We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel staff ever!”
Review of Hong Han Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hong Han Hotel
Ranked #14 of 1,001 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was great, mainly because Anh, the manager is the best! He helped us with everything, renting bikes, planning trips and accommodations after we decided to stay longer. This man deserves your business and he will definitely make it worth it! It's also cheap and in a great part of the city, so you really couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is situated on Bui Vien Street, the street with much hustle and bustle as Western backpackers mingle with Vietnamese street vendors and the like. This can be a good thing if you like sitting in child sized plastic chairs supping a 333 in the early hours of the morning. On the other hand its noisy atmosphere can interrupt a good night sleep. Luckily for me I prefer the former to an early night.

The hotel is nothing special, which is fine as you pay peanuts. What's important is the guys who work there will bend over backwards to sort things out for you, and the place is very clean.

All round pretty ace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelHero85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Hong Han is the perfect place to stay in Saigon - not only is it the cleanest hotel we stayed in whilst in Vietnam (Anh your cleaner deserves a payrise...!) but also friendly, welcoming, in a great location and good value.

Anh works on reception and gives great advise on trips and transport around Saigon (making it very easy to save money and catch the bus to all the places we wanted to visit). Breakfast is simple but yummy and there are 2 computers free to use.

We stayed in a room at the back (delux rooms are at the front) which was smaller but adequate and also quieter than the street facing delux rooms.

This hotel is a great choice for friends and couples young and old and also families - don't be put off by it being on backpacker street as all the noisier bars are at the other end of the road.

Room Tip: Opt for a back room on a lower floor as there's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is not a luxury place but it has all the necessary ingredients to please you: extremely central, clean, cheap (less than 10 USD/person), nice atmosphere, and really helpful staff (thank you Anh!!).

Additionally you will find free internet, a pleasant veranda, regular breakfast and you can even ask for someone to pick you up from the airport (14 USD/car) which can be very useful ("mayhem" is the least you can say about the traffic in Ho Chi Minh and public transports to/from the airport are scarce).

Located in District 1, Bui Vien Street is a dazzling area of Ho Chi Minh City. The street is crowded 24/7 and it has food stalls, restaurants, bars, shops, laundries, internet cafes, massages and unless you take a late night walk when prostitutes have control of the street, a great atmosphere. Here you´ll find decent Italian, Mexican, Indian or Vietnamese restaurants for a great value. I recall my first meal in this street and specially how cheap it was. I paid only 110.000 Vietnamese Dongs (around 5 USD) for a "appetizer + main course + soft drink" dinner in an Italian restaurant. Later on I quickly followed suit, took a sit at a pub (actually it was an amount of plastic tables and chairs in the sidewalk) drinking bottled beer for only 10.000 dongs and met people from all over the world (American, Australian, Estonian, etc.). Actually this is the kind of place where you´ll see foreigners and travelers wandering around both night and day.

Walking from Bui Vien Street to the main tourist sites such as the Market (20 minutes walking), the Opera House or the War Museum (around half an hour walking) is also feasible. Therefore I would recommend Hong Han Hotel to everyone going to Ho Chi Minh City but if you´re searching for a quiet place maybe this is not the best place for you. Anyway if silence and quietness is what you are looking for then Ho Chi Minh City is not the spot for you.

Room Tip: This place doesn´t have an elevator therefore you should try to avoid the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andremig85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were supposed to stay at Bich Duyen, its sister-guesthouse, but it was fully booked already. I never regret that happened, though. Hong Han is best value for your money! The area was very tourist friendly and from it, you can easily navigate through the city. Also, lots of establishments are just nearby so if you just want to stroll around after all the day's tour, it would definitely be a breeze.

Aside from that, our room is very clean and comfy! Almost everything we need is there (sometimes I was even tempted to just stay inside than tour around!) - awesome breakfast and wifi is good, too!

I would also like to thank the Hotel Manager, Anh, for helping us with everything, from arrangement of the tours and the tips on how to roam around the city. He's very nice and friendly and entertaining and accommodating, like all the staff there is. I'd definitely stay here again when I return to HCMC.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and it exceeded our expectations. It was clean and the bed comfortable. Anh was very helpful at reception. Would recommend to any traveller looking for somewhere cheap in Saigon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My 2 friends and I stayed here during our recent trip to Saigon. This is a nice place to stay because our room was clean, beds were comfortable, clean toilets, good location, strong wi-fi connection. Our trip went well , thanks to the Hotel Manager, Anh, who was very helpful and accommodating , he gave us some pointers on how to choose taxis, restaurants and even places to go. I will recommend this hotel to my friends ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betya_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#40 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#32 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#102 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#56 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#5 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#3 of 1,001 in Ho Chi Minh City
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Han Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Han Hotel

Address: 238 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,001 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $21 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hong Han Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Han hotel is family hotel. It is in the most famous backpackers area of VietNam, the Pham Ngu La, Bui Vien, De Tham street, Saigon. Where you find a wide range of hotels, shops, restaurants, banks, tour operators and post office facilities. It's about 5 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to Ben Thanh market, and 15 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to The Central post office, The Notre Dame Cathedral, The reunification Hall, Ho Chi Minh museum ( Nha Rong port ), Sai Gon river, War museum…We have 9 rooms, large, clear and very clean with all the facilities: air conditioner, fan, fridge, wardrobe, telephone, private bathroom with hot/cold shower and cable TV ( with HBO, Star movie, ESPN channel… ), free internet, free WIFI. Our team is young, whole hearted, friendly and we speak English well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hong Han Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing