We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel at the beggining of our 1 month trip around Vietnam. Had a 2 bedroom appartment which was clean but a bit dated and dark. We loved the pool and spa. We used it at least twice daily to escape from the heat and humidity of HCMC. The hotel is not as well situated as many others. It is away from most of the action and not really a nice area to walk around. It was hard to find a nice resaurant at a quick walking distance. The food at the hotel is basic but VERY cheap so our teenage kids ate in nearly every night. The breakfast was basic by comparison with equivalent hotels across Vietnam. I would recommend this Hotel only if you want to take advantage of the Pool otherwise there is better in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    201
    46
    16
    3
See reviews for
284
28
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here in November for four days with my wife and two children for five days. I chose Somerset HCMC for its value and location. Although not right in the centre of District 1, the location is still reasonably central. We could still walk 15 minutes to Hard Rock Cafe for dinner although other hotels would be have been closer--but not at the rate I paid for a family of four. I gave it a four-star for location only because it was on the fringe of District 1 but, to be fair, I didn't find any better value for more centrally located service apartments. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a three bedder as they didn't have a two-room apartment when we checked in. There is a small tour desk at the lobby but the tours were limited to the tours offered by the tour company--we did take two tours with this tour company (no complaints, whatsoever) but arranged a third with another. All in, I would stay here again with the family if the same rates were available. Somerset HCMC offered better value than its sister hotel Chancellor Court, in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We (1 couple, 2 friends) booked a 2 bed room apartment here and were given a free upgrade to a 3 bed room apartment when we arrived here - not bad! We did not have much expectations of this place at first as it looks really normal from other travellers' photos we saw online. Hence, we were impressed by the spaciousness and cleanliness of the place when we stepped in to our apartment. The place is 'livable' with all the amenities available. Not surprised that quite a few expats and their families are staying here as well. You can see them sending their children off to school early in the morning. Overall, we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelatte_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recently stayed at the Somerset in Ho Chi Minh City (November 3rd-6th, 2011) for the start of a two week Southeast Asian family vacation. I selected the Somerset because I was travelling with a family of 7 (including four children) and I wanted space as well as kitchen/laundry facilities.

In terms of price, the Somerset was quite reasonable. We paid $150/night for a three bedroom two bath unit and this included breakfast for three every morning. Price could not be beat.

My biggest problem with the Somerset HCM was the accomodations as well as the morning breakfast. While the three bedroom unit was of adequate size (Kitchen, Living room and dining area as well as three bedrooms and two bathrooms), the unit could have used some updating and rehab. The living room/dining area was nice but the bedrooms looked like they were straight out of the 1980's and there was a huge iron burn on our carpet that I imagine has been there for quite some time (and the carpet was a very cheap indoor-outdoor carpet that I'm sure could be replaced for relatiely little cost). All of the bedrooms (especially the two non-master bedrooms) were small but functional (though they did not have TV's, only the master bedroom and the living room had TV's). We were on the second floor, so we had no real view unfortunately.

The morning breakfast was VERY limited in terms of selection and of marginal quality. They had three warm dishes as well as an omelet station and some assorted fruits and breads. For a three bedroom, breakfast was included for three people and additional guests costs 100,000 Dong (approx. $5 USD).

The fitness center was pretty good though they did not have my beloved elliptical. There were three treadmills, a few exercise bikes as well as free weights and various weight machines. The fitness center is air conditioned but during the day, it did get quite warm and humid. The fitness center overlooks the outdoor pool which look pretty nice though I did not try it.

Location is a bit off of the beaten path but within a 5-10 minute taxi ride of most major attractions/locations.

The staff were all quite friendly and warm and tried their best to fulfill any request that you might have. There is a Buffalo Tours representative in the lobby and she was able to arrange any excursions that you might want (to Mekong Delta, the Cu Chi tunnels as well as in other cities-i.e. Hanoi).

I pre-arranged airport transfers (roundtrip) for $70 which was quite reasonable as this was for my entire party of 7 people (in a van that could fit up to 15 people) and as previously stated was roundtrip.

There was free in unit wi fi which is always a plus!

Overall, my biggest disappointment with the Somerset HCM was the overall room appearence as well as the morning breakfast. All in all, I would recommend the Somerset HCM based upon it's price, in-room facilities, wifi and overall service but be aware that the property could use an update and is 5-10 minutes from most sites/attractions.

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our group of 5 rented a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom (2 showers) apartment. Enormous! All the amenities, including cable TV and a washing machine. We were all given a room key each – 5 is maximum. Rooms were very large, air cond and beds good for Vietnam standards. All very clean. Rooms made daily.
Stayed 4 nights from 19th November 2011.
This residence/hotel is a little bit out of Ho Chi Minh City centre, but concierge are efficient at organising taxis for transit; and it costs next to nothing anyway.
The complex has a pool, gym, spa, tennis court and kids play areas.
Complex is terrific for families. We were a group of adults that occasionally got annoyed of the children poolside but it was bearable for the price.
Breakfast poolside included was pretty good. Do walk in expecting 5 star, its not, but it is quite accommodating.
Tennis courts were a little expensive with US$5 racquet rental each.
My second stay in Ho Chi Minh and I’d definitely stay with a group of people again. We paid approx US$160 per night incl. breakfast – about $US32 each per night.

Room Tip: Higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ausmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here with 6 other friends (7 of us), sharing a 4-bedroom apartment. We were surprised at how big the place is. There's a huge living room, with dining table; a kitchen with a big fridge; 4 bedrooms (of which 2 of them has got an attached bathroom); a common bathroom & a laundry area with a small toilet. It's an ideal place for big groups of friends to stay together. The place is really clean & comfortable!~

The amenities are very good as well, with a gym, big pool and even a playroom for kids. The breakfast area is just beside the pool. Though selection for breakfast is not alot, the food is good and sufficient. There's Wi-fi at the public area as well as in the apt but the connection can be weak at times.

Located at District 1, it's very near the airport (just a 20-30 mins drive, could be longer if the traffic is bad). The place is also pretty accessible to the tourist areas, restaurants and sights. There's one hotel staff stationed outside to help us with the calling of cabs, and handling of luggage. Great service!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this apt to anyone coming to HCM for a relaxing stay :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshiney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend in a 3-bed apartment.

Very impressed by the size of the apartment and the facilities, including a kitchen and laundry. My wife's family visited us, and decided to stay the night,which was no problem given the size of the apartment.

Only negative was that the water pressure for the shower was too low. Didn't eat the breakfast, since I am a pho addict, and ate at Pho Hoa on Pasteur street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#68 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#87 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#67 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#64 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.4 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#37 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing