We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but very noisy hotel”
Review of Thien Xuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thien Xuan Hotel
Ranked #155 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is clean, nice, good value for money and located at top location in Ho Chi Minh city but unfortunately it is very noisy at night. I have had broken sleep through out the nights. I was woken up by the noises from insided of the building. The noises, quite loud and intrusive sounded like someone is pulling chairs, furniture etc... suspected could be from hotel staffs who are doing some house keepiing duties. House keepers seemed to be constantly within the cooridoors of the hotel most of the time. I often see them whenever open the hotel door!

Room Tip: Request for a quite room on a quite floor if possible. Only if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustravellerQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel is very clean with the good service of staff having Internet and breadfast included. The breadfast has the variety of good food. The standard room is big enough for two people but noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky_Cheung_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The room is small, clean but very noisy having breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHL_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Had a very enjoyable stay - great location - close to Bến Thành market - thank to staff who do a great job - very nice breakfast had in the mornings. Very nice rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourmaizcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My room was next to the restaurant...this meant that I was awoken at 5am by loud music and clattering of dishes. When I decided that I might as well just join the chaos it was rammed with guests, poor food and very average service. I waited over 20 minutes for my eggs to arrive but unfortunately only one egg survived the treacherous journey from the kitchen.

Late night room service was also a very low standard.

Room was nice, internet was fast. Helpful reception staff as well.

Some of the staff look close to going postal though. I let one old maid past me in the stair well and she shouted something at me and barged past. No, it definitely wasn't a come on!!!

The massage is an experience if you get the same dude as I did. He absolutely annihilated me, but it seemed to do the trick. He has the most amazing wall eyed milk bottle look going that you just have to see ;) the definite highlight of my stay...!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morninchile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I have stayed at THIEN XUAN on 2 trips for dental work mixed with touring around. Granted if its just budget that dictates its not the cheapest. It is however central with great staff,from the housemaids to the front desk on all shifts & the price compares not to bad.On these trips I have come back & forth a number of times & never found any problems,I am prompted to write as I'm planning to go around May again & looked at its reviews after a tripadvisor email about another hotel which I thought dear for the location, and some bad writeups. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonno22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as we could not get into the hotel we wanted.
Clean and spacious room with good air conditioning. Room a bit dated but overall well presented. Wifi did not work properly in our room so the staff moved us up to a higher level where reception was a little clearer. There are three computers on the first level though free to use at any time.
Breakfast choices were limited for westerners we felt.
Front desk staff helpful and obliging.
Would we stay again? Probably not as it was a little far from restaurants and bars in the backpacker area.
We had previously stayed at the Vien Dong Hotel a couple of weeks before and preferred that one for it's top location and overall presentation and service.
However, Thien Xuan Hotel is good value for money. Ben Tahn Markets very close for bargain hunters.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkbudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#62 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Central Hotel
Sunrise Central Hotel
#116 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Western Hotel
Alagon Western Hotel
#93 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#57 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#48 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#133 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Xuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Xuan Hotel

Address: 108-110 Le Thanh Ton Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $39 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Xuan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a business trip or just to discover our charming country. We are always with you to make you stay most comfortable and enjoyable. Thien xuan hotel with its ideal location well appointed, cozy room and delicious buffet breakfast will make your stay in Ho Chi Minh City a very memorable one.The hotel offers 60 elegantly decorated guest rooms including standards, superiors, deluxes and juniors suites. Each rooms is a combination the elegance of traditional Vietnamese handicraft and comfort of an International standard hotel such as IDD telephones, satellites TV, cable internet wifi, mini-bar, air-conditioner, cold & hot water system and auto-fire alarm system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thien Xuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thien Xuan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing