We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragon Palace Hotel
Ranked #182 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked a Double Deluxe and Family room for a night in April 2013. As this was a stopover on transit, we spent fewer than 12 hours at the hotel. Nevertheless, we thought it was money well-spent given the promotional prices for the newly refurbished rooms in a central location. The all-you-can-eat breakfast was a bonus.

Its central location along Pham Ngu Lao would make this a great base for travellers to most of the tourist attractions around HCMC (Ben Thanh market is just a 5 minute walk away and so is the bus terminal where buses to/from the airport based). More importantly, it's also conveniently situated just across the street from a Vinasun taxi stand with many cabs lining the streets.

While service was limited at best (I am not sure if the day receptionists would be more competent than the night ones who essentially doubled up as security) and we could not understand why they insisted on retaining our passport despite payment having been made in full prior to arrival on Agoda, the room was certainly spacious and well-furnished with personal amenities and toiletries. Surprisingly, the family suite came with a rather comfortably-sized bathtub to boot (which is unusually rare for a hotel of this stature in HCMC).

The breakfast offers a delectable selection of standard fare (fruit juices, milk, cold cuts, etc) which are served daily along with more exquisite selections that vary on a daily basis (the daily variation is repeated on a weekly basis) like sandwiches and Pho.

All in all, it certainly offers reasonable value for money both in terms of the quality of the accommodation and breakfast - its central location certainly helps to further enhance the appeal of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edtkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

on 1st arriving there i thought oh no.the lift is slowbut on entering our room (which was the family room which i chose for the 2 of us fre the floor space) it was a yes..its located in the back packer area but you would not of known that as ho chi minh is busy no matter where you stay.the bed was great the bathroom the same water replaced daily aswell as the toiletries...breakfast is on the top floor with great views of the streets below,sit around the wall as the middle tables can get rather squishy menu is very limited and they didnt speak any english..the tour desk is not a rip off as you would normally find them to be alot dearer than the outside not in this case..restaurants down the lane ways have some great food.the walk to the markets is not long and its a care free walk through the park.we walked to the war museum and the reunification palace in fact we walked all round the city .
you have subway next door and a coffee shop at the end of the block..
the noise is bearable(we were there in April which was not peak time for back packers)
it shouldnt cost you no more than $10. in peak time from the air port.(taking a white /green
meterd cab.)
:) all in all i do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we got a great deal so we went with the family room just for the space as we were there for 6 day we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giggles904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and enjoyed great service from the staff. It's a fantastic position and close to everything, especially Highlands Coffee for great Vietnamese iced coffee. The rooms are clean and good value for money. We stayed at the back of the hotel so quiet. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Fast check in/out. Room was very clean with basic amenities provided. Strong free wifi at the lobby and in the room. Location was excellent as its walking distance to many famous places such as the Ben than market, Starbucks and even subway ! There's a travel agent just opposite the hotel who provides tour for a very reasonable price. So we had everything arranged by him. The staffs were friendly and since we checked out earlier while our flight was late night they let us keep our luggage in the hotel while we went out for shopping. Overall I had a good stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanusya_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After taking one of the worst overnight bus rides from Cambodia, our bus unceremoniously dumped us off on Pham Ngu street. While we were driving down, I had spotted a newly-opened hotel that offered a 30% discount in celebration of its opening. Ignoring the barrage of taxi and motorbike guys, we hurried down the street to check out the new place. We were allowed to preview the room first, and with the discount, it was about $30 or $35/night.

I was really impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the room. I've been in Vietnam often, and this hotel was super nice by Vietnamese standards. Heck, it's a lot nicer than a budget motel back in the states. The bed.. oh man, the *bed*, after that 13-hour nightmare on a sleeper bus, was the greatest sight for sore eyes. There were tons of pillows! And sheets! Real sheets, not some crappy comforter. And it was so comfortable, too.

The decor was nice, as well. Lots of furniture, a vanity, a new flat-screen TV, even a little table with chairs and goodies for tea and coffee. We about lost it when we saw the bathroom. After bathing in rivers during our Thailand jungle trek, this modern bathroom was like manna from potty heaven. It wasn't one of those typical Viet-style bathrooms where it's all tile and the dinky little water heater with a hose for a shower. It had a whole separate shower stall, with glass doors and one of those massive rainfall shower heads. A basket had soap, conditioner, shampoo, and body soap. There was even a hair dryer and a bunch of towels and cloths. I'm so used to places giving you one, tissue-thin, scratchy towel, I was happy to blissfully wrap myself up in terry-cloth lovin.

Now, every great place has to have something wrong. But the few incidents we had weren't that big of a deal. Plus, I knew they were re-opening/re-modeling, whatever, so there are naturally some kinks that needed to be ironed out.

We had two unexpected and way too early wake-up calls that weren't for us. At 8am, one of the men from the front desk and was getting pissy with my partner and saying, "Your tour guide is here!! Why aren't you down here?!" and was giving some total attitude. We didn't book a tour; they called the wrong room. A second time it happened, a woman called me and said my friend was waiting downstairs (what friend??) and when I went down, it was another "oops, wrong room."

Our door didn't latch right, probably because of the fancy key system (a swipe card with an RFID tag, I think, not a key) and they had to come fix it. Then, some maintenance guys came in one afternoon to mess around with our air conditioner, and I didn't know why. And one day, we had left late morning and returned around 3pm and our room wasn't clean. We were shuffled out by the hospitality staff so they could clean our room, so we had to find something to do.

But, like I said. It was expected to have some hiccups with a hotel that's opening up. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. Don't expect peace and quiet, though. No matter *what* hotel you get in Vietnam, you're always going to hear street noise and your neighbors and drunken tourists. Don't expect to sleep in very late unless you are renting a room in a tomb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ak1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked in here for the night after our flight was cancelled and money was low.....but it was a real gem! As good as the €150 we were paying just round the corner but for $40! Everywhere in Saigon is noisy so don't think paying more will help. Look out for these places!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukebox696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Heard that this hotel had been renovated just a couple of months ago. Location wise, is really pretty good, just a 15 mins walk away from the famous Ben thanh market. But I would suggest taking a cab there, taking a cab there takes only 5 mins, 15000 dong. The rooms are really clean and nice. We booked a family room for 3 person. The door of the room uses the modern card access, not the old fashioned knob and key anymore. Toilets are also really clean, with bathtub and they provided us with all the bathroom neccessities (eg. shampoo, bathing foam, toothbrushes). However, the breakfast is not the usual buffet style which we usually have. The breakfast venue is at the 9 or 10th floor (but the lifts only goes up to the 8th floor, so be prepared to walk up 2 floors for beakfast). Breaskfast is like ala carte buffet style, so you order from a menu of bread or noodles. Choices is limited but is good enough for breakfast.
Overall, very satisfied with the hotel room, worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ed l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace II Hotel
Dragon Palace II Hotel
#282 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
Saigon Eden Garden Hotel
#231 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
Dragon Palace 3 Hotel
#342 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#105 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#74 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#82 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Palace Hotel

Address: 173 Pham Ngu Lao St., Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Giant Dragon Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $31 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragon Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Dragon Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giant Dragon
Giant Dragon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing