We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth your money”
Review of Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duna Hotel
Ranked #399 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed March 19, 2014

first of the photos are unreliable, the rooms are old and in bad shape, i stayed in room 501, the water facet is broken, there is bad smell coming out of pipes, the drawer are broken.

secondly the security staff are rude, i went for a beer and came back at 2am the door was locked, i had to knock for a very time to wake them up to open the door and when they did open they give you a death stare and bad attitude, and you arent allowed to park your motorbike infront of the hotel as there arent "enough" parking space for guests, they are reserved for the staffs.

and worst of all, the internet is almost non exsistence, cant connect to internet the whole time i am there, in the end i have to go to the cafe nearby to work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 136 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in a room facing the street and found it very difficult to sleep in fact We never slept at all on the second night maybe this was partially due to the fact we were still suffering with jet lag but mainly because of the constant noise from outside, the continuing beeping of horns all night long, the only reason we slept the 1st night was thanks to the sleeping pills we had (our last unfortunately). The room was clean and big enough for 2 people, it had 3 beds but I think it would have been a bit cramped. Breakfast was very basic and not nice at all and served in a small cramped room. Decided not to stay here on our return for the flight back to BKK and would defiantly give it a miss if I was to return to HCMC again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sara_j776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Room was ok although quite cramped. A/C is extremely loud. I had tiny ants all throughout the room and bed. When I went to use computers in the lobby the keyboard was so sticky as someone had spilled something on them - I asked the lady at reception to clean but this was not done and internet didn't end up working anyway. Breakfast is awful

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mednez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 902. Evening rain resulted in big leak from bathroom ceiling. Not a comfortable queen size bed. Breakfast catered for local palette in small winder less room. Guests more from Asian tour group. On checking out paid $20 instead of the asking higher rate in view of the ingress of rain water in bathroom and inconvenience experienced.

Room Tip: Avoid top 9th floor. Select rear room with window, after inspecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indrasen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Duna Hotel is a well-furnished and conveniently-situated small hotel within walking distance of a large market selling clothes and souvenirs at bargain prices. There are many places to eat in the immediate vicinity to suit all tastes and budgets.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful to our group of 20 students and teachers. Transportation to and from the airport was efficient. Breakfast was rather basic but adequate.
The hotel represented good value for money given its central location.

Room Tip: Some rooms had no window and needed artificial light at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went to Vietnam for my internship and me and my friend used to stay at this hotel for night outs. We used to take the balcony room which is spacious and awesome! Room is big, free toiletries, slippers, bathtub and free breakfast is on the card. Breakfast is not awesome but good. Staff is very friendly, you can exchange money at the front desk. location of the hotel is very good, Ben Thanh market is just 2 mins. If I come back to Ho Chi Minh, I will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Get the balcony room! Good view with large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prakash1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I came over Laos & Cambodia, Vietnam and descended my trip from the north to the south of Vietnam was very interesting. I booked the room stayed for 2 nights here, Staff was friendly and helpful. They shown me where to go and recommend me eat a lot kind of food. I'm very happy to stay here and will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TokiShi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#150 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
270 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
Hoa Phat Hotel & Apartment
#161 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lele Hotel
Lele Hotel
#358 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#178 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mai Anh Hotel
Mai Anh Hotel
#285 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Royal Hotel
Saigon Royal Hotel
#405 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duna Hotel

Address: 167 Pham Ngu Lao Str | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $22 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duna Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing