We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bich Duyen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bich Duyen Hotel
Ranked #29 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Staff can make or break a place and I've stayed at some 5* resorts where I barely saw a smile. However, the 2 guys on the front desk are just awesome. So friendly and they can't do enough to help you.

We had room 101 which was right on the front alley but had to change since it was so noisy with motorbikes, people talking, horns being beeped but we moved to a back room 403 and it was so much better. My advice would be to get a room at the back rather than on the front. Hotel was clean and great value for money.

Everything in walking distance apart from the History museum and the zoo.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back and not on the front alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    399
    90
    14
    11
See reviews for
144
483
126
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Checked in noon time with no problems. I was a bit unsure about them asking us to leave our passports with them for half an hour, wherein it wasn't actually ready at the said time. No worries though as we got our passports when we came back at night. (If i understood correctly, they had to register each of the guests online which really does take a while).

This was the only time I've checked in a hotel where tourist information, map, and recommendations were shared to me even without the need of asking. To me, this is extremely good customer service! We were also warned about carrying small satchels/body bags as it might get stolen. Although it maybe somewhat alarming, I appreciate the fact that they do their best to take care of their customers.

Note that the hotel is not on the main Pham Ngu Lao street itself, but in an alley with many other hotels. There will be a sign on both the front and back alley for "283".

The good:
- awesome service by both the day and nights shift receptionists!
- even though the entire alley is filled with other smaller hotels, it's pretty quiet considering you're in a backpackers area.
- strong water pressure and the water heater works perfectly
- sheets and toilet were clean

The not so good
- there really isn't anything I can complain about considering the price I paid for. Of course that simply means don't expect proper hotel quality amenities etc.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room 103 which was directly above the the breakfast area and reception so it gets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatcharlie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

First of all, Chahn is a really cool guy who goes out of his way to help you if you want recommendations. His English is very good as well. We got him to book flights for us which he was able to get cheaper than I could. The hotel is in a cute little lane way in district 1. Tomorrow will be our 3rd stay here and would definitely stay here next time we visit HCMC

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra-hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
484 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

A little bit north and west of the main "back packers" hang outs but also a bit quieter....well for Saigon anyway. Nice location, kept well cleaned, nice little breakfast, It was really a great little place and I would have given it a level higher except the room I ordered was "with window" and the room I got had a 12" by 18" window that one had to get on a chair to look out. I would say try to get a room on the front alley.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front alley with a window. Do not accept the little back window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here in April 2013 as a family of five. The owners were wonderfully helpful, the rooms clean, great beds and a good location. This is definitely good budget accommodation in HCMC if you're on a budget. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao del Sur Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Affordable rates, superb service and friendly staff. Thanks so much for accomodating our requests. They even took the time to go out and convert our dollars since they ran out of bills. The person in charge also had good communication skills.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrexyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Not only was this hotel cost efficient, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They glady answered any queries and assisted in our adjustment to the area.

It is also situated on Pham Ngu Lao. A place which has basically been moulded to attract and entice foreigners.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audric_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#41 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#49 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#76 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bich Duyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bich Duyen Hotel

Property: Bich Duyen Hotel
Address: 4 283, Pham Ngu Lao | 1 District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bich Duyen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bich Duyen hotel is located in the heart of the Backpacker area, quiet, clean air, 5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market, tour booking, shop, bank, park etc. all within walking distance. We serve free breakfast, tea, coffee, pineapple juice and we have high speed internet. Reception staff warmly welcome guests like family and will give you advice about anything you want to know about Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Bich Duyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bich Duyen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing