We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Chancellor Court
Nearby Hotels
Villa Song Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$145
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanouva Saigon Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Caravelle Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rex Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa(Ho Chi Minh City)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Majestic Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$112
$93
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Windsor Plaza Hotel(Ho Chi Minh City)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Nikko Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reverie Saigon(Ho Chi Minh City)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
149
165
34
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
165
34
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinetwo bedroom apartmentconvenience store downstairsserviced residencediamond plazamini martgreat apartmentthe ground floorfully equipped kitchenfamily holidaypost officesteam roombreakfast is servedswimming poolwithin walking distancecomfortable staylounge area
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 364 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of the year for a city break.
Positives:
good location, 15 minute stroll in to the centre near Opera/Post Office or 3 minute cab ride; walking distance from both museums; easy to get to from the airport (around US$10-12). We were in a 2 bedroom appartment overlooking the front and side of the building with 2 large balconies. Noise was not a problem with the windows closed. The accomodation was spacious, beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit outdated but clean and functional. Service was friendly and efficient. Convenient supermarket downstairs.
Negatives: 2nd bedroom poorly furnished - no mirror, waste paper basket, dressing table or chest of drawers. No teatowels or cloths in the kitchen to dry dishes/clean spills.
Beware - if you are planning to pay cash for your stay, they will take your credit card details for a guarantee (which is acceptable and expected) but then will charge your card for the full amount without necessarily telling you unless you specifically ask them, It then takes them up to 2 full weeks to refund your card. This was a bit of a dampner on the stay which otherwise was pleasant enough and good value for money.

Room Tip: do book on their website rather than via price comparison sites - more likely to get a better rate.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 3 adult women, my husband and myself recently stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment at the Chancellor Somerset in Saigon. The apartment was about 1,300 sq. ft. and easily accomodated a rollaway in the living room. There were 1 and 1/2 baths and a washer/dryer. Breakfast of fruit, cereal, and made-to-order eggs was served in the cafe downstairs. The fitness facility was amazing as was the large swimming pool. It was hot in Saigon, so the pool was a welcome respite in the afternoon. Although it's located in District 1, it is a bit far out, but taxis are cheap and we walked several times.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sflanagan320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieuDongLuong, Người quản lý at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2015

Dear Sflanagan320,

Thanks a lot for the positive feedback after your stay with us.

We are very happy to hear from you that our staff efficient and a perfect trip for your family.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again on your next trip.

Sincerely yours,

Luong Dieu Dong

Asst. Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The 2 bedroom unit (# 601) was clean, utilitarian and spacious. Almost everything works. Except for (1) the JVC mini hifi set; and (2) an exposed plastic pipe in the micro mini 2nd toilet. The CD player skipped. Not slipping on a simple plastic box to conceal a pipe shows lack of attention to details.

This disinterest in details (at several group properties) seems telling about declining standards within Ascott.

The Front Desk receptionists were ultra efficient.

Although Somerset is branded a notch below, this beats the Makati Ascott in term of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Gtan,

Thanks a lot for the feedback.

We are very sorry for the CD working not properly. We have addressed and checked and verified the issue. It is rectified.

Thanks for your positive feedback on the service effecient from our staff, we will share your feedback to our staff. Many thanks.


Best Regards,


Luong Dieu Dong

Asst, Residence Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was a last minute holiday plan & we managed to book a 2br apartment. The apartment is clean & spacious even for 3A2C. With a washer in the unit, dirty laundry is not a problem. Plus point a mini mart just next to the lobby so getting drinking water is so much easier. Within walking distance to Diamond Plaza, an upmarket departmental store. Security at this district one apartment is good w most cabbies knowing where it's location is. ( important that the cabby to knows the location otherwise they may spend unnecessary time on the road looking for the hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvjr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Iluvjr2,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residence Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved this hotel, great hotel for families. The apartment was lovely...spotless, good size, well appointed. Kids loved the pool. Not far from everything in district one. Staff wonderful and efficient. They got the IT guy up for me at 9pm to sort out the WIFI (the only problem we had which was only momentary and fixed within the half hour). Breakfast was average though.

Room Tip: rear rooms overlook pool, front ones the street but not much traffic noise with double glazing.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Alison b,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Chancellor Court Ho Chi Minh City as your accommodation during your holiday in Ho Chi Minh City. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residene Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews