We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great japanese curry”
Review of Curry Shika

Curry Shika
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

I love it as it is not spicy as others cury dishes, neither indian or japanese ones. The sauce is rich and flavourful enough. Generally, japanese curry tastes lighter than indian curry which makes it easier for vietnamese to give it a try.
The price is a bit high with tuna egg curry and addition cheese at VND 149k~6.5usd but it worth visiting once or twice a month. You also have an option to have extra rice and sauce at 20k. For general people 1 dish is quite enough to fill up the stomach.
You can try dessert with a range of choice from nama chocolate (fresh chocolate) to mochi jelly and others.
Matcha set is also my favorite.

Sorry for not having pictures of the dishes, instead i have taken some of their decoration.

Oh, bear in mind that they are close on Tuesday and curry serve only from 11:00 to 15:00 and 18:00 to 21:00. Anywhere in between is the time for Mr Shika boxing class but you can come for coffee/tea/sweets.

Parking is only for 1-2 bikes so you may have to park it somewhere else, check out the instruction pin at their door or ask the lovely staffs.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Le Thu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

One of my favorite Japanese restaurant. I really really love the 水信玄餅 (water mochi)
The sweet flavor is mild and gentle. It's hard to describe but I love it.
The curry is good too.
There are some Japanese desserts to try.
The space is a bit small but cozy.
The staff is super friendly and careful but do not accept the tips due to Japanese culture.
One inconvenient point is that the space for parking is super small and the street leading to the restaurant is narrow too.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Doan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

I discover this place since 2015 and became so addicted to the curry here, I tried a lot of other Japanese curry restaurant of course, but so far, none of it is quiet like the taste here. Even the location is not so convenient but it worth a try! MUST CHECK!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Thanhnha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

This is the first time I came to shika curry.it can be quite difficult to locate,since its in an alley.inside the restaurant is a different atmosphere,feels like in a cafe in japan.i order the hamburg and cheese curry,i asked for extra spicy.overall the curry is definitely japan taste,a little sweet,savour,not very spicy though and it feels light in your mouth,its quite delicious not like the block curry you can buy and make at home.i have been to japan and tasted the curry there,its almost the same,but not quite the same "umph". Its a nice experience and a good escape if youre bored with vietnamese food.will probably come back

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Anggienovaldymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017

I loved their fresh mochis. It take like 20 minutes for the fresh mochis to be serve, but it even taste better than the one i had in japan. So it worth it to wait. Plus they have curry, other sweet and manga for you to try while you waiting for the mochis.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ganga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Shika also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Curry Shika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing