We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a little shabby but good value”
Review of Lac Vien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lac Vien Hotel
Ranked #269 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lac Vien Hotel about 5 times now, everytime we are in Saigon. The hotel is very centrally located in District 1, right in ther middle of the action.

The staff at Lac Vien are exceptional and go out of their way to be of assistance and are always friendly, even to the security guys outside.. During our last stay on 10 and 11 January 2013 we stayed in one of the VIP rooms for $48USD per night (including a good breakfast). The VIP rooms are spacious and roomy with great air con and comfortable beds.

The hotel restaurant is good with friendly and helpful staff

I have noticed over the years that the hotel is starting to look a bit shabby with plaster needing replacing in some rooms and a good paihnt job needed, however, this does not detract from the fact that it is a good hotel in a great location and is great value for money.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are still the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anausman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Beware, non-smokers. If you can't tolerate the smell of cigarette smoke then avoid the Lac Vien Hotel.

We had booked a couple of nights here for a non-smoking room but our request went unmet. "Fully booked", we were told.

The entire establishment reeks of smoke. It doesn't help that ash trays in the lobby and hallways encourage smokers to stink up the place.

The staff are pleasant and breakfast is sufficient but best avoided if you don't like cigarette smoke.

Wi-fi connection is also terrible

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megonads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I arrived dead tired after a 20 hour flight past midnight and was so glad to see the driver from the hotel waiting for me. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great location in the old part of town, on a little side street that was still quite lively at this hour. The room was very nice. And the staff was just great. I needed some help with my next booking in Hoi An and the owner (?) took care of everything. Even ordered a pick-up car for me. I will definitely come back after my side trips.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a window if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkk4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the VIP room at.US$52 per night.
The suite was large with a queen size bed and a made up extra bed, a living area, nice and clean large bathroom with bathtub.
Toothbrush sets,.bath foam, shampoo, hand soap,.comb, face towels and bath towels were provided. Hair dryer is also available in the bathroom.
A small funtional fridge is sticked with reasonable priced drinks and beers. Room was incredibly clean. Nice multiple windows, small step out balcony.
Breakfast was alright with choices of chicken/pork porridge, american breakfast set, omelette and others including a drink of your choice, though limited to only one breakfast set per person.
Prices quoted were honest and clear including the return airport transfer at US$15 private car.
Staff was polite, friendly and professional.
Their service was quick and efficient and even allowed us to check in early at 11am. Check in and check out was totally hassle free.
They even offerred to show us the rooms before we decide to check in.
Thank you Lac Vien Hotel!
U perk up our short holifay trip in Vietnam :) keep it up!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enaj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

On first trip tp Ho Chi Minhwe stayed in the Aquari at 84$ per night. which was ok, but on our way back we stayed at Lac Vien for 33$ ( for 2 people incl breakfast), and although not the same class of hotel in fact it was much better value.

Hotel was clean and service was good, rooms were a good size.

Location is mack in the centre of District 1/Baclpacker District, which for most people is the only lively part of Ho Chi Minh for foreigners.

Its in a side street so not so easy to find, but i called it up on Google Maps and walked straight to it.

All the coaches that go to different parts of Vietnam leave from these streets. all the travel agents that do your booking arrangement are also here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent, quite in the center of the main attractions. Unfortunately we got a room without windows and it smelled muggy. They offered a change with a rise of the price.
From outside the hotel looks nice, but the rooms need to be modernized a little bit and the bathroom needs a revision.
Next time for sure I'll choose another hotel. Sorry.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been going to Lac Vien Hotel now for over 5 years and can't recommend this place highly enough. Mr Quan and his staff run a superb little boutique hotel. The rooms are spotless and the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a great breakfast included in the price and the hotel arranges a pick up from the airport for a small cost. It is great for backpackers, families and extremely good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cybasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Kim Hotel
Kim Hotel
#125 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#179 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
#229 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#173 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#78 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Vien Hotel

Address: 28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $26 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lac Vien Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lac Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lac Vien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing