We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "real" deal”
Review of Espy Pizza

Espy Pizza
Ranked #178 of 3,246 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: Here at ESPY Pizza, we are all about providing a big slice of New York. Our mouth-watering pizzas are based around the famous New York style pizza. You won’t be able to find a bigger slice of pizza like this anywhere else in the Ho Chi Minh as there simply isn’t anyone else like us – we have taken great time and effort to bring you the most incredible-tasting New York style pizza! We love pizza here at ESPY Pizza. And while there are endless amazing styles out there, there is nothing that compares to the deliciousness and size of ESPY Pizza. Just like in New York, every slice of Pizza at ESPY is freshly prepared using only the best ingredients. Hand-tossed with a thin crust, fresh tomato sauce, rich cheese and a heaping of your favourite toppings. And, just like in New York, every little bite you take will taste incredible.
Restaurant details
Description: Here at ESPY Pizza, we are all about providing a big slice of New York. Our mouth-watering pizzas are based around the famous New York style pizza. You won’t be able to find a bigger slice of pizza like this anywhere else in the Ho Chi Minh as there simply isn’t anyone else like us – we have taken great time and effort to bring you the most incredible-tasting New York style pizza! We love pizza here at ESPY Pizza. And while there are endless amazing styles out there, there is nothing that compares to the deliciousness and size of ESPY Pizza. Just like in New York, every slice of Pizza at ESPY is freshly prepared using only the best ingredients. Hand-tossed with a thin crust, fresh tomato sauce, rich cheese and a heaping of your favourite toppings. And, just like in New York, every little bite you take will taste incredible.
Pingelly
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The "real" deal”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from eating 3 delicious slices of Espy's Pizza after reading the good reviews on TA. We were not disappointed, the pizza was substantial and very good eating. Managed to speak to the main man about his newly opened (1 month) business and we think he is onto a real winner. So if your hankering for some genuine pizza....seek this place out and go grab and couple of slices....the pepperoni is delicious!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank beambine6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPY_PIZZA, Manager at Espy Pizza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi, thanks for the feed back. It's reassuring to hear that we are doing right for you all. Its also a pleasure for us to see that we are able to offer you a great product. Hopefully we can find a home here in Ho Chi Minh and make Espy your home as well! Thanks again for the support!!! hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, inexpensive, NY style ”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

It's $2-3 for a slice at this place and it tastes better than your average slice in New York City. Found it randomly 11 days after they'd opened and I was so happy for a decent by-the-slice joint to have opened in Saigon. 4ps is definitely better for gourmet style pizza but at the price ESPY's can't be beat.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fantasiesofvume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPY_PIZZA, Manager at Espy Pizza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks Fantasy for the review. So nice to hear that you enjoyed the pizza! We definitely wanna offer a great slice of pizza at good price without sacrificing quality. Thanks for your support! Btw...please ask about my caramelized onions, pesto and roasted garlic( all home made) as add-on... I'm sure you'll enjoy them.! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic NY-style pizza by the slice”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The pizza here is some of the best we've had in Asia and definitely the most authentic version of NY-style pizza we've had outside of NYC. The crust is thin, crispy on the bottom, but still has a good chew to it. The sauce isn't sweet like most sauces you'll find on pizzas in Asia. We tried the cheese (only way to tell if a pizza is truly good) and the pepperoni. Both were very well done. Talked to the owner after eating and turns out he is from Philadelphia, so he knows what he's doing. Service was great and we're only sad we had already eaten when a fresh pizza had come out. Although we could have easily eaten a whole pizza, it's nice that it's sold by the slice so you can try multiple types. Could be considered expensive if you're comparing it to eating local, but for Western food, it's reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nopogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPY_PIZZA, Manager at Espy Pizza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks nopogal for the review! It was nice to have met you guys! Glad you enjoyed the pizza! Its our pleasure to be able to bring a piece of America to our new home in Vietnam! Hope to see you guys again in this part of the world! Happy travels! Stay safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho chi minh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Best pizza in town, and good quantity as well. The pizza base is perfect and crunchy and has a good amount of cheese on it, fresh vegetables and fresh meat.The staff are very friendly and helpful too. One of the best pizzas I have had, Will definitely come back here!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPY_PIZZA, Manager at Espy Pizza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks Sonali for the review! I hope to see you soon! Stop by the shop when you get back to town...we have a fresh slice waiting for you! take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save the money on a plane ticket to nyc, the best nyc pizza is in saigon!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Quite simply put, their pizza and the wonderful staff are amazing!!!;) the management is all hands on, and it shows in their quality;) the crust is crisp yet soft, the mushroom pizza sublime, and the slices are huge! Prices are really cheap,. And funny thing is you think you want just a slice, and then you come back and order another, lol, its real pizza.made by a real north american pizza chef!;) try it, you will be back, again, and again., and again., etc., etc.,....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank enzomechana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESPY_PIZZA, Manager at Espy Pizza, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Enzo Thanks for the review! Thank you for your frequent visits! Hopefully i can continue offer sublime slices of pizza...Enzo, how about pepperoni and mushroom? Gotta try that combo,guarantee you'll love it! Thanks again for the support!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espy Pizza also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Espy Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing