We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded, outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #29 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Although the staff tries really hard they can not make up for the deferred maintenance on this hotel. We stayed in the "suites" hotel because 3 of us were traveling together and needed the extra bedroom and bath. For this, the layout was perfect but the thread bare nature of pretty much everything left much to be desired. We started out in one suite that had an overpowering odor of adhesives. So strong in fact it did not disapate and forced me to sleep on the couch. The next day we were moved to another room which fortunately did not have the same odor but had the same threadbare towels and broken washer/dryer that were in the first unit we stayed in. The staff was great and did all that they could. Breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Judyleo

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our guests, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. Please be assured that we valued your feedback and will ensure that there wouldn’t be a recurrence of this nature to other residents. For your information, we are undergoing a refurbishment program for the property such as repainting the façade, replacing the linen, towels, gym equipment, household equipments and improving the gardening, etc.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to make your stay experience a better one in future.

Nonetheless, I am glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartment and the great service from our staff.

Regards

Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

As 3 adults travelling together for a month ( 1 couple and 1 single) this was ideal as we were able to share a 2 bedroom apartment for the week and share the cost. It was a wonderful place to stay and the pool and accommodation was exceptional. The staff were brilliant in supporting our trip with recommendations re places to eat and organising transport etc. The apartments are a bit out of the city centre( a few minutes by taxi and about a 15 minute walk) but this was by no means a disadvantage. We had a wonderful week there and would thoroughly recommend the facility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimhnuts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear nimhnuts_12

It is always a great pleasure to hear that our residents enjoy their stay with us. We thank you for making us your preferred accommodation choices and appreciate your time to put up a great comment about your stay experience.

Unlike hotels, we have full furnished and equipped apartments from living room, dinning room, bedrooms, and kitchen etc. which will surely give our residents a home feeling. We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful week with us.

Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is looking forward to providing you another great experience in near future.

Regards

Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have three children (8, 2.5 and 1.5) so we try and stay in places that can accommodate families-especially ones looking for a little bit of space. The Somerset provided that for sure-as well as being central enoughto still get around. The living area was spacious and the kitchen well-appointed. One of the best features was the washing machine/dryer which meant we could wash clothes after walking around the hot, dusty streets. The pool at the complex was fantastic and the small children's play area had a range of things to play on which made for a nice break from touring and sitting in the room. The bedrooms were of a good size and the cot that was provided by the hotel for our little one was very safe and comfortable.Two small things that provided a downer - the breakfast was only so-so (fortunately there are many delicious bakeries around town) and the hotel completely forgot to collect us from the airport as we had arranged. To make matters worse, they were very slow and almost reluctant to admit their error and seek to make amends. Only after we got a bit shirty did things start to happen, resulting in a free transfer to the airport when we were leaving. Small gripe, however, but still worthwhile mentioning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0hanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Rohan L

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. We are also pleased to have learnt that you found Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a true “home away from home” with a combination of spacious and fully equipped apartment and delightful facilities.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We apologize for the service lapse happened to you. And we are glad that you were offered a free transfer to the airport as our service recovery.

We look forward to another opportunity to make your stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a perfect one.

Kind regards

Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I traveled to vietnam very year and stayed at many hotels. I think this One is good value for money, especially with young children. I recommend the 3 bedroom apartment. I would definitely cOme back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michellen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Dear Michellen21

Thank you very much for the good comment. We are glad that you find Somerset Ho Chi Minh City a right place for your accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City.

With the resort style, large swimming pool, children waving pool, spa, gym, tennis court, playground and playroom etc., we make every effort to ensure the property suitable for families, couples and single travelers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed it which assured us that we are on our right track of delivering not just accommodation, but the experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

HCMC is not for the faint of heart, and while I normally wouldn't relish the idea of living in a gated one-stop compound, sometimes it's what you need. HCMC can be so maddening that returning to a place like this is a huge relief. Once inside, it was a predominantly Anglophone clientele, and the staff spoke better English than just about anywhere else I'd been to in Vietnam.

Everything you need is inside: convenience store, restaurant, and kitchen with fridge for self-catering. Units are spacious and well maintained.

There were lots of kids here, but kid noise was definitely daytime only; I didn't hear a peep after 6pm. Be ready to share the pool with packs of kids, though.

It's not TOO far from the district 1 sights (15-20 minute walk if you can stand the heat and traffic). Taxi to Diamond Plaza was about 20 000 VND.

Breakfast was not my favorite; breakfast staff were not very attentive took a while to re-stock items - they seemed to spend most of the time standing around chatting amongst themselves.

My only gripe is a really odd one to have. The standard electrical outlets in Vietnam are 220v with a plug that takes both flat & round pins. This place (presmably to better support longer term residents from the UK/Australia/Singapore) has changed all of their outlets to the UK 3-pin type. It was the oly place in VN that I had to use an adapter.

Also - there are 2 Somersets not far from each other, make sure you end up at the right one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousebacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear Mousebacon

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are delighted to have received such a remarkable comment which proved that we are on the right track of delivering the level of service that guests have come to expect.

At the same time we are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance, the facilities, the spaciousness of the room and the professionalism of the staff. Being the only property that offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with friendly and well trained staff, our ambition is providing a pleasant experience to our residents whenever they stay with us.

You are right to comment that the 3-pin electrical outlet is designed especially for our long-stay residents. Furthermore, it is for the safety of our residents as well. However, do note that adaptors are always available upon request.

We also valued the comment that you made about the service at the Breakfast lounge. Rest assured that we have shared your feedback with the manager of the restaurant for necessary improvement.

Mousebacon, it was a great pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City in the near future.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very nice hotel, 4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was very spacious, I stayed in a few serviced apartment and this one I have nothing to complain about.

Some feedback said the deco is a bit dated, but this doesn't bothered us.

It's far away from the sightseeing points in District 1, but it's always easy to catch a taxi (the bell boys will help you anyway). Also there isn't a lot of food outlets nearby (just a noisy coffee shop across the road).

I would recommend it to families or group of friends, if it's couples, you'll probably have better hotels to stay in. It's not really easy to find an apartment that fits 4 of us in District 1 :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Cynthia

Thank you for the positive feedback.

We are glad to have made your stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City an enjoyable one.

Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is 7 minutes drive to city center and we are providing shuttle service to some sightseeing places and shopping areas on certain days. We apologize that this was not clearly briefed by our staff upon your check-in.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again at any of our Ascott serviced residences.

Sincerely yours
Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here with our 18 month old daughter and it was excellent. We had a large apartment (plenty for her to explore). The staff were pleasant and friendly, though lacked some common sense (eg there was no notice to say that a severe tropical storm was raging outside on our first evening - we were only told that it would take a long time for a taxi due to the rain, and the towels were replaced daily despite my hanging them up on the rail to indicated that they did not need replacing). Those minor things aside it was a lovely stay. The pool was big enough for lots of people to be in at once without crashing into each other and we appreciated the small toddler pool. Having a playroom and playground on site was a real bonus too. Breakfast was a buffet with a range of choices (Asian and Western) though due to the small seating area we had to wait for a table on some mornings. While the location is not very central, it was a quick walk to the Botanical gardens and zoo and taxis were easy to come by to get to other places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Katherine

Thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

We are pleased to learn that your family enjoyed the provided amenities and had a pleasant stay with us. Nonetheless, we are concerned about some “minor things” that you have mentioned. We noted your observations and feedback for necessary enhancement to our service.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming your family again at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City.

Sincerely yours
Chung Minh Van

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#14 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#65 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#61 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,733 reviews
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing