We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Getting a little shabby but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lac Vien Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lac Vien Hotel
Ranked #247 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Getting a little shabby but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lac Vien Hotel about 5 times now, everytime we are in Saigon. The hotel is very centrally located in District 1, right in ther middle of the action.

The staff at Lac Vien are exceptional and go out of their way to be of assistance and are always friendly, even to the security guys outside.. During our last stay on 10 and 11 January 2013 we stayed in one of the VIP rooms for $48USD per night (including a good breakfast). The VIP rooms are spacious and roomy with great air con and comfortable beds.

The hotel restaurant is good with friendly and helpful staff

I have noticed over the years that the hotel is starting to look a bit shabby with plaster needing replacing in some rooms and a good paihnt job needed, however, this does not detract from the fact that it is a good hotel in a great location and is great value for money.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are still the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anausman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
43
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Beware, non-smokers. If you can't tolerate the smell of cigarette smoke then avoid the Lac Vien Hotel.

We had booked a couple of nights here for a non-smoking room but our request went unmet. "Fully booked", we were told.

The entire establishment reeks of smoke. It doesn't help that ash trays in the lobby and hallways encourage smokers to stink up the place.

The staff are pleasant and breakfast is sufficient but best avoided if you don't like cigarette smoke.

Wi-fi connection is also terrible

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megonads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

portlnd
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I arrived dead tired after a 20 hour flight past midnight and was so glad to see the driver from the hotel waiting for me. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great location in the old part of town, on a little side street that was still quite lively at this hour. The room was very nice. And the staff was just great. I needed some help with my next booking in Hoi An and the owner (?) took care of everything. Even ordered a pick-up car for me. I will definitely come back after my side trips.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a window if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkk4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the VIP room at.US$52 per night.
The suite was large with a queen size bed and a made up extra bed, a living area, nice and clean large bathroom with bathtub.
Toothbrush sets,.bath foam, shampoo, hand soap,.comb, face towels and bath towels were provided. Hair dryer is also available in the bathroom.
A small funtional fridge is sticked with reasonable priced drinks and beers. Room was incredibly clean. Nice multiple windows, small step out balcony.
Breakfast was alright with choices of chicken/pork porridge, american breakfast set, omelette and others including a drink of your choice, though limited to only one breakfast set per person.
Prices quoted were honest and clear including the return airport transfer at US$15 private car.
Staff was polite, friendly and professional.
Their service was quick and efficient and even allowed us to check in early at 11am. Check in and check out was totally hassle free.
They even offerred to show us the rooms before we decide to check in.
Thank you Lac Vien Hotel!
U perk up our short holifay trip in Vietnam :) keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enaj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On first trip tp Ho Chi Minhwe stayed in the Aquari at 84$ per night. which was ok, but on our way back we stayed at Lac Vien for 33$ ( for 2 people incl breakfast), and although not the same class of hotel in fact it was much better value.

Hotel was clean and service was good, rooms were a good size.

Location is mack in the centre of District 1/Baclpacker District, which for most people is the only lively part of Ho Chi Minh for foreigners.

Its in a side street so not so easy to find, but i called it up on Google Maps and walked straight to it.

All the coaches that go to different parts of Vietnam leave from these streets. all the travel agents that do your booking arrangement are also here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent, quite in the center of the main attractions. Unfortunately we got a room without windows and it smelled muggy. They offered a change with a rise of the price.
From outside the hotel looks nice, but the rooms need to be modernized a little bit and the bathroom needs a revision.
Next time for sure I'll choose another hotel. Sorry.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been going to Lac Vien Hotel now for over 5 years and can't recommend this place highly enough. Mr Quan and his staff run a superb little boutique hotel. The rooms are spotless and the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a great breakfast included in the price and the hotel arranges a pick up from the airport for a small cost. It is great for backpackers, families and extremely good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
An An 2 Hotel
An An 2 Hotel
#67 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#51 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#34 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#120 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#22 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#28 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Vien Hotel

Property: Lac Vien Hotel
Address: 28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Class:2 star — Lac Vien Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lac Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lac Vien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing