We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very spacious apartments” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #39 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very spacious apartments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The property has exceptionally large apartments and are fully equipped with all the amenities including washing machine. The whole property needs refurbishment as it feels a bit dated. It is good value for money for families and who need space. The breakfast is very basic, the staff tries their best to provide what ever customization they can within the limitations. The front desk is very helpful and speak decent English but apart from that the other support staff speaks little English. The location of the apartment is a bit disappointing particularly if you want to take a short stroll. The city center is just about 10 mins away and taxis are available round the clock. Not recommended to take any tours from the buffalo tour desk as they are very expensive. The front desk gave me other options and one of the agency Asiana travel mate was good as they offer tours only in a group of 10 to 12 people.

Room Tip: get a room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear rahul91

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our fully equipped and spacious apartments and find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City good value for families. You would be pleased to know that the property is to undergo a full refurbishment in April next year.

Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is the only resort-styled serviced apartment in the CBD and is 10 minutes away from city center. Mai Linh taxies always standby at the property 24/7 for our guest’s convenience.

We look forward to another opportunity to make your stay with us an absolute pleasant one.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    194
    46
    16
    3
See reviews for
274
26
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were able to book a 4 bedroom apartment to share with two families. This was great value and very convenient with small children. Well maintained and great pool as well, location is in District 1 so it is a short taxi-ride to the main attractions.

Be careful with the tour-guide office in the hotel. We wanted to book the water puppet show, the lady indicated that it was fully sold-out. When we passed the theater we booked front-row seats for the same night.

The hotel could beef-up the breakfast a bit more, for a 4 to 5 star hotel it is a bit basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmwschouten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear mmwschouten

We are glad that you found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a great value with everything you need for a family’s vacation. Delivering excellent experience and up-keeping the facilities are our key objective and we are pleased that we did not disappoint you.

There are two water puppet theatres in Ho Chi Minh City. The tour agent in Somerset sells ticket for only Rong Vang Water Puppet theatre which is 10 minutes taxi ride from Somerset. I apologize if there was any confusion. Rest assured that I will address this issue with the tour agent to avoid unnecessary confusion to other guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Apartments are very well equipped wih everything you could need. Very cosy.
Staff helpful and only a 10 minute taxi to the centre. Nothing much around here in terms of restaurants. Pool is open 24 hrs for a swim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear markr27

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City smartly equipped apartments. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Highly recommended for families, especially if you are travelling with teenagers. We were upgraded from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom (teenagers were very happy they didn't have to share a room!). Two bathrooms never goes astray either. The decor is a bit dated and spartan but very clean and well presented. Great to have a small kitchenette and washer/dryer. The pool and surrounds were fantastic especially after a day shopping and sightseeing in steamy Saigon. They also had a small convenience store and gym on-site as well as a breakfast area near the pool. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The Somerset was also well positioned out of the main tourist streets but still close enough to all the "must see" sights. This was the first time we had stayed in a serviced apartment instead of a hotel - it was exactly what we were looking for. Thankyou Somerset!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Leigh M

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this wonderful review.

It is with pride and pleasure to read that you found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a great accommodation for families during vacations. We are glad that you enjoyed the upgrade, the cleanliness, the facilities and the excellent service from our staff. Your kind compliment will surely be shared with our associates.

Thank you for recommending Somerset Ho Chi Minh City to other travelers. We look forward to providing you another excellent experience in near future.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

These are basically fully serviced apartments. The place is clean and secure. Their pool is clean and well kept. The apartment has a full kitchen with all things neccessary to cook, a full size fridge, and a cloth washer. Our 2br apartment had a maid room which we did not need. The hotel also has a small convenient shop where you can buy almost all neccessary things, from water to detergents to eggs, bread, and milk. The place has a kids indoor and outdoor play ground, a nice gym, and a tennis playground. If you are a family with kids then this place will not dissapoint you. My only take on the place is the breakfast which is not so good really for us. We ate there half the time and the other times we cooked.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AANomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear AANomad

Thank you for choosing Somerset Ho Chi Minh City as your accommodation during your holiday. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service and facilities.

We noted your comment about the breakfast service. You may be pleased to know that we are working on localizing the breakfast items. Some Vietnamese’s signature dishes will be served such as: Beef noodle (Pho), Spring roll, and the famous street food – pâté & meat baguette (Banh Mi Thit) etc.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are looking for a three bed room Ritz then this is probably not your speed, but it is very spacious, clean, convenient and a heck of a good value. We had a three bedroom and the space was wonderful. Laundry facilities in the room are a plus and my kids loved the pool. You can tell that there are quite a few long-term guests. A little c-store in the ground floor and the location make a very convenient place to stay a few days. I would easily recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t-bird2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear t-bird2002

Thank you for posting an encouraging review on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you had such wonderful stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. For a service provider, nothing is as precious as that our residents had a great experience with us and willing to recommend us to friends and other travelers.

I appreciate your great effort and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Somerset and had a very pleasurable experience. We were upgraded from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom and this really suited our daughters, as they could have a room each. The apartment was very spacious, very comfortable beds and everything worked!
The pool area was very clean and well maintained and not very busy at all. Even the drinks from the bar near the pool we reasonably priced.
The staff were very helpful with restaurant and activity recommendations and even gave us a late checkout.

Only downside is its a bit out of the main shopping area, however only a $2 taxi fare.

Great experience, Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueys-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Stueys-Crew

I am very pleased to learn that you and your family had a great experience at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. Thank you very much for sharing this with us and other travelers on this public forum.

Receiving such wonderful compliment from a regular traveler like yourself is indeed a priceless award to us. We are glad that you enjoyed the free upgrade, the spaciousness of the room, the comfy beds, the facilities, and most importantly the service from our staff.

Thank you once again for the excellent review. We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#70 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#86 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#26 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#66 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#65 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.5 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#31 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing