We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive shuttle bus from Airport and very bad room arrangement for 1st night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Ranked #49 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our family arrived at midnight, so we booked the shuttle bus from Airport to hotel, it's really expensive and not worth ! May be they can arrange free or reasonable price for all hotel guest. When we arrived front desk, one of the staff served us and try to asked us to upgrade to Execetive floor for two rooms, I refused ! Then he said he can only arrange two rooms in different floor for us !!! It's made me very angry & upset ! As we need to running up & down to talk & share my two daughters' stuffs ! It's really bad arrangement & so strange that we can change to the same floor on the 2nd morning by the other staff !!! Please try to treat your guest well & convenience ! Thanks !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Your review of your problem was investigated and it would appear we did not recieve notification of your requirements for two rooms adjoining or on the same floor. As the Hotel was at full occupancy on that night your request for two rooms same floor could not be done, howerver it was the next morning. Please accept our apoligies for the mistake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 986 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

First the location - off the beaten track but not by that much and compensated for by a free hourly minibus service to district 1.

Now the good points - This is a lovely hotel to stay at with warm friendly staff and service that goes out of the way to please. Reception organised a great day driver for us to visit Chu Chi tunnels and the city and this saved us 180 dollars over a guided tour.

The Chinese resaturant on level 5 is great and reasonably priced, 10% off for hotel guests, try it.

The main buffet restaurant on level 4 has a brilliant breakfast with great fresh fruit, amazing Croissant and pastries and lovely chinese buns. We ate like Lords at breakfast for 3 days.

The negatives - well the internet daily charge is a rip off at $17 per day and had we said yes the cost of internet for 2 rooms may have been 1/3rd the cost of the whole trip! Out of proportion and cynically used to upsell the room upgrade offered at check in.

Summary - Would be more than happy staying again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floridadream2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. Service is paramount to us to ensure our guests truly enjoy their stay with us,. The breakfast buffet, as you discovered, is the largest and most comprehensive in the city. The complementary shuttle to District 1 is very much apprecated by all our guests so to free WIFI in all public areas of the Hotel. Thank you for choosing Windsor Plaza Hotel for you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Doggie hotel/ A lot to complain:

(i) Slow check in. Chaotic situaion. Frontdesk impolitie.
(ii) Slow internet access. Nobody is helping.
(iii) Bad service. Not sincere and not caring.
(iv) The hotel is full of tours and is very crowded
(v) Deco is terrible. 70's but not decent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Your review of your stay caused great concern to us and the points you raised will of course be fully investigated. We at Windsor Plaza Hotel strive to ensure all of our guests are afforded the very best in service and comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Finally we got an excellent hotel at the end of our trip to Cambodia & Vietnam. We thought we would get the standard hotel again :-) The service was good, room was spacy, clean & neat. The location of the hotel was in the center of activities. The breakfast was excellent :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

We are so pleased after your Cambodian tour Windsor Plaza Hotel hit the spot. Travel, can at times, be exhausting especially if things are not what you expected them to be. We are so pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Windsor Plaza Few times and I found the service is exceptionally good. The Staff are very attentive, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is excellent! It is a 5 Star Hotel with five star service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank propcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

As a now regular guest of Hotel your first impression has remained over your stays as it should be, and you can sure it will ever increase with a staff and service compliment we are proud of. We will look forward to you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Taxi driver dropped us off at the wrong side of the hotel. Found the lobby and was greeted and taken upto the 4th floor to check in. Was staying in the executive suite and pleasantly surprised when escorted upto the 24th floor. Room is huge with separate living area with 42in LCD TV, big bedroom again with tv, office room and bathroom with 2 showers. Also included was Wifi and happy hour in the executive lounge on same floor. Hotel itself is more a business hotel and caters for a lot of tours. Had buffet dinner on 4th floor restaurant where you have breakfast. Both are quantity not quality. Location is the downside. Is in a non descript local area which you can't really walk around. Hotel does provide good shuttle buses to district 1 every hour and only takes 15 minutes to get there. Nice small pool and terrace area on 25th floor. Service was excellent. And the bed in our room was probably the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, even better than Hilton, Holiday Inn, etc.

They try very hard to be a '5 star' hotel, and overall is good if you don't want to stay in district 1.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Your choice of an Executive Suite met indeed all of your needs, including a more than comfortable bed. The complementary hourly shuttle is a big plus for all our guests who are transported to the CBD heart is 15 minutes. All reviews submitted by our guests are carefully reviewed so we can further improve our service standards. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were there for a weekend stay to just explore the beauty of the city. Not only have we enjoyed this amazing city, we also enjoyed our stay at the Windsor. The staff are great, even helped us get cheap contracted rates for a private transfer for the Cu Chi Tunnel Tour. The front desk people are also very accommodating and the hotel even made it more special for our family anniversary with the special arrangements they have made for us.

I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Seek help from the staff if you plan to do your own exploration. :) Also, take only Vinasun taxi so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Brixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

The reading of your review was a delight and we are so happy that the Special Anniversary arrangements went so well. Your complements on the service and help you received from our front desk staff will be shared with them. Again our thanks and come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,715 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#33 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
669 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#29 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#22 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Equatorial Ho Chi Minh Cit...
#26 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#56 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 An Duong Vuong Street | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $72 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Plaza Hotel offers authentic Vietnamese hospitality and world-class facilities. Key Features + 376 well-appointed rooms and suites + 3 award-winning restaurants and a terrace bar + Conference center with six meeting rooms + 2,000-person capacity Jade Ballroom + Fitness Center and swimming pool + Hourly shuttle bus to city destinations + Complimentary wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing