per night). Don't expect five stars, but you aren't paying for it either.

  • Liked — Excellent service
  • Disliked — It was basic, but at those rates you can
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzaline83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#33 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#95 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#79 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#161 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#26 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#72 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Property: Blue River Hotel
Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing