We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived on Christmas Day and was shown to our 3 bedroom apartment. We were a family with 2 adults and older children, 21, 18 and 16. The rooms were spacious and we could all live without being on top of one another. Our room was cleaned daily and any requests asked of staff immediately attended to. The hotel was always clean and staff very friendly. We went out one day and left our safe unlocked (mistake by us) and in the safe had lots of money, phones, passports and a camera. We came home to an unopened safe (so we thought), my heart sank. In the safe was a note saying that the cleaning staff had found our safe unlocked and all our belongings were at reception. We went to reception and was given a plastic bag with our belongings: EVERYTHING was in there. This just made us so happy that we had chosen a great hotel with great honest staff. We would highly recommend this place to everyone. The only negative we could give this hotel was the pool was cold.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom apartment sleeps 6 people easily. Has a functional kitchen and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherrie967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear cherrie967

Thank you very much for the most encouraging review that you shared on TripAdvisor.

I am indeed being sentimental when reading your review especially for the fact that you find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City “a great hotel with great honest staff”. As a hotel manager, nothing can make me happier than knowing that our associates are making our guest’s experience a fantastic one by their prompt and friendly service and most importantly by their integrity.

I am also glad to learn that you are pleased with the spaciousness and cleanliness of the apartment.

Once again, thank you very much for the great review and the valued support. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Booked 3 rooms with the family over Christmas 2013. one 2 bedroom apartment, one 1 bedroom apartment and a Studio. All the rooms were spacious, clean, functional and luxurious, much better than any hotel.
Excellent location just a short walk to Notre Dam Cathedral and great restaurants. Staff were very friendly, with a good command of the English language.
Recommend if your going to stay sign up as an Ascot On-line member and the room rates are heavily discounted if you book on-line.
There are 2 Somersets in HCM we stayed at the Somerset Chancellor which is different to Somerset.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here at the end of out Viet Nam tour with two kids and after having done a few one room hotels the space and independence offered by a three bedroom apartment with lounge and kitchen was a real luxury. We were upgraded from a two bedroom booking. Great pool which was a real boon for the kids each day after walking around this great city. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the restaurant, but otherwise service was discrete and efficient. I would definitely come back. Many long- term residents live here - ex-pats - and it seems to have a good reputation.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Scott L

Thank you very much for the most encouraging review that is shared on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and find our service “discrete and efficient”.

We look forward to providing you another pleasant experience in Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is central and service quality is quite good. Property is old but maintain very well, it is a services apartment that has a spacious compound with nice pool in the city centre. Gym and tennis court available for use, the shuttle service is also an added perks but could take taxi which is cheap for city centre destinations .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear SgnExp

Thank you for your compliments about our resort style serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope you will stay with us again.

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly, the rooms were nicely sized for a family. Pool was good to swim in and location is good too.

Was good to see the restaurant/bar prices were competitive with others in the area.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankfurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear frankfurts

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. It’s good to know that you enjoyed the service, the facilities, and the reasonable prices at the restaurant.

I will definitely share your compliments with my colleagues.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Somerset is, in my opinion, better designed for friends or families on holiday, as the room layouts (for 3 bedroom apartments) are better meant to accommodate people who know each other well. For example, a 3 bedroom apartment has only 2 bathrooms, so one will have to be shared. All the services - the store, the pool, the restaurant, the house keeping are all in line with a top hotel and at half the cost, so definitely value for money. Not walking distance from the city centre, but plenty of great little local restaurants around the corner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdiv04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear vdiv04

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about your recent stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and find us “great value for money” with “services and facilities of a top hotel”. I am also glad that you managed to explore local restaurants around the property and make use of its convenient location.

Hope to see welcome you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in a group of four. We were initially given two bedrooms with two queen beds on the first day and when we requested to switch to another 2 bedroom apartment with twin beds, Ms. Lam kindly upgraded us to a larger and more comfortable 3 bedroom apartment as soon as it was available the next day.

The place may not be located right in the city center, but it is extremely convenient and affordable to travel around the city. Somerset HCMC also offers free daily shuttle service to various places like Dong Khoi (shopping street), Ben Thanh Market, Metro (German wholesale supermarket) etc which we happily made use of. From these drop off points, we then explored the city by foot since a lot of the attractions are within walking distance from each other.

At Somerset, we were always greeted with a smile by the security guards, reception and housekeeping staff. They were so friendly, helpful and polite that it felt like home. The assistant manager Mr. Chung, Mr. Bao and Ms. Lam at reception even recommended us some good places to go for authentic Vietnamese food and one of them turned out to be so good that we went back 3 times in 5 days (The place is called Nhu Lan, for those who are interested).

The only downside to this place is the restaurant by the pool. The menu is somewhat pricey and the food selection disappointing. The staff there were a stark contrast with the other Somerset staff and they seem really busy with their phones.

Will definitely stay here if we visit Saigon again. We will also keep Somerset residences in mind when we travel to other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear wklei

It is indeed a priceless award to receive such wonderful compliment from our residents. Thank you so much for making us your preferred accommodation choice and for the excellent review.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the great service from our associates, the useful tips, the free shuttle service and that you find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City “the best place in Ho Chi Minh City”.

Your comment about the restaurant was shared with the management of the restaurant for their necessary improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#12 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#63 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#23 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#38 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,542 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#13 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,642 reviews
1.6 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#9 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $85 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing