We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dragon Palace Hotel
Ranked #162 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had to change rooms three times. First: the toilet didn't flush. Second: the A/C was leaking water. Third: the windows didn't close.
Plus: centrally located, on a pedestrian street. Staff is nice and tries to be helpful
Major minus: dirty, noisy, small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    97
    59
    23
    35
See reviews for
37
91
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha State of Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Pretty much as generally described by others, came from Nha Trang booked based off 'Lonely Planet' guide (false). Room was ancient not clean and bed was alive and this was supposed to be a superior room. We lasted one night only because we were so tired from travelling for 12 hours. All in all position is perfect but place is a dump and needs a major fit out. Following morning went for breakfast in the side street and found brand new hotel 25 yards down the side street for $10 a night less, spotlessly clean, free wi fi etc , kind and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Not very clean, but location not bad. We hated this accomodation and alo Ho Chi Minh City, nothing to see or do really. Full of beggars and touts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank down2earthgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I've stayed at the Giant Dragon in 2007 and returned because the staff were great, the location very convenient and the rooms 'sufficient'. Certainly not luxurious but what would you expect for $20. I found them very clean unlike other reports and felt very secure. The security man even reminded us to lock our door one evening. Staying here is like staying with family and in my opinion, if you treat people in Vn like family...not paid staff, you'll go a long way. Loved our stay, loved HCMC and everywhere else in Vn that I've been too. If you're complaining maybe you expect too much. What would you get in Oz for $20...not even lunch

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgettravellerQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Absolutely disgusting. Zero security. Came back from lunch and our door was wide open. Black mould on the walls, and the bathroom was unusable. Lonely Planet suggests this place, but I doubt they've ever visited. The only thing they have going for them is a fabulous location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagleeyesbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I,d just like to say that a few years ago this hotel was okay to stay in...Bieng a frequent traveller to Vietnam we have seen this hotel slowly deteriote...The rooms are uncared for ,the bathrooms are shocking and had not been cleaned since the previous occupants.We will be finding a new hotel to be stay at next time..The airconditioner ws broken and leaked water in a room to the point of puddles everywhere.To top it off our ipod went missing from our room...Very dissapointing......

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

At first glance, friendly, comfortable, reasonably clean, all you would expect. However door opens in night camera and phones gone!! They were no help what so ever saying it was our fault even though the door was actually unlocked with what I presume to be a key! Staff denied all knowledge and were no help whatsoever. Female at desk appeared friendly helpful etc when we first arrived however this changed so did the attitudes of her family members/staff.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace II Hotel
Dragon Palace II Hotel
#284 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
#301 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#147 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#165 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#143 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
#216 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Palace Hotel

Property: Dragon Palace Hotel
Address: 173 Pham Ngu Lao St., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Giant Dragon Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragon Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dragon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giant Dragon
Giant Dragon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing