We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating stay with friendly staff.”
Review of Dong Do Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dong Do Hotel
Ranked #284 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Macau, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very accommodating stay with friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 16 nights from December 2012 until January 2013. I chose this hotel as the decor was very traditional for Vietnam, was very warm and welcoming and the price was very good including a daily breakfast served from 7-10am in the 6th floor restaurant.
We booked to stay in the standard guest room but on the first day, we upgraded to a superior room which was much nicer and more homely. The bed was a little hard at first but we found it very comfortable after the first night. The room can get very hot during the day and also at night but this room had an air conditioner and also a fan so you can get the perfect temperature. Shampoo, toothbrushes and other toiletries were provided in the bathroom as well as tea/coffee making facilities, a hair dryer, a TV with many channels for all nationalities, the room was cleaned daily and the cleaners are very fast, efficient and friendly. There is also a minibar with cold drinks and a cheap price. There is also a laundry basket and they checked every day, washed and returned for a good price.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. They love to chat if they can and we found the receptionists extremely helpful.
We rented a motorbike from the backpack district and Dong Do hotel let us keep it there overnight free of charge.
Have to admit, the breakfast was not great but was satisfactory. Many a times, we ate Omelette and drank Coffee as there was not too much to chose from but for the price of the hotel, it was okay.
Overall, a great stay. Thank you Dong Do Hotel!

Room Tip: Standard Guest room is a little claustrophobic so it's worth paying a little more for the Superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLouise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
24
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for a week .......... the room was a little bland .... delicate bathroom facilities and a bit squishy to move about if you are not a small person ...... but the staff were very helpful and it is situated handy to central Saigon, close to the river and main attractions. For around the $30 pn it is reasonably priced. Air-con/lift/payTV

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEV T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Great budget hotel in the perfect location with friendly staff !! What more can I say ? We stayed in a hotel twice the price around the corner and it was half the hotel the Dong Do was !!

If you do go to Saigon, make sure you eat at Bo Tung Xeo.... The amazing reviews dont do it justice, FANTASTIC dining experience :)

Many thanks for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The hotel is located in a nice area, and has easy walking to the ferry to Vung Tau. I stayed for just the one night for this purpose. The room was clean, had hot water in the shower. Air con worked well and there was a hairdryer but I didn't use it. Breakfast was one item off the menu plus a drink. I had pho but the first attempt had little ants (the kind that are everywhere) crawling in the fried onions. I think that the girl just microwave zapped them dead but my friend assured me that she got a fresh pho. It was nice anyway. Check out was 12pm which was very handy as we wanted to nip to the shops before catching the ferry. I think we paid $40 for the night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stay there a few days but have to move ! for the same amount I could have stay at a better maintain one, the towels were not clean, smelly ! AC does not cold at all at most of the rooms,
Breakfasts were very good, cooked and services were great, good location, but still not impress

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecooltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

For US$30, you can stay at Dong Do Hotel in a prime shopping area, surrounded by restaurants and bars and shops. Rooms are clean, etc. For the money, everything was very good.

But it's definitely a budget place. There was a strong pesticide smell in the lobby, perhaps to kill the cockroaches looking around the entrance. The toilet has a tendency to keep running after a flush. Most bothersome, my room was beside an alley where street sounds (of hammering, drilling, etc) began before 8am.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshuamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We lived four days in Dong Do hotel , it is almost in the centre.
There is quay nearby. On the river the excursion ships on which it is possible to have supper and admire views of a night city.
Hotel silent, quiet.
Note: in hotel there are several rooms without windows.
A set of toiletries is not worse than in 4* hotels.
The hotel restaurant is on last floor.
Tip: the Restaurant works only for breakfasts. Agree with the personnel and evening (night) restaurant will be at your order!
The personnel is ready to help always.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinamam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#295 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
HoSen Boutique Hotel
HoSen Boutique Hotel
#322 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#109 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#246 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#373 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Do Hotel

Property: Dong Do Hotel
Address: 35 Mac Thi Buoi St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dong Do Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Do Hotel welcomes guests to the graciousness of traditional Vietnamese hospitality complemented by the excellence of today's full facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dong Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dong Do

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing