We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location and value”
Review of Dong Do Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dong Do Hotel
Ranked #291 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a small tall hotel. We first got the room on 6th floor where don't have elevator and need to walk stairs with suitcase from 5th floor. The room is not big and quite difficult to place 2 small suitcases. Then the aircon and fan couldn't work properly. After some failed fixing and negociation, we changed to a 3rd floor room that has working air con and a little bit bigger space.
Breakfast is on 6th floor that you could choose 1 dish and 1 drink for free. Also you could get to the mini roof to have a better view.
Very good value in this area. But not unforgetable. Quiet. Many shops and malls and night resterant just down stairs. Main tourist places in walking distance.

Room Tip: room at lower floor is bigger than 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a standard double bed room for 2 pax which was simple yet had all the basic facilities. The hotel was situated right smack in the city area, making it easy to explore all the attractions in the city center. We were at first disappointed that the we had a big window in the room that faced a huge brick wall of the hotel, but later realised that it was a blessing in disguise because it helped to filter out the loud beeping horns of the traffic.

Breakfast was simple but FANTASTIC and flavourful. They're not stingy about the things that they cook for the guests. Service at both the breakfast room and reception are excellent - friendly, obliging - makes a 3-star hotel worth the while staying in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreyling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded from a standard room to a suite. The suite was well furnished but was on level 1 with a cheap window that doesn't insulate the noise from the road.

The following morning we were told that we had only been upgraded for one night and now had to move back to a standard room. This was disappointing and seemed to be strange protocol but you get what you pay for I guess,

We asked multiple times for an extra pillow as only two were supplied but were told that since the hotel was full they didn't have any spare pillows. This resulted in really uncomfortable sleep because the pillows were quite thin. If they had have been able to accommodate us in this small way I would have given them a better rating.

Our biggest gripe was that the room above us seemed to have construction works from approximately 6am to 11pm - this meant nailing, dragging of chairs/ladders etc across the floor above us. Regardless of whether you want to go to bed early or if you want to go to bed late and sleep in, 6am to 11pm noise would bother.

Some pros
- great a/c
- good breakfast but limited menu
- great (perfect) wifi
- excellent staff
- staff have good English (better in day time shift than at night)
- very handy location in district 1
- toothbrush and toothpaste supplied
- laundry service

Cons
- not accommodating for extra pillow
- large cockroaches in bathroom
- slightly run down, but this is a budget hotel so that's OK, eg mould in bathroom

Room Tip: Get a room away from road for good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muzzamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Dong Do on our first night in Saigon on our honeymoon. We had room 203 and while the set up is basic, it was nice, roomy and clean. Since we had a room facing the courtyard (not much of a view), it was quiet.

The breakfast on the 6th floor was tasty; my wife kept going on about their omelettes for 2 weeks. I went Vietnamese and had the Pho, which was excellent. Try the lemon juice, it's super tasty.

Note that they close the shutters later at night, so we had trouble recognising it in the dark. But third time walking past it, we found it again.

All in all, a great base to explore Saigon from.

Room Tip: We had room 203 facing inside, which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TicklyTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 16 nights from December 2012 until January 2013. I chose this hotel as the decor was very traditional for Vietnam, was very warm and welcoming and the price was very good including a daily breakfast served from 7-10am in the 6th floor restaurant.
We booked to stay in the standard guest room but on the first day, we upgraded to a superior room which was much nicer and more homely. The bed was a little hard at first but we found it very comfortable after the first night. The room can get very hot during the day and also at night but this room had an air conditioner and also a fan so you can get the perfect temperature. Shampoo, toothbrushes and other toiletries were provided in the bathroom as well as tea/coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, a TV with many channels for all nationalities, the room was cleaned daily and the cleaners are very fast, efficient and friendly. There is also a minibar with cold drinks and a cheap price. There is also a laundry basket and they checked every day, washed and returned for a good price.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. They love to chat if they can and we found the receptionists extremely helpful.
We rented a motorbike from the backpack district and Dong Do hotel let us keep it there overnight free of charge.
Have to admit, the breakfast was not great but was satisfactory. Many a times, we ate Omelette and drank Coffee as there was not too much to chose from but for the price of the hotel, it was okay.
Overall, a great stay. Thank you Dong Do Hotel!

Room Tip: Standard Guest room is a little claustrophobic so it's worth paying a little more for the Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLouise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for a week .......... the room was a little bland .... delicate bathroom facilities and a bit squishy to move about if you are not a small person ...... but the staff were very helpful and it is situated handy to central Saigon, close to the river and main attractions. For around the $30 pn it is reasonably priced. Air-con/lift/payTV

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEV T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great budget hotel in the perfect location with friendly staff !! What more can I say ? We stayed in a hotel twice the price around the corner and it was half the hotel the Dong Do was !!

If you do go to Saigon, make sure you eat at Bo Tung Xeo.... The amazing reviews dont do it justice, FANTASTIC dining experience :)

Many thanks for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roseland Point Hotel
Roseland Point Hotel
#94 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#248 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#202 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#104 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Au Lac II Hotel
Au Lac II Hotel
#158 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Do Hotel

Address: 35 Mac Thi Buoi St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $25 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dong Do Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Do Hotel welcomes guests to the graciousness of traditional Vietnamese hospitality complemented by the excellence of today's full facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dong Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dong Do

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing