We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value.. Well locacted..”
Review of Bich Duyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bich Duyen Hotel
Ranked #31 of 472 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the start of our trip and 2 nights at the end... Excellent budget accommodation.... everything all the other TA reviewers have written we found to be acurate.... Spotless... Safe..... fairly quiet... well as quiet as you can get in HCMC.......Chanh the guy that runs the palce is very accommodating .. nothing too much trouble.. we were staying on the 5th floor as we needed a room with 2 doubles as we were travelling with our kids...he carried all the luggage upstairs for us... Only place I found Black backing curtains so you dont have to wake at 5.30am with the sun coming thru....Would deffinately recommend if budget accommodation required

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daiisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2009

We have just returned from 1 month touring Vietnam and Cambodia which included 4 nights at the Bich Duyen in Saigon (HCM).
As with all our overseas travel, we always choose our accommodation by reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, and to date we have not been disappointed.
The Bich Duyen was a small hotel in a very quiet location in a very busy area of HCM (it was located down a small lane). It was walking distance to most things and very convenient to the markets and parks, although probably a little far out from the Notre Dame, Post Office and all the main sights, but we managed to walk everywhere we went without a problem.
Just one word of warning about making a booking at the Bich Duyen (which does not have it's own website and you have to book through a booking agency). The only double room that appears on the Booking Agency's site was a Standard Double Room, but be warned this room is terribly confined. Just prior to our departure from Australia, we became aware of larger rooms being available upon request. We emailed the Bich Duyen to request a larger room, and unfortunately he could only upgrade us for the last 3 nights of our stay to a Superior Double Room. Well thank goodness he did, because our first night in just a double room was shocking. The room was so small (barely enough room to walk along one side of the double bed) and you can imagine with 3 large cases, how cramped we were and there wasn't even a window on an external wall. The Manager, Chanh was wonderful and apologized, but said he has tried very hard to get the booking agency to alter the form on the website, but nothing ever happens. However, Chanh did as he promised and moved us into a Superior Double Room for our last 3 nights. As I have said, it is a very small hotel, I think just 3 rooms on each floor, and our Superior Double was up on the 4th floor (no lift) so was not something to look forward to after a lot of walking during the day in the sweltering humid weather. Just make sure you ask for a Superior Double Room and not a Standard Double Room.
The only other comment I have is that the breakfast was "just average". You got the choice of Omelette OR Bread and Jam, but we just said we wanted both. I guess you just get spoilt when you go to hotels that give you a wide choice or a buffet, but then again you have to consider that this hotel was very reasonably priced, so we shouldn't have expected a better breakfast!!!
The service is great and Chanh was there all day every day and offered assistance wherever necessary and spoke good English.
Internet was provided in the foyer free of charge.
We would recommend this hotel for your stay in HCM.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OzGreyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Cheap and cheerful, with a good location if you want to be in the heart of things, but not so great if the only locals you want to meet are the ones offering marijuana and "ladies" (probably only a problem if you're a man and on your own like I was), the Bich Duyen is good value at $18 a night for a double room with ensuite, wifi, and satellite TV. The staff are incredibly helpful and will take care of any ongoing journeys or trips you want to take without, it seems, adding anything extra to the price. It's a little rough around the edges, so try to avoid taking a room without windows (they smell of damp) and be prepared to wait a few minutes for the water to heat up each morning.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baggiemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

My hubby & I stayed in the smaller room @ USD18/night with basic room items - bed, tv, fridge, cupboard & attach bathroom. The room is small so you'll end up opening most of your things on the bed as there are minimal floor space.

If you're particular about sleeping comfort, please bring along your own pillow (they're lumpy for us).

Our room did not have a window and we got a smell trapped in the room.

Shoes are not allowed to be worn in the place to keep it clean. In total 5 floors & no elevator so you better be ready to hike up those steps!

All in all, a cheap & clean place for accommodation but do not look for too much comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mpaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

What a great find!!! Exactly what we need after a month of travelling. We stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights in January 09 and really enjoyed our last hotel in Vietnam. Each room had a double and single bed.
Chanh was wonderful - always so happy and helpful. We had some laundry done and it was returned the same day. We had to change arrival dates and deal with a flight delay and an early morning departure -- he took care of us with pick-ups and drop-offs which were hassle-free and less costly for us, compared to the place we stayed on our arrival.
The location is very central, as it is situated an easy walk to the markets, tour shops and many great food places. Being in an alley-way, behind the main road we found it fairly quiet compared to other cities.
The rooms were of a good size, spotlessly clean with windows, air- conditioning, fridge, TV, and a great bathroom with a showerscreen (not many seen in Vietnam) and with good water pressure. All this at a family affordable price - we wished we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank travelmumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Based on other positive reviews here on tripadvisor, I booked 4 nights at this modest tourist hotel starting 24 December 2008. While "modest", I'll go 5 stars because this hotel probably ranks as best in class.

Booking with manager Chanh over email was painless and when I landed at 23:00 the driver that he had booked was there as promised.

Funny, as we got further into downtown (around midnight by then) the traffic was absolutely frenzied and the taxi was surrounded by "Honda Om" scooters with riders waving flags and honking. After 4 or 5 attempts to get through clogged intersections to this hotel on the south side of a large east-west park, the driver threw up his hands, pulled up on the sidewalk, motioned for me to sit tight, and dialed his cell phone. 20 minutes later, a scooter pulled up and it was Chanh. He handed me a helmet, grabbed my bag, and off we went on the most exciting 30 minutes I have ever had on a motorized vehicle.

(It turns out that Vietnam had just beaten Thailand in football and the whole town was partying.)

Bich Duyen might disappoint anyone looking for 4-star accomodation, but it was clean, well sorted out, and Chanh was a fantastic resource.

Note: this city starts shaking at 6AM, so if you want to sleep in maybe you DO want a room without a window!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bo_geste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in Dec 08.
Was sent an email about 3 days before we arrived from Chanh welcoming us in advance and once again confirming reservation. He also offered to arrange for a taxi to collect us from the airport, which we accepted (making life so much easier after an 18hr flight!).

Hostel is great, as everyone says Chanh is fab, always happy and at reception. He is a wealth of knowledge and really helpful.

Room we had was on the 2nd floor, a double bed with a single bed. Fridge, TV, Fan, 2 windows(!) and bathroom. Everything was very clean, rooms were service everyday.

Good location to everything and there are loads of tour companies around the corner if you want to book to see the ChuChi tunnels - about $6 for a halfday trip.

If we return to Saigon we'll def stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Pharang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,147 reviews
0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#98 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
819 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#51 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#49 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#87 of 472 in Ho Chi Minh City
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bich Duyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bich Duyen Hotel

Address: 4 283, Pham Ngu Lao | 1 District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bich Duyen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bich Duyen hotel is located in the heart of the Backpacker area, quiet, clean air, 5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market, tour booking, shop, bank, park etc. all within walking distance. We serve free breakfast, tea, coffee, pineapple juice and we have high speed internet. Reception staff warmly welcome guests like family and will give you advice about anything you want to know about Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bich Duyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bich Duyen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing