We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“District 1, Budget Hotel......!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #255 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“District 1, Budget Hotel......!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This review is based upon the location, price and standard of this establishment. I do not know many major cities where you can get a clean en-suite double room with AirCon for 2 people including taxes and service charges for less than US$20 including a modest breakfast, in a hotel, not a backpackers or B & B...!! Most of the staff I met spoke English, including the Lady who appeared to be the owner / manager. To say that this hotel is in a lively part of town is probably irrelevant, Ho Chi Minh City is a vibrant noisy and busy city 24 hours a day. Yes the traffic is hectic and being a pedestrian here can be a tricky business. If you haven't been here don't be put off, just don't come with expectations, read more reviews and travel guides, and TRY to learn the basics of the language. Ho Chi Minh City is a great place, and VietNam is a wonderful country to visit. I would recommend this hotel for short or even longer stays if you need centrally located budget accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We booked another hotel before arriving in Saigon, but weren't happy with the room so we only stayed the one night and went looking aroundl. After looking at various hotel rooms in the area we came across the Crystal Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised and booked a room immediately. We booked a room with windows at the back of the hotel and it was bright and airy with ac and fan. It was quiet and peaceful, at night. (Lots of hotels in Vietnam have rooms cheaper but with no windows). The room and bathroom (big modern bathtub with handheld shower and shower curtain) were spotlessly clean. There was a fridge, satellite tv and an elevator (not found in other hotels in this part of town) meaning we didn't have to lug our bags up stairs. The staff on reception spoke great English which was a bonus and made us feel very secure and that help was at hand if we had needed it. The location was great, a short walking distance to the Backpacker area and Ben Thanh market area, in fact we walked all over town. Yes, the roads in Saigon are chaotic and we were warned about bag snatching in and therefore didn't take handbags out with us. The junction that the girls were mugged on is not directly outside this hotel. We (2 females) never felt unsafe and in fact found the street that this hotel is on is relatively peaceful and quite upmarket with some global brand name stores and a very fancy department store a few doors away with a fairly well stocked mini mart in the basement. There is a nice inexpensive restaurant a few doors away which will do takeaway. I have travelled extensively with my job and am used to staying in 4 & 5 star hotels so have reviewed this taking the price range into account and I don't believe you will find better locally within this price range. Breakfast was basic but the dining area is nice. Lots of the hotels in this price range don't even include breakfast. We were intending to return to Saigon and were planning on staying at the Crystal Hotel again but our eventual travel itinerary meant that we didn't need to overnight Saigon again. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it is clean, secure and friendly. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming and were always friendly, the lady in the morning was cheerful and spoke good English, the guy in the afternoon was cheerful, very informative and spoke fluent English. Both of them were willing to go the extra mile to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Pay for the rooms with big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
On behalf of the team at Crystal Hotel, I would like to thank you for the feedback you have provided based on your recent stay with us.

The staff and management at the hotel strive towards providing a friendly and professional service and the feedback you have provided assists us continuing to provide the best service possible. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us.

We hope that you will return to Crystal Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or any member of our friendly team, if there are any future accommodation needs we can assist with.


Thank you.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This welcoming hotel is operated by the Vietnamese, who do not speak English but are friendly and smiling. Breakfast unfortunately very weak, but well-equipped rooms, air conditioning ok, wifi working in peace though sometimes the connection is terminated. Situated in the tourist district with many restaurants. In room fridge and TV with over 100 channels. However, single room rates too high, because the $ 20 and competition from other hotels near big.

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank poltramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
We would like to thank you so much for your stay with us and have been highly appreciated in your greatly valuable review & rating on Tripadvisor site that encourages us to improve increasingly our good service given to guests in the future. We hope to see and serve you again in a beter way when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Booked this hotel through internet after going through various reviews in HCMC. We checked in at 10pm at night and found the gentleman on reception had great english, was helpful and very friendly, he even insisted on carrying my bag even though we used the elevator. The daytime receptionist was also helpful but obviously used to time wasters and seemed not quite so genuine in her manor.

Room was clean and spacious, bathroom was nice too but funny because we had to hunch under a shower-head in bath (still does the job though). There's free wifi too but only worked on and off, mostly off actually, so in the end we just stopped ringing down to reception about it (girl was assisting us but wasn't leaving network enough time to restart). Had a balcony on the 3rd floor, albeit 2 foot wide as another reviewer stated, but that was still great because you can look over the crazy electricity wires and traffic on the street below, and there is double glazing so it's not too noisy in the room. The bed was made of some kind of hard foam so left us feeling abit stiff when we got up.

Breakfast options were meager to say the least and ran from 7am-9am. I arrived in the breakfast room at 8:50am one morning, had my order taken and was informed 10 minutes later, via phone from Reception, that breakfast ran 7-9am and so I could not be served. When I stated that I had arrived prior to 9am the receptionist only continued to say "7am to 9am only", even though I had spoken with her previously and saw her talk with other guests so I knew she had perfect english. All I had ordered was a black coffee.

Overall, nice hotel but you will find one for 2/3rds the price on the next road (we moved to another hotel on Le Lai after 2 nights) and for someone who doesn't know the area at all when they arrive (like us) if you walk up and down Crystal Hotel's street you'll feel like you're in a ghost town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duna101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
I am writing in response to your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Thank you for bringing the situation to our attention. We value your feedback and strive to ensure that all our guests have an experience that exceeds their expectations.

I have discussed the situation with our team member and will address any necessary changes required in order to deliver our normal high standard, which we expect at Crystal Hotel Saigon.

We are very keen to regain your confidence in our product and personnel.

We look forward to accommodating your next stay in Vietnam.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

This was the first time my friend and i travelled in Asia and stayed 4 nights at Crystal hotel in HoChiMinh city, Viet Nam. We were excellently impressed by the hotel's warm welcome. The hotel is an good location only a short way from backpacker area where you can get tour information and enjoy a nightlife, but the hotel is quiet enough for your sleep. If you want a good, clean hotel & excellent service with friendly owner & helpful staff, it is good choie to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesmurphy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Owner at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
We would like to thank you so much for your stay with us and have been highly appreciated in your greatly valuable review & rating on Tripadvisor site that encourages us to improve increasingly our good service given to guests in the future and we are also so glad to learn that you were happy & satisfied with our service and amenities. We hope to see and serve you again in a beter way when you come back.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed there 2 nights, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. We were able to sleep well at night. We will choose to stay there again next time when we return to Saigon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Owner at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
We would like to thank you so much for your stay with us and have been highly appreciated in your greatly valuable review & rating on Tripadvisor site that encourages us to improve increasingly our good service given to guests in the future and we are also so glad to learn that you were happy & satisfied with our service and amenities. We hope to see and serve you again in a beter way when you come back.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Good value. Had no promblem sleeping everynight.,Good location,Restaurants and shops are close by,Staff are increadibly helpful and friendly. We enjoyed to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank australiaKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minhquach, Owner at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
We would like to thank you so much for your stay with us and have been highly appreciated in your greatly valuable review & rating on hostelworld site that encourages us to improve increasingly our good service given to guests in the future and we are also so glad to learn that you were happy & satisfied with our service and amenities. We hope to see and serve you again in a beter way when you come back.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.2 mi away
Mai Anh Hotel
Mai Anh Hotel
#210 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lien Thanh Hotel
Lien Thanh Hotel
#216 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel MaiVy
Hotel MaiVy
#321 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#115 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#100 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duna Hotel
Duna Hotel
#357 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: 70 Nguyen Trai Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 435 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal hotel is located in the central district 1 of Ho Chi Minh City, the heart of the exciting section of the town. The Crystal hotel has a very warm welcome and attentive atmosphere. You will feel like you are at home the moment you enter and it's an ideal place for worldly travelers to meet people who are all traveling around Vietnam. And with a team of considerate, cheerful and sincere staff, your stay in Ho Chi Minh City will be made more pleasant.We have 32 international standard rooms including Single, Twin, Double, Quad rooms, especially Group Bookings have very attractive rates for budget travelers. Your daily breakfast will be served on the top of the hotel- where you can view a part of Ho Chi Minh City from height. There is one restaurant in Crystal hotel, where we cater for nice traditional Vietnamese dishes. 24 hours room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing