We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lac Viên Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lac Vien Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lac Vien Hotel
Ranked #243 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
portlnd
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lac Viên Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I arrived dead tired after a 20 hour flight past midnight and was so glad to see the driver from the hotel waiting for me. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great location in the old part of town, on a little side street that was still quite lively at this hour. The room was very nice. And the staff was just great. I needed some help with my next booking in Hoi An and the owner (?) took care of everything. Even ordered a pick-up car for me. I will definitely come back after my side trips.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a window if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkk4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
43
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the VIP room at.US$52 per night.
The suite was large with a queen size bed and a made up extra bed, a living area, nice and clean large bathroom with bathtub.
Toothbrush sets,.bath foam, shampoo, hand soap,.comb, face towels and bath towels were provided. Hair dryer is also available in the bathroom.
A small funtional fridge is sticked with reasonable priced drinks and beers. Room was incredibly clean. Nice multiple windows, small step out balcony.
Breakfast was alright with choices of chicken/pork porridge, american breakfast set, omelette and others including a drink of your choice, though limited to only one breakfast set per person.
Prices quoted were honest and clear including the return airport transfer at US$15 private car.
Staff was polite, friendly and professional.
Their service was quick and efficient and even allowed us to check in early at 11am. Check in and check out was totally hassle free.
They even offerred to show us the rooms before we decide to check in.
Thank you Lac Vien Hotel!
U perk up our short holifay trip in Vietnam :) keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enaj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On first trip tp Ho Chi Minhwe stayed in the Aquari at 84$ per night. which was ok, but on our way back we stayed at Lac Vien for 33$ ( for 2 people incl breakfast), and although not the same class of hotel in fact it was much better value.

Hotel was clean and service was good, rooms were a good size.

Location is mack in the centre of District 1/Baclpacker District, which for most people is the only lively part of Ho Chi Minh for foreigners.

Its in a side street so not so easy to find, but i called it up on Google Maps and walked straight to it.

All the coaches that go to different parts of Vietnam leave from these streets. all the travel agents that do your booking arrangement are also here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent, quite in the center of the main attractions. Unfortunately we got a room without windows and it smelled muggy. They offered a change with a rise of the price.
From outside the hotel looks nice, but the rooms need to be modernized a little bit and the bathroom needs a revision.
Next time for sure I'll choose another hotel. Sorry.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been going to Lac Vien Hotel now for over 5 years and can't recommend this place highly enough. Mr Quan and his staff run a superb little boutique hotel. The rooms are spotless and the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a great breakfast included in the price and the hotel arranges a pick up from the airport for a small cost. It is great for backpackers, families and extremely good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybasilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Lac Vein Hotel both times we have been to Vietnam & found it to be a warm & very friendly Hotel ,lovely & clean & the staff are wonderful & only to happy to help you with anything that you may need .We highly recomend this hotel to anyone, it is in a great Location ,close in walking distance to the markets & plenty of bars & resturants located in the same street . We Use this Hotel for a base & if we visit other places we can also leave some of our luggage until we return .So we will continue to use this hotel each time we visit Vietnam I hope you all will enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a shower rather than one with a bath for easier access .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in hcmc quite a few times over the last 7 years, this was my first stay at the Lac Vien and although only for 1 night I wished I had found it years ago. I got a deal on a VIP room for 45usd and it's as good as places I have paid over a 100 for. The room is huge with a decent size balcony a separate lounge and a well equipped bathroom. Some simple things like a kettle and coffee/tea facilities and complimentary water are included as well. Good wifi and very clean room in a great location make this an excellent choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seasialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Phung Long Hotel
#392 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
7.8 mi away
An An 2 Hotel
An An 2 Hotel
#70 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel MaiVy
Hotel MaiVy
#281 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#71 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#301 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
8.0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#25 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Vien Hotel

Property: Lac Vien Hotel
Address: 28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Class:2 star — Lac Vien Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Lac Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lac Vien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing