We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour. So Much Fun!”

Saigon Local Motion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join us to experience Saigon in the most exciting way! Come flow with the "organized chaos" safely on the back of our bikes. Enjoy the delicious food along the way and entertaining stories told by our English speaking guides, as well as unique interactions with locals you will meet along the way
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour. So Much Fun!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our trip consisted of four adults. Mai and her friends were professional, fun, safe and provided a fantastic service. The food spots were 'off the beaten track' and local - which is exactly what we wanted. Some of us were not 'seafood lovers' and we wanted local 'yum' not local 'try it once: disgusting' and Mai catered to our specific requests. It was a really great tour - one of the highlights of our time in HCMC. Thanks so much Mai (sorry this review is so belated!)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BAZZA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best way to eat in Ho Chi Minh City”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a fabulous way to see (& taste!) the best of Saigon. Mai and her friends do a great job! We recommend a tour to anyone visiting or living here.

Our group consisted of 8 people (four couples, including two vegetarians). Mai communicated with us about our preferences before the tour, and mapped out a plan that made both the meat-eaters and the vegetarians full and happy. Many of us were iffy about riding on motorbikes, (neither my wife nor I had ever ridden on one before), the tour guides/drivers made us feel confident and safe - even in Ho Chi Minh City's frenetic traffic. The guides spoke very good English, and were informative and funny.

Although we live in Ho Chi Minh City, Mai was able to show us corners of the city we never would have discovered otherwise. I felt secure in her food choices, even when we were sitting on a square of linoleum in a park eating papaya salad from a food cart (my personal favorite of the night, although there was plenty of tough competition).

You can read a more detailed write up of our adventures, complete with plenty of pictures, on our blog:
http://heretodaysaigontomorrow.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/for-durians-lovers/

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Yum!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I have been on three tours with Mai and her friends and have thoroughly enjoyed each one. Mai considers what foods you eat, how experimental you wish to be, and the experience you are looking for (sight-seeing vs. food-focused). Her colleagues are heaps of fun themselves and impart local knowledge in a relaxed manner. Each trip has been different, and we have been able to see parts of the city we have not before, and experience culinary gems along the way. Not to mention the music at the coffee shop during the last tour! Wow. Thank you, Mai! We look forward to touring with you again soon!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh & Fun”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Thanks Mai & team....Doing a motorbike food tour with guests coming to The Ho is always a must. Have been on a number of these....and Saigon Local Motion is a great choice. Small groups, relaxed atmosphere and thoughtful eating choices. Finishing at a local coffee house, with local performers, a great way to finish the evening. Mai & her team give you a truly local experience and an evening of very interesting dialogue with Vietnam's generation X.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen7963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Saigon Street Food Tour by motorbike”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Mai and her colleagues picked us up from our apartment , and I was a little unsure how I would feel ( I am a grandmother ) being transported through the traffic chaos of HCMC at night on the back of a bike. I am pleased to report that I LOVED every minute and felt totally safe . The experience was one of the best in many years of exploring many countries. We had 5 stops, at local food stalls , street cafés and the last was a quirky coffee house tucked away down a lane where we enjoyed great Vietnamese coffee and live ,solo singers .Thank you Mai and your team for a very individual and special night out

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lyn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Local Motion also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Local Motion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing