We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort surrounding ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #23 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is central and service quality is quite good. Property is old but maintain very well, it is a services apartment that has a spacious compound with nice pool in the city centre. Gym and tennis court available for use, the shuttle service is also an added perks but could take taxi which is cheap for city centre destinations .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear SgnExp

Thank you for your compliments about our resort style serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.

We hope you will stay with us again.

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 572 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly, the rooms were nicely sized for a family. Pool was good to swim in and location is good too.

Was good to see the restaurant/bar prices were competitive with others in the area.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankfurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear frankfurts

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. It’s good to know that you enjoyed the service, the facilities, and the reasonable prices at the restaurant.

I will definitely share your compliments with my colleagues.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Somerset is, in my opinion, better designed for friends or families on holiday, as the room layouts (for 3 bedroom apartments) are better meant to accommodate people who know each other well. For example, a 3 bedroom apartment has only 2 bathrooms, so one will have to be shared. All the services - the store, the pool, the restaurant, the house keeping are all in line with a top hotel and at half the cost, so definitely value for money. Not walking distance from the city centre, but plenty of great little local restaurants around the corner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdiv04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear vdiv04

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about your recent stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and find us “great value for money” with “services and facilities of a top hotel”. I am also glad that you managed to explore local restaurants around the property and make use of its convenient location.

Hope to see welcome you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in a group of four. We were initially given two bedrooms with two queen beds on the first day and when we requested to switch to another 2 bedroom apartment with twin beds, Ms. Lam kindly upgraded us to a larger and more comfortable 3 bedroom apartment as soon as it was available the next day.

The place may not be located right in the city center, but it is extremely convenient and affordable to travel around the city. Somerset HCMC also offers free daily shuttle service to various places like Dong Khoi (shopping street), Ben Thanh Market, Metro (German wholesale supermarket) etc which we happily made use of. From these drop off points, we then explored the city by foot since a lot of the attractions are within walking distance from each other.

At Somerset, we were always greeted with a smile by the security guards, reception and housekeeping staff. They were so friendly, helpful and polite that it felt like home. The assistant manager Mr. Chung, Mr. Bao and Ms. Lam at reception even recommended us some good places to go for authentic Vietnamese food and one of them turned out to be so good that we went back 3 times in 5 days (The place is called Nhu Lan, for those who are interested).

The only downside to this place is the restaurant by the pool. The menu is somewhat pricey and the food selection disappointing. The staff there were a stark contrast with the other Somerset staff and they seem really busy with their phones.

Will definitely stay here if we visit Saigon again. We will also keep Somerset residences in mind when we travel to other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear wklei

It is indeed a priceless award to receive such wonderful compliment from our residents. Thank you so much for making us your preferred accommodation choice and for the excellent review.

I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed the great service from our associates, the useful tips, the free shuttle service and that you find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City “the best place in Ho Chi Minh City”.

Your comment about the restaurant was shared with the management of the restaurant for their necessary improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The location is a bit far from the city center, but the place is absolutely awesome. The staff were friendly, the 3 bedroom flat was clean and had every amenity you'd need.
The 25+ meter pool was also great for a short dip before you head to town to shop or sight see.
The staff were nice enough to point out nice restaurants and cafes near the area.
Also booked a tour to the Cu Chi Tunnels via the Buffalo Tours desk at the lobby -- and I'd really recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Nadia323

Thank you very much for the absolute wonderful review.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our service and facilities and find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City an awesome place for your vacation.

We look forward to providing you another wonderful experience.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Agree with the recent reviews on Somerset HCMC that it is a great place to stay. Recently had a delightful stay there with some friends in a spacious, airy and well appointed 3 bedroom apartment. The place was clean and well serviced. The location is central and the staff are polite and very helpful.
The highlight of our stay was the invaluable assistance given to us by the Assistant Residence Manager, Mr Chung Minh Van. He is very friendly and approachable and gave us invaluable tips on what to do, where to go and great restaurants to visit. We were able to do and experience much more during our short visit through his vast knowledge of local attractions and restaurants.
Recommend that you stay here if you are contemplating a visit to HCMC and consult Mr Chung on what you plan to see and do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Eve7

I read your comment with pride that our team managed to render excellent service and made your stay with us such a pleasant one.

I am also happy to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness, the cleanliness, the location of the property and found all provided tips useful which enriched your experience in Ho Chi Minh City.

We look forward to welcoming you back and I will be very glad to be at your service again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The service was really terrific. Everyone was friendly, helpful and truly accommodating. Even with our very very early arrival until our very very late departure, the staff were very attentive to our needs (great job Bao! Thanks a lot!). The room was also perfect. Bed and beddings were also appreciated by everyone. The restful sleep gave everyone the needed energy for the next day's foray into the city.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank chockcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear chockcamacho

I could not be happier to receive such wonderful compliment from our guests. Thank you very much for this excellent review. I am glad that our staff went extra miles to make your experience with us so fantastic. Rest assured that your compliment has been shared with our team members especially Bao from Guest Service Department.

Do come back and enjoy yet another memorable vacation in Ho Chi Minh City!

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#12 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#61 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
341 reviews
3 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#65 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#17 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,841 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#77 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $85 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing