We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...exploring Vietnam January 2013”
Review of Hong Han Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Han Hotel
Ranked #10 of 963 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is great, we liked "climbing" the stairs to reach our room as well as the breakfast served on a balcony on the busy street.
It's a family run business and there is a nice welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna nerina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 448 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

HCMC was our last stop in Vietnam and I was delighted with our decision to stay at Hong Han. By email and in person, Anh was incredibly responsive and helpful, arranging for a car to pick us up from the airport for a very reasonable price. The rooms (and the hotel generally) are spotless and well-appointed; breakfast on the terrace was terrific; and Anh and his colleagues were unfailingly gracious, polite, helpful and informative. Considering the price point, I consider Hong Han excellent value for money - I had read that it might be a bit noisy, being in the backpacker district but our rooms (at the back) were really quiet, considering the frenetic activity going on in the street. I find it impossible to fault Hong Han - thanks to Anh and his crew for a great 3 days in HCMC.

Room Tip: If you are troubled by street noise, ask for a room at the back (i.e. 102, 202, 302 etc...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night and was given great service. The room is clean and good size and the breakfast is good. They also offer airport transfer for $9. It is in a great and a busy area of district 1 with lots of good bars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaOldeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hong Han's location is a major plus and also a bit of a drawback. Sitting having (an OK) breakfast looking down Bui Vien St is fun,and you are in the heart of the action, but there is a corresponding level of noise that was frankly loud in the front room our kids had and bearable - with earplugs - in our back one. Rooms aren't huge but are well-presented and clean. Steep stairs and no lift (not an issue for us, but heads up for anyone for whom it might be).
Staff were very good. Anh is very helpful although when we were there was slightly short-tempered.
Personally I would look for somewhere a bit quieter if I went to Saigon again, but understand Hong Han's appeal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The staff are lovely - We thought Anh was especially helpful; making calls for us when our flight got delayed and changing money for us at a good rate. Our room was spotlessly clean, the room rates are low and the location is pretty much perfect; being close to restaurants, shops and a short walk from the Ben Tanh market. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean hotel with good location, very helpfull staff (adviced us what to visit, provided free map, called taxi, explained scams etc), good breakfast included. Rooms facing street are bit noisy, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms not oriented to the street are bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This time with adult children. They loved it. I loved it once again. Breakfast on the veranda overlooking busy Bui Vien street was excellent. Yummy small baguettes and a fluffy omelet washed down with coffee and OJ. Anh the the manager was so gracious. He let us leave our bags when we took a three day trip. All this $22.00 per room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs get a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,216 reviews
0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#48 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#4 of 963 in Ho Chi Minh City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Han Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Han Hotel

Address: 238 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 963 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $22 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hong Han Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Han hotel is family hotel. It is in the most famous backpackers area of VietNam, the Pham Ngu La, Bui Vien, De Tham street, Saigon. Where you find a wide range of hotels, shops, restaurants, banks, tour operators and post office facilities. It's about 5 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to Ben Thanh market, and 15 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to The Central post office, The Notre Dame Cathedral, The reunification Hall, Ho Chi Minh museum ( Nha Rong port ), Sai Gon river, War museum…We have 9 rooms, large, clear and very clean with all the facilities: air conditioner, fan, fridge, wardrobe, telephone, private bathroom with hot/cold shower and cable TV ( with HBO, Star movie, ESPN channel… ), free internet, free WIFI. Our team is young, whole hearted, friendly and we speak English well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hong Han Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing