We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet en clean”
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #106 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet en clean”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Very nice little hotel in a quiet side street.
The staff was SO nice. They were already very helpful in the email correspondence before our trip, but that continued in the hotel.

The room was also nice
Basic, but nice. One thing was that the bathmat had stains. I dont know if that was because it wasn't washed, or because they don't was out anymore but I would just replace them with clean looking ones. Makes the feeling of cleanliness much better

Location is good: you can walk anywhere but because the hotel is in a side street, it is quiet at night. We did not think the street was scary at all, like some travellers mentioned
There are lots of plants in the street and also other hotels. We did not feel unsafe or anything like that

If we ever come back to Saigon, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank americagirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    274
    95
    32
    33
See reviews for
90
309
123
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Came across this hotel while walking around the many alleyways in the backpacker's district.. Our twin room was very clean and comfortable during our 1 night stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor, facing the alleyway but it was very quiet, especially at night. Bathroom was modern and clean. Wifi (although I couldn't get connected) and breakfast are included. You can expect fried eggs and baguettes. Convenient location close to many tour office, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachE_keen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

First off, sorry it took me 11 months to put up a review. Second, I guess this shows how great my experience was at the Blue River...I still remember it after 11 months. :)
WOW! Words really can't express how well I was taken care of. I met a traveler and Laos and told him that I was staying at the Blue River. Huynh coordinated everything! My friend and I came down from Nha Trang to the chaotic city of Saigon. We were greeted with Huynh. She grad both are packs and helped us navigate through like 20 lanes of traffic. I don't think I'll ever get use to that sort of traffic but it was such a great greeting. Through all the chaos, someone line Huynh comes and helps us. If that was a sign of how my experience was, then you can imagine how the rest of the experience was. The team there all speak english and watches out for you. I felt like family. I've read reviews of how you feel like family here. I didn't really understand til I went. I've stayed at fancy shamcy places and I've slummed it and this place was just fabulous.
Location is central. Cost is reasonable. Rooms are clean. AC available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrscuriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Thank You For Excellent Service. Very good value.


Wolf from Sydney

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

What made me decide to choose this was because of the good reviews of the staff. Saigon is laden with these small inns all over the city and the location works for people who don't want to sleep in the middle of the action. Most other hotels are beside the busy narrow streets so you'll hardly get some silence when the day starts. I think Blue River has the same rates like all else. It is cheap and you get what you pay for so don't expect a 4 star hotel amenities. The building itself is spotless clean, it looks like it has undergone a recent renovation so i liked how they fit the while structure in the small lot. The room is clean and the bathroom works well. I traveled with 3 other companions and we actually fit in the triple room which has 1 single and a double bed. What i liked about it is the location which is inside a small alley of similar hotels in Phan Ngu Lao district 1, in the middle of the tourist belt. Though it can get maybe dark at night but it doesn't matter and Saigon is a pretty safe city and everyone i think is friendly to tourists, the only road block at night you may encounter may be the cute call girls trying to hook up along main street. The staff is an absolutely friendly one and spoke very good English. I arrived late at night and should have taken the $15 hotel pick up from the airport which i thought was expensive because hotel pick ups are suppose to be expensive but I was wrong,I kinda spent $30 for for the cab at the airport, so it;s better to arrange one with them.

The hotel also can book tours and activities that you can do around the city for a surprisingly even cheaper price than others. Don't count on the breakfast because the serve only a french baguette, fried egg and coffee there so if you're a big guy, go try buffet breakfast along Phan Ngu Lao for about $20, i saw a couple of hotels out there with that. You can email them and book the rooms here, I spoke with Thuy but was serviced most of the time by nice you guy and a friendly girl attending the lobby. My only surprise was I was given a room without a view when I specifically asked for one with a window or balcony on my reservation thru email. Didn't get the chance to argue with this because my companion arrived ahead and was the one who checked in. It's better to make sure to get a room closer to ground because the hotel doesn't have a lift. Don't worry about the steps coming about on the stairs, people here remove their shoes upon stepping on the hotel so ya got no noise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intrepid_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a great place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City! A great location with lots of character and within easy walking distance to Ben Thahn Market and other sights. Thuy is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. On our day of arrival she had arranged (previously via email) a driver and car to take us to see the Cu Chi tunnels. We booked 2 rooms for our family of five and they were clean and simple but with everything you could need. A simple breakfast is also provided. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have stayed at the Blue River Hotel twice now this year.
The Hotel is very clean and ideally situated to take advantage of all the highlights of Saigon. It is in an alley way that reduces the traffic noise and amount of street sellers. The reception staff are very helpful and would always advise the best way to get around the city. Take their advice for eateries and tours. We also arranged through the Hotel for pick up and drop off. Thuy and Hai arranged a private tour (including Driver) to the Dai Nam Vietnamese Theme Park, not many people know about it. If you are a first time traveller, you couldn't go wrong with the Blue River, very helpful staff and the "special first timers breakfast" Pho (like a soup) is delicious. It is a boutique smaller hotel with the personal touch. We are already booking our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OzzieJoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#35 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#91 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Property: Blue River Hotel
Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing