We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Stale, but generally speaking okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #23 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little Stale, but generally speaking okay”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It took the general managers slick customer service skills to avert my popping a gasket at the reception desk when checking out. They had decided to charge my card for an extra half day for an early check in, which I had not been made aware of by the staff. the reception clerk was so adamant this had been cleared with me when I checked in, that I thought she might start arguing with the manager when he was trying to avoid a scene in not applying this charge on us. Anyway a credit note was provided (however no repayment yet made!!)

The apartments are spacious and offer all the expected amenities, but everything just appears a little tired and placed. in comparison to Marriott's serviced apartments across the far east, these look a little second rate, and I am sure they would like to see themselves compete more closely (considering the pricing is quite close)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamescole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    213
    47
    16
    5
See reviews for
315
31
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked 10 rooms at this serviced apartment great place to stay, we had a slight issue but in the middle of the night the A. Manager Van came out to assist returning back to work form his home.

I can only say that he was an extremely helpful hotel Manager and if he was not there we would have had some major issues with the hotel.

Thanks for the stay.

James

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear James

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment about your recent visit to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We always want to ensure that our residents enjoy their stay with us as much as they can and I am glad that I could be of assistance.

Despite the unexpected event, I hope you had a great vacation in Vietnam and an enjoyable stay in Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

Look forward to welcoming back again, giving me another opportunity to make your stay a perfect one.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights at the end of a tour we did through out Vietnam. We wanted to have a few days where we could just hang out. There are great facilities at the Somerset. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We ate at the hotel's restaurant one night and the prices are very reasonable. We also had breakfast included in our stay. The breakfast did not have an extensive selection, but had a few choices of local and western meals to choose from. The restaurant is in a great position overlooking the pool.

The apartment was a great size, with kitchen (though we never used it!!). Bed in second bedroom was a bit small.

There are limited restaurants around the hotel, but taxis are cheap. The most we paid was $4 to get to shopping centres or restaurants, just carry the hotels business card to avoid language problems. It was nice to come back to a little oasis in the middle of a big hectic city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Colin2109

Thank you very much for the feedback and for choosing Somerset Ho Chi Minh City as your ‘second home’.

We were delighted with your feedback regarding your recent stay and have shared your compliments with our team. It is always a great pleasure to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our facilities, service, and the apartment. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, Nguyen Binh Khiem St, has everything you want ....... good price, roomy lounge & dining aprartments with TVs, wifi,dvds, bedrooms & ensuites, own wash machine, drying & ironing facilities. Water bottles for everyone was delivered each day & we used them all.We had excellent breakfasts, a la cart meals & room service food in a small & simple outside restaurant near the very clean family pool and spa, gym & creche & laundry service. Also, has an on site supermart, transfer services & very helpful staff..Very good value. Simple & excellent ....And they provide a good list of recommended places to eat, have a massage, money changer etc....going again if we can.....

Room Tip: Our room was 311....3 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms & 1 small shower toilet for after pool & wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear peter m

Thank you for the great comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the apartment, the facilities, and the service, which combined to made your stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City an excellent one.

Your heartfelt compliment definitely motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering excellent service.

Already, we looked forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel was great, food was nice breakfast was very ordinary, the girls that worked in the dining room were all very friendly, and would happily meet your needs, pitty cant say the same thing about the guy that usually cooks the eggs. Miserable he was. Didnt like him at all. He has no idea how long a hard and soft boiled egg is to be boiled for . Could never get it right. He's arrogant and rude, he makes it so obvious when he is talking about you in vietnamese in a not so nice way. Apart from him it was beautiful. To sum it up in a nutshell it was home away from home

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEDA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear SEDA73

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a “home away from home”.

I will share your compliment with the team members at the restaurant. Nonetheless, we are concerned about the service attitude of the cook. Your feedback will be conveyed to the management of the restaurant for their necessary improvement.

Once again, thank you for your patronage.

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A great place for a family to stay in HCMC. Nice pool, playground and playroom. Spacious apartments, great service and affordable food. The travel agent at the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Jonas K

There is no doubt that Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is the only family-oriented property in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City. We are glad that we were able to make your stay with us such an enjoyable one. Thank you for the good compliment which so much inspired us to continue with providing the service that guests have come to expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Family of 4 we had a lovely Premier 2 bedroom apartment- spacious, well maintained, excellent beds, two bathrooms and three toilets!!! Large pool which we were grateful for to cool down in at the end of the day. Nice outside eating area - continental breakfast was ok - but a limited selection. Staff very hospitable and extremely helpful - we definitely would stay here again and recommend

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Genevieve J

Thank you for the great comment. I’m glad that you are totally pleased with the apartment, facilities, and the service from our staff. Hope the great stay that you had in Somerset made your vacation in Ho Chi Minh City a more enjoyable one.

Do come again!

Regards

Chung Minh Van
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#10 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#63 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
Novotel Saigon Centre Hotel
#36 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#74 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing