We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable family vacation in Saigon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We spent six days in HCMC , in a spacious family suite at Somerset hotel. The hotel location is convenient, it's cozy and offers a nice athmosphere. Good value for money.
The brekfast area was a little crowded and the choice somewhat poor - this is definetly something to improve.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 534 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

great place i must say

its situated in the most happening district of ho chi minh city i.e. district one -

this wonderful apartment hotel is located close to the city zoo and is almost at walking distance from most of the cities landmarks i.e the post office ,reunification place,war rememant muesuem,catherdral so on n so forth..

the neighbourhood is safe and quite

the apartment hotels restaurant is decent and clean -

this place has a good size pool and all the amenities a traveller would seek ie a gym and a business centre

the 3 bedroom apartment size is fairly large(least by indian standards) n has all requirement needed in the apartment..

must add that the reception staff was particularly helpful n friendly and made our stay very comfortable n pleasent..

at usd 196/- a nite with breakfast for an enitre apartment -found this place to be a good value for my monies

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumbaiHitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Location within District 1 okay but not ideal for those who want to walk to well-known sites and shopping/restaurants. Property was quiet, well-maintained. Two-bedroom suite was a good value compared to Grand Hotel rooms and prices. Great for families that stay longer than three or four days. Pool was very nice and convenient. Restaurant was too small wait staff was too slow (there was a language barrier for sure), but breakfast was included with the room, so it was okay.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling3Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We flew in and out of Ho Chi Minh on our Vietnam trip, so stayed here a couple od days at either end of our trip. This hotel is actually serviced apartments that are targeted at expats staying in Ho Chi Minh for longer term stays, but its also very good as a short trip stay. The first stay we had an apartment with 2 King beds, the second time we had a King bed and a single. (We were 2 adults and a toddler.) The apartments had kitchens stocked with cooking equipment and utensils. They also had air-conditioning in each bedroom and the living area, washing machines, 2 bathrooms, TV and stereo. There is a pool area with a large pool, jacuzzi and toddlers pool, a great playground and an indoor play area for the little kids. There is also a little grocery store in the hotel which is very cheap and stocks all the basics plus more (bread, milk, juice, cheese, small goods, eggs, biscuits, baking ingredients, beer, soft drink, ice creams). The hotel restaurant is also quite cheap compared to other hotel restaurants, but obviously more expensive than eating out, and they do room service (If you want beer buy it at the grocery store, as its cheaper than takeaway from the restaurant). The Cathedral is a 20 minute walk away, and the Zoo just a couple of minutes. This is a great place to stay if you have kids.

We booked via their website from home, they have some very good specials. Normal room rate is $190 USD a night, but we got our rooms for $110 USD (plus taxes). The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taqsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Somerset is a typical serviced apartment - clean, roomy, well appointed, all the mod cons, good service, and full of westerners. We were in a 3 bedroom suite on the 8th floor - was huge! Very luxurious compared to town-centre, mid-range hotels we'd stayed in so far - a real treat. Was nice to have the chance to do some washing and read a book by the pool for an hour while the kids played with other kids. It's further out of town - too far for little legs - so caught taxis to and from town. Felt a bit sanitized - lost the sense of being in Vietnam; could have been in an apartment complex anywhere. But the kids loved having French fries instead of Pho for lunch!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baafreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Two families stayed here. Rooms were generous in size albeit a little dated. The apartment style was good in that it provided a full kitchen, and a laundry with heaps of drying room. The service from the staff was excellent. Pool and gym pretty standard. Restaurant very limited. Complimentary breakfast wasn't great, but edible. One really noisy night, but reception complained to police, so only one night disturbed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roboduck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in September 2010 with my wife, 3 year old son, and 1 year old daughter. Was really impressed. Good value, excellent facilities, including large pool and small playground for the kidcs. Only 5-10 mins to city centre by cab, which cost about US$1.75. Good rooms. Short walk to the botanic gardens and zoo. Perfect for a married couple with small children.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#10 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#63 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#38 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,598 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#69 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $94 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing