We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big big rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #24 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“big big rooms!”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

last stop of ours was saigon, always loved citadines group. tokyo was modern, shanghai was kinda small and saigon has definitely enormous spacious rooms! for the 2 bedroom, there is one queen room and one bathroom each room. sofa bed at the living area, there is also an office desk, and dining area, kitchen, laundry area and where to hang clothes and a maids quarter with a separate bath!

on the downside:
breakfast is really bad!
and we were charged of calls we did not make.

Room Tip: for the 2 bedroom it could accommodate 5 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexine_hanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    203
    46
    16
    3
See reviews for
287
28
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Couldn't ask for more. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is a perfect hotel for families. The room is huge and the service is excellent and yet the price is resonable.
They have a very nice pool and beautiful children playground. Tennis court is another adding point for this hotel. The good thing is that they offers shuttle bus to down town, markets, and some city atractions. Remember to ask for the shuttle schedule when you check in.
Separate tour desk is right at the lobby where you can get all tour info. The staff here are very helpful, polite and friendly in general. I and my family enjoyed our stay very much. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chungmvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

The hotel staff were very accommodating & friendly. They helped us with directions especially places to go for food. The location of the hotel is great but there are not much to shop around. The package we purchased included breakfast. Breakfast is at the cafe just next to the pool. Breakfast is nothing to shout about as the food served is only bread, sausages, eggs & some noodles and of course orange juice & coffee & tea. If you are late for breakfast, there will be nothing left.
We went to a massage place just down the road. The price was reasonable but the massage was horrible. They placed a wet towel on my face without asking me if I had makeup on.
Please becareful of taxi drivers in Ho Chi Minh City. There are alot of "fake" taxis out there. You should not pay more than 50 Dongs to any location within the city. Please speak to the reception on this as we got cheated once; on our way back to the hotel from Ben Thanh market.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ongjanice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australian
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

There were 5 of us on this trip, us, my parents and the mother in law. The apartments were large, clean and comfortable, perfect. The location is on the outskirts of District 1, there's not too much in immediate walking distance so if you don't mind getting a taxi everywhere it's fine. Taxi's are very cheap and easy to find. The pool area is large but there's only a few sun lounges. The breakfast is in the restaurant which is small but the food is delicious and the staff lovely. The only thing is it's too small at breakfast when everyone goes down. There's a great small supermarket on site with everything you need so we ended up making our own breakfast. There's a newer Somerset a few more blocks in closer to town behind the American Embassy that looks nicer and more central.

A great place to stay if you have small kids, but as we didn't, there were so many children there the noise levels were quite high around the pool etc.

In summary it's clean large and great value if your travelling with the family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

the best option in town for family with children!the apartments are huge, clean and well maintenence and equipt .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GadiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed 3-nights at the Somerset and like all places, there were some things we loved and others that we didn't. In general, it is immaculately clean even though it doesn't look like a new hotel, the service at reception and concierge is also very good. They took copies of our passports (just like they do everywhere in communist Vietnam) at check-in, but this was fast and hassle-free. Concierge was particularly helpful providing Vietnamese translation to taxi-drivers.
PRO's:
*Massive apartments- we booked a 2-bedroom executive apartment trough Agoda. This would be better described as a 3-bedroom. Living areas are huge and full kitchen.
*Clean- not sure how they keep the grout between tiles looking so clean, the cleaniless of this place is faultless.
*Quiet- no traffic noise, we were up on the 9th floor.
*$1AU taxi trip into main shopping district.
*Friendly, accommodating staff- nothing was a hassle.
*Huge pool that gets heaps of sun (nice and warm!) with very very friendly pool attendant.
*Great outdoor kids play area with soft-fall- although not well shaded.
CON's:
*Perhaps would check out Chancellor Court next time- much closer to shopping districts, although for $1 cab fare, this was not a big deal.
*It is dated, although well maintained and clean.
*The biggest downside of this place is the terrible breakfast.

We would definitely stay again, for the price ($139/night) and size- great value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluv2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a great hotel if you're travelling with small children. Definitely a kid-friendly hotel.

However it appears that the rooms/apartments need maintenance. Over the 4 nights we stayed here, the front door jammed, air con broke down on our room halfway in the night and the toilet kept running in the Master bedroom.

Breakfast selection was poor, and those not wishing to take the "buffet" should have been advised by staff that Pho was available. Overall the service can be improved.

Nonetheless, as I was traveling in a large group of six people, staying at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City was still good value for money, though I'm unsure we'd like to stay here during our next visit to HCMC.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazykookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Chancellor Court
Somerset Chancellor Court
#70 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#93 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#11 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#66 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverside Serviced Apartments
Riverside Serviced Apartments
#64 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.4 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#34 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing