We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,820)
Filter reviews
2,820 results
Traveler rating
2,261
433
89
17
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,261
433
89
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera restaurantmartini barlam sonpark loungebeautiful hotelvietnamese restaurantcolonial stylepool arealuxury hotelnice poolbreakfast buffetbusy cityphocentral locationthe heart of the citypost officesaigon
Filter
Updating list...
2,259 - 2,264 of 2,820 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Was in Ho Chi Minh on business. Hyatt is in a good location easy to get to the sites should you have time. The pool and spa area were both clean and well equipped. A nice treat at the end of a business day. The food was good and the staff attentive.
Rooms were a good size.
Worth the extra!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSGGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel is regularly nominated as the best hotel in Vietnam and in many ways, it's easy to see why. The service especially is impeccable and there is certainly quite a buzz in the public areas. It feels like quite a meeting point for Saigon society. The location is also great—it's wonderfully central—and the rooms are comfortable and very well equipped. That said, it was actually one of our least agreeable stays during our whole trip to Vietnam and Cambodia. The reason? We simply didn't feel at ease there as tourists. Most people in the lobby and bar are dressed in suits. It feels like they are there to do business and we were slightly at odds tripping through in sandals and shorts. The whole place just felt a bit too stuffy for a holiday. Otherwise, breakfasts were very nice with a good choice, but we did have a rather disappointing and very expensive meal (for Vietnam) in the Square One restaurant. If we go back to Saigon (or Ho Chi Minh City), then we would probably try somewhere else... though we're not sure where. We didn't actually see another hotel that caught our fancy any more than the Park Hyatt!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Park Hyatt Saigon is an excellent hotel located smack in the middle of just about everything you might want to see in Ho Chi Minh City. My travel partner got excellent prepaid rates (USD200 per night) via Hyatt's website through his Hyatt Gold Passport membership, and we were spoilt from beginning to end with their service and efficiency.

We decided to take the hotel limo from and to the airport (USD55 each way) and there was a free bottle of water, towels and newspaper waiting for us in the car. The driver also asked if we wanted some music, and called ahead to let the hotel know we were nearby.

One of the main things you notice when you step into the hotel for the first time is the lovely scent of lemongrass that just automatically relaxes and calms you down. Unfortunately, your smell senses adjusts to it pretty quick so after awhile you just don't notice it anymore! I also felt as if I was stepping back in time into a more colonial era, albeit in a very classy and trendy way.

Check-in was amazing. They brought us straight up to the room and we checked-in from the room itself. And they allowed us to check-in a whole four hours early at 10.00am! The room was spacious and done up in a classic colonial style - they even had a white ceiling fan for an extra authentic touch. Solid wooden floors and a huge embedded rug under the comfortable bed, a comfy chair with footstool for lounging on and a classic desk and wooden shutters complete the look. The bathroom was very spacious and done up primarily in white marble with sliding doors (unlockable but not transparent), and the cupboard can be opened from inside and outside the bathroom - quite a clever idea. The toilet area has a separate lockable sliding door, and the bathtub and shower (hansgrohe rainshower from the ceiling and a powerful wall-mounted shower with massage function) are literally next to each other, with a glass sliding door protecting the bathroom from shower spray.

Amenities-wise, we received free bottles of drinking water everyday, and they topped up any used toiletry items with new ones straight away. The selection was great, although the body cream scent reminds me a little of an airplane cabin! There's an electronic safe for your valuables, broadband and wifi internet (USD0.20 per minute up to a maximum on USD18 a day - not particularly cheap), and a flat screen tv with a large selection of local and international channels. The lights and air conditioning are controlled individually (not from the bedside, so those used to electronic controlled systems may find this annoying - although the 'main', and reading light switches are by the bedside) and the air conditioning can get a little warm sometimes, so be sure to set it cooler. They also provide make-your-own local vietnamese drip coffee for free.

We had a nice pool-view room, which really lets you escape from the noise and traffic of HCMC. We didn't actually swim in it, but it looked nice and inviting. We ordered room service twice, and the food was good and the selection plentiful. We had breakfast once at the Opera restaurant, and their continental breakfast buffet had a massive bread selection. Eggs can be ordered separately at a pretty cheap price (USD5 for my delicious eggs florentine). But the hotel itself is located so close to several restaurants and cafe's that you hardly ever need to eat at the hotel. Highlands Coffee is just opposite and serves delicious Vietnamese iced coffee with milk, tropical ice tea and bo kho (beef stew), there's the very yummy wrap & roll, and a gourmet supermarket just a little further down the road - and that's not all. HCMC is truly restaurant and cafe galore!

The staff service was fantastic, although the tours desk at the concierge is not the best as it's run by the local government-run tourist agency. It's fine if you want to visit places along with 50 other people on the bus according to specific schedules. If you'd prefer something a bit more personal and relaxing (or adventurous - your call!), try Sinhbalo adventures (located near the backpacker area - grab a taxi, walking is quite a distance).

We also got a late check-out at 4.00pm on the last day we were there, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone if they're not on a tight budget. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadiahkimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Stayed at the Park Hyatt Saigon for 3 days. Its contemporary 5 star luxury was expected. What I liked most was the courtesy and pleasantness of the staff, without coming across as being too pretentious. The quietest rooms face inwards onto the swimming pool on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately I could not get one of the rooms which opened onto the swimming pool. Another slight disappointment was the ceiling fan could not be turned up faster than its preset speed. Otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.

The location was superb. Most of the major must-see sites were within walking distance. Unless one wanted to venture to places like Chinatown, there was no need to utilise any transport. I loved the main market, Ben Thanh, which was about 15 min walk away, both in the day and at night. Food outlets were informal and scattered all over the town. Some great pho/noodle shops were just a stone's throw from the hotel. All the major shopping and cafe streets were just minutes away. It was easy to bargain.

One downside to the night life was the lack of cafes, eateries or just places to chill out after 11 pm.

The city was relatively cheap and the people were very pragmatic and enterprising. A pleasant surprise was the lack of visible "official authority" such as police officers, traffic wardens, enforcement units on the streets etc. The endless swarms of motorbikes made crossing the streets an act of faith. The trick was to pace your walk across the road so that you maintained a steady speed which every motorcyclists and car driver could estimate how fast you would walk and where you were heading and so zipped around you! You don't negotiate the traffic, the traffic negotiates around you!

Saigon is fast transforming. In Saigon, everyone tries to make a living, lives and let live. The hardworking Vietnamese people deserve the economic boom which they are now hopefully, experiencing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeJee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Excellent for the location
Excellent for the genuine hospitality of the team
Excellent for the room and the pool
The bar at the second floor at the entrance of Square is really nice for pre dinner drink.
Cosy, chic. small....not so visible and not indicated. Better in my opinion at this time than lobby bar.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews