We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dragon Palace Hotel
Ranked #172 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value and great central location”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Rooms were spacious and well appointed. Location is close to Cho Ben Thanh markets (not a fan!) and Saigon Square. Lots of restaurants and great people-watching bars are straight outside the lifts in the side lane. A little noisy at night (windows not double glazed) but not too much of a problem. Breakfasts were included in the small restaurant on the top floor (great city views). Staff were really friendly and the tour desk helped us out with some day trips. All in all a great place to stay in HCMC.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    99
    59
    24
    36
See reviews for
40
91
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night at this hotel and was very nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious and had all the essentials. Well worth the price and in a good location. Only disappointment was the complimentary breakfast which I wouldn't even bother with, just go to a near by restaurant for breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineDoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Definitely recommend staying here! The staff were friendly and the rooms were great! The location of this hotel was perfect and close to everything! The rooms include free breakfast, but wasn't quite worth getting up for. Overall definitely value for money!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked 2 rooms in this hotel (1 for us and 1 for our 2 kids). They organised a transfer from the airport for us and a driver was waiting when we arrived. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to everything. Lots of bars and restaurants in the streets surrounding and within walking distance to all the sights. Breakfast was not fantastic but it was fine. The hotel staff were friendly particularly the door man who always smiled and offered to help us. We organised a tour to the Cu Chi Tunnels through the tour desk and had an awesome experience with a very knowledgable guide. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was the smell of cigarette smoke through the rooms. We switched on the air con and the smell slowly went away. Apart from that, the rooms were great for the price, good service and perfect location. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieClan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dragon Palace is good value for money. Located overlooking the park that runs through the city it is in the heart of a restaurant area. Though we booked a front room, we were advised to take a family room ,at the back as the sound shell opposite would have a concert on the weekend. We did not regret the move.Rooms are pleasant,clean and beds comfortable. Enough storage space and roomy bathroom. Plenty of hot water but strange drainage. The breakfast room was on the top floor with a walk up of one floor. The walk was worth it though,as it had a great view of the city. Breakfast was more than adequate with enough choices and staff happy to cook eggs and prepare hot pho. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the travel desk was efficient and helpful. Rather than change money I would use the ATM next to the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Worse hotel ever. We were treated horribly since the moment we set foot in the reception hall. There are hundreds of hotels in the area much nicer. Don't waste your money and time in this one. Definitely the wrong choice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ARGSP8N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slavonski Brod, Croatia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Small and cheap hotel in the center of Saigon, where the most important sights accessible by walking. The hotel staff was friendly, the rooms are tidy, breakfast adequate to hotel level - good. If you get an apartment on the 9th floor, you have to go one floor stairs because the elevator only goes to the 8th floors.Respecting the environment, objectively without complaint.
Figure hotels on the web looks much better than the reality, because the hotel is located in a narrow street, and does not dominate as in Fig.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace II Hotel
Dragon Palace II Hotel
#276 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
#309 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
#208 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#142 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#103 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#72 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Palace Hotel

Property: Dragon Palace Hotel
Address: 173 Pham Ngu Lao St., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Giant Dragon Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragon Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Dragon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giant Dragon
Giant Dragon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing