We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Thang Long Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thang Long Hotel
Ranked #312 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed in that hotel which is a small one but is good. The rooms are comfortable and are guest freindly. The staff is helpful and takes care of your needs. The rooms are cleaned and bed sheet and used towels are replaced every day. Over all a good experience.

Room Tip: Front rooms are well lit and must be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owners of the hotel are just so nice, Saigon would not have been the same for us if we had stayed at another hotel! If you have a question, they will do everything to help you. During our stay, they were also really concerned that we didn t get scamed in Saigon and they gave us tips on where to go and not go, which was sweet. It was always a great start to the day to be greeted with so many smiles and openess in the morning when coming down to the lobby. The breakfast was included and better than what you would expect in hotels normally. ALso, I don t know if it was the staff that made all the tourists happier, but it was in this hotel that we met the nicest backpackers during our travel through Vietnam. Don t expect fancy bedrooms or a pool in this hotel, but nice new traveller friends and staff that you can trust if you have problems in Saigon. I can t recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieL406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This street was close to everything! Recommended by a friend, the hotel is decent value but is getting a little bit old (dirty). It's a very short walk to the downtown center. There's a lovely Thai restaurant close by and the best foot massage I've ever had next door! Also great shopping is close by!

There's a free breakfast with the hotel. It's basic eggs and baguette or noodle soup.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's a short walk to a number of the must-see places in HCMC and is a very reasonable price. The room was quite small and windowless but clean and functional. I had no problem with the wifi in the room and the breakfast was adequate. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Yes, the bed was hard but not to the point of making sleep difficult. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dockerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Good hotel, very good location but not very clean can be better. Internet available, service is average. Breakfast is not good, no jam during 2 days. We ask to have but the manager was not able to find jam...supermarket was close to the hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia_Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

we have stayed in this hotel twice very helpfull staff good breakfast with a great view.will go again if possible .good location.close to everything.

Room Tip: rooms in back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Thang Long is our favourite place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City….it is central – just around the corner from the Sheraton and the Caravelle, a couple of minute’s walk from the river and a few minute’s walk from the Tax Department Store, which has a good supermarket on the 1st floor that also sells alcohol, including a good range of international wines at very reasonable prices. Yes, the rooms, furnishings and and facilities are a bit dated (eg; the TV is one of the old box kind) and the beds are of the more firmer kind, but they are very clean and everything works – aircon, wall fan, cable TV with plenty of channels, mini-bar, safe, coffee/tea-making facilities, bath with overhead shower and plenty of hot water (although pressure can be slow). We always book one of the two so-called “VIP” Suites, which are probably 40 plus square metres, which includes a little sitting room with a coffee table and the kettle, etc. These rooms also have a good view over the street. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient and speak reasonable English and the breakfast is pretty good value – a range of Vietnamese dishes or eggs, baguettes and cheese. During our most recent stay, their rooftop restaurant where breakfast is usually served was closed for renovations, but they had arranged with the Dong Do Hotel (directly across the road) to provide the same breakfast for Thang Long guests. We wouldn’t bother looking for anywhere else to stay, as long as we could get the VIP Suite – great value at US$50 per night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: If your budget allows and you can get one, stay in a VIP Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gandke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,713 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#39 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thang Long Hotel

Address: 48 Mac Thi Buoi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hotel Thang Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing