We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better service”
Review of Hong Han Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Han Hotel
Ranked #10 of 963 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having thought ourselves smart for booking accommodation before arrival, we landed in HCMC from Thailand around 9pm and headed for what we thought was our hotel in a taxi. Upon arriving we discovered that we booked the wrong hotel - we wanted to stay here (via recommendation by the LP) but we booked (and paid for) "Hong Ha", some hotel in District 11, the wonderful Anh (he lives up to the hype) ushered us in, brought us juice and helped us call the other hotel to sort out the mess. We were so exhausted at this point and so taken with Anh's hospitality to two people who weren't even his guests that we decided to stay there and forget the $20 we had paid to the other place. That same night Anh also arranged a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels for us for the very next morning. He was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms: the first night we stayed on the 3rd floor and on the second night on the 4th. The climb up is annoying, but since you're likely to only do it 1-2 times a day, it's fine. The rooms are very clean, in great condition, bright and space is well used. The bars are a little further up the road so we weren't bothered by any noise.

Overall we loved our stay here and were impressed with everything about the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor if possible :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 448 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers very good value. The night is 22 dollars for a double room. The hotel is super clean and the staff helpful. I'm not sure about the location as we only stayed one day in ho chi Minh but the street the hotel is on is very busy with bars, nail bars, small restaurants etc

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hostel last October. The place is very clean (probably the cleanest we've seen in Vietnam), the host, Anh is very friendly and helpful. The location is great as well, in the middle of the Backpacker'S Quarter, not for away from the city centre and all sightseeing spots. Well recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Em_Niew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

this hotel made my stay in vietnam perfect!

the rooms are very clean. An, the overall manager I think? really made us feel at home. We come home late at night, he's still up. and then the next morning, he's the one serving us breakfast! does this guy sleep? haha.

very fulfilling brekfast. I'll definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank applejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great little hotel, just a little away from the main hustle and bustle but with in minuets of all the bars & cafes. Rooms were spotless and the breakfast was simple but fine served on the delightful patio over looking the street. We had a back bedroom which was perfectly quiet, with a huge bed and the best pillows according to my wife who rates pillows fairly strictly. Anh and all the staff, going out of their way to help, be it with trips, buses, planes, places to eat or finding other accomodation if they are fully booked. Nothing seems to be to much trouble. I would rate this hotel top for location, service & value, stay there I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Loved our stay here. It's literally in the perfect location - walking distance to everything. Anh, the manager, is so sweet and incredibly helpful. He made us feel as home. The breakfast is served on a lovely little patio. The rooms were very clean. The tour they organized for us was great (Chu Chi Tunnels) and cheap! Also let them book any bus trips as they pick you up at the hotel. Mekong Express is the best company.

Room Tip: We faced the street and had a big window but saw a room at the back that had none - maybe ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! This was mostly due to the excellent service :) Breakfast was simple but delicious and served daily on a lovely little balcony overlooking the crazy streets of the city. The rooms were kitted out, surprisingly quiet and everything was always very clean. The two receptionists at the time were fantastic! Always cheerful and chatty and able to help us with anything from where to get a good haircut or massage to transport and tickets for things around HCMC and the rest of Vietnam. About a week later my friend and I were making a quick pit stop back in the city pretty early one morning and they looked after our bags for us and even gave us a free breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlidaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,216 reviews
0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#48 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#4 of 963 in Ho Chi Minh City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Han Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Han Hotel

Address: 238 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 963 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $22 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hong Han Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Han hotel is family hotel. It is in the most famous backpackers area of VietNam, the Pham Ngu La, Bui Vien, De Tham street, Saigon. Where you find a wide range of hotels, shops, restaurants, banks, tour operators and post office facilities. It's about 5 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to Ben Thanh market, and 15 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to The Central post office, The Notre Dame Cathedral, The reunification Hall, Ho Chi Minh museum ( Nha Rong port ), Sai Gon river, War museum…We have 9 rooms, large, clear and very clean with all the facilities: air conditioner, fan, fridge, wardrobe, telephone, private bathroom with hot/cold shower and cable TV ( with HBO, Star movie, ESPN channel… ), free internet, free WIFI. Our team is young, whole hearted, friendly and we speak English well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hong Han Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing