We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff, good location near Ben Tanh market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoang Gia Huy Hotel
Ranked #307 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
kota kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“helpful staff, good location near Ben Tanh market”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

clean, simple and basic
helpful staff, helped us whenever we need anything
Ben Tanh Market just a step away
24 hours shop ( to buy mineral water, biscuits etc ) just in front the hotel

Room Tip: higher floor for wifi coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Location near Ben Thanh markets is ideal. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are average but clean enough. Breakfast is nothing special but it is OK and there are plenty of places nearby to eat! Overall, an average cheap hotel in a great location; if you only really want a half-decent place to crash at night after a day exploring the nearby sights, i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator so you can wait a while; if walking up stairs is an issue, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virgo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is about what can expect from a 2-3 star place. My room on the 12th (top) floor was very clean and recently renovated so the bathroom had a nice shower with massage shower head but the water pressure was a little low. Still no complaints there. My wifi always worked, fast in the early am but slower at night when I think it was more used. I think this will vary according to floor. I noticed the 12th floor had a wifi transmitter or whatever it's called on the hallway wall but not all floors did. The staff was very friendly and stored my bags the last day even though I wasn't staying there that night but catching the night train. The location is also very strategic as others have pointed out. Close to the market and walking distance of the main sites. Lots of restaurants in the area. My main complaint was the breakfast area. The b-fast itself was nothing to write home about and I'd have preferred a tastier meal at one of the places on the streets but the b-fast came with the room so I thought I'd save and eat at the hotel. Greasy spring rolls, over fried chicken, vienna sausage, fruit, rice porridge, hard boiled eggs. There was an egg station but it was hit or miss if anyone was working it. The dining area is really small and for the three days I was there I never found a place to sit when I came down at 730 so I'd have to wait around til something opened. All in all I was glad I stayed here but on my way back through HCMC I splurged and got a night at the Majestic for the historical experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Straitgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is mine and is not shared across the dozen in our group.
This was the first hotel of our trip and I expected far worse having traveled extensively through southern Asia.
Staff seemed eager & hotel clean and tidy.
Some light fitting seemed to be optional
Breakfast area was crowded with relatively small attendance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My family and I just returned from our holiday in Ho chi Minh @ Saigon. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nites. The hotel location is very strategic as it is very close (2 min walk) to Bien Thanh market during day time. At night you can enjoy the night market. as always in vietnam do bargain for anything u intend to purchase. For muslims, a halal restaurant (VN Halal rest) is about 3 min walk.

The room isfairly iclean and very basic however not well lighted. The maintenance eg toilet ceiling - leaked. There's only one lift to cater all 11 floors for guests.

Overall the hotel deserves a 3 star due to it's excellent location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ija93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Tonight, I stayed at this hotel. The room was normal, the internet was very slowly but the staff were friendly. I think it's correct with " you get what you pay"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adammanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on February 25-26 which was booked by our tour company. The first room (603) we got was dirty anad had a lot of black mold in the shower. There was also a large gap under the dirty shower which we though was suspicious. Later the next day we saw a cockroach emerge from under the shower. What I did next was obviously a mistake - I sprayed under the shower with insect killer and the roaches did not like that, they came out in waves. Probably 10-12 - yuk!

We told the front desk and they changes rooms without any questions. The second room (904) was a lot cleaner and bigger and even had a window.

I'd be cautious of this hotel. Good location being near the market but that is it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdufeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Gia Huy Hotel
Gia Huy Hotel
#291 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Central Hotel
Queen Central Hotel
#356 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Thu Hotel
Thanh Thu Hotel
#206 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blessing 1 Hotel Saigon
Blessing 1 Hotel Saigon
#364 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
A & Em III Hotel
A & Em III Hotel
#381 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngan Ha Hotel
Ngan Ha Hotel
#253 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Gia Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Gia Huy Hotel

Property: Hoang Gia Huy Hotel
Address: 50 48, Nguyen An Ninh Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Gia Huy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoang Gia Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing