We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Ranked #49 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Four days in the Windsor Plaza hotel completed a wonderful two weeks in Vietnam.
The hotel reception is on the fourth floor, the first three being given over to a shopping area.
Staff in the hotel are quite outstanding, professional, cheerful and unfailingly helpful.
i had the misfortune to come down with a tummy bug on my first night (I ate in the fourth floor buffet but the jury remains out on the provenance of the bug). After a horror night and bad morning, thankfully I recovered. The management were very solicitous of my well being, delivering ginger tea and flowers to my room.
We upgraded to an executive suite which was well worth the extra cost, giving us the use of the executive lounge, laundry, a free bar and nibbles during happy hour (5-7pm), a late check out and several other comforts.
Breakfast was gargantuan in size and scope, though the Western options were average. This is not meant as a serious criticism because otherwise the repast was of the highest quality.
The hotel is located a few miles east of the city centre, accessible by hourly shuttle bus.
Would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommywelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Your review of your four day stay with us was very much appreciated. I was very pleased to read your comments about our staff who again expressed true Vietnamese hospitality and care. I am also pleased that you, like many other guests, enjoyed the specil benifits which are encompassed with an executive suite, also the hourly shuttle is always a big plus.. Thank you for staying with us and we certainly look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    378
    130
    38
    25
See reviews for
159
365
77
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The property is a little way from the central area but makes up and more by the excellent service provided. I was delighted with the friendly and efficient service provided. Nothing was any trouble to them, from the bell boys to reception, to restaurant staff as well. It's clean, comfortable and homely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajaya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Your review was, indeed, most encouraging. Your discovery of our well managed Vietnamese Hospitality was a delight to read, we like to refer to Windsor Plaza Hotel as your home away from home. With our location with offer to our guests a complementary suttle bus service to major destination points in the CBD. We look forward to welcoming your guest and our sincere thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Windsor Plaza is located in District 5 so a little out of the way for the center but they have regular shuttle services and taxis are cheap.

The hotel layout is a little odd with the reception and check in on the 4th floor.

The hotel is not a modern, 4 or 5 star hotel but I would describe as a more 'local' 4 star or perhaps an international 3 star (plus).

What struck me when i arrived very early in the morning was the warm and friendly welcome and a genuine feeling of wanting to be of service. I went to the 4th floor and check in was painless and very pleasant. I was upgraded, apparently a random guest gets upgraded every day, i was that days random guest.

The hotel is a little tired with typical beds for this type of hotel which are very firm, i like this but not everyone does. The bathrooms are a little tired but everything is clean, functional and in working order.

For me, the test of a successful stay is simply whether I would return or not and in all honesty, i would not hesitate to book this hotel again. My only criticism is their coffee was pretty awful but that's about my only issue and it certainly wouldn't stop me returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Like all reviews submitted by our guests all points raised are addressed and discussed by management. I was delighted to read that you would certainly return and your stay with us was indeed acceptable. Check in was handled professionally and with courtesy and you enjoyed your upgrade to the Executive Floor for your stay Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic helpful staff. The staff at the Windsor Plaza are so awesome. I can not remember the names of all of them but they will help with anything they can. Go up to the bar on the 24th floor. The views are fantastic and the barman Tougue will mix you any conncoction you wish for. He is so friendly & helpfull. Then you have Tran the most expert customer service relation person I have ever met. Nothing is to hard for her. I will definately be staying there to my next visit to Saigon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_schulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Your review of your stay at Windsor Plaza Hotel has not only delighted me but all of our wonderful staff you had contact with who served you so well, and your comments have been passed on to each and everyone. We strive to ensure all of our guests receive the best and you certainly experienced to true meaning of hospitality, Vietnamese Hospitality. We will be delighted to serve you again on your return visit. Our most sincere thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Windsor last weekend.
Upon arrival we were communicated that we had been upgraded to an executive room.
Room was nice and comfortable.
The hotel have a free shuttle bus that every hour depart from hotel and stops in 5 location in District 1.
Sunday morning we checked out and left our luggage with the concierge to spent one more day around, before leaving to the airport later in the afternoon.
Unfortunately, walking downtown my wife badly twisted her ankle. Her foot rapidly swollen and she was in terrible pain.
We took a taxi back to the hotel.
When we arrived the hotelballman provide us with a wheelchair.
The staff invited us in the executive launge where my wife could confortably lay down on a couch.
The staff provided us with ice and a towel.
After a few minutes the hotel's manager come to check how my wife was and in a few minutes the hotel doctor came to visit her.
Everybody showed sympathy for her pain and tried to help.
We where invited to use the buffet of the executive lounge.
When our pick up to the airport arrived the hotel manager escorted us, together with a member of the staff to carry our lugagge, to the door.
We were very much moved from the behavier of the hotel staff. Even if we already checked out they were incredibly kind and helpful.
We wish to thank all the hotel management, the doctor and all the staff for their kindness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Reading your review of your stay was most encouraging, and I am so pleased our staff were able to assist in every possible way after the unfortunate accident. You indeed truly discovered Vietnamese Hospitality. I trust all went well on your return journey and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on a busineas trip. The hotel is located in district 5 and it isn't exactly a tourist area. Other than this pho-24 joint across from the hotel, it's kind of hard to find food within walking distance. The streets aren't exactly the easiest to navigate. The shopping center below the hotel that the website advertises as a place were you can buy anything, is nothing like the nice mallls that are connected to 5-star hotels in Singapore or Jakarta. While it is big center, the shops are more like cramped stalls with shop attendants/owners who speak zero English and are more busy talking with each other rather than attending your needs. The alleys were messy, it was hot inside and I couldn't find a food court.

Now the hotel itself, is older building and while the inside is clean and well maintained, it could use some interior updates. The lobby is decorated with this rich gold tone and it looks a little tacky. The receptionist was quite slow in checking me in, but doormen were very helpful with my bag, and whenever I had to get a taxi to work each morning.

Breakfast was decent. There were a lot of options to choose from, but the wait-staff service was almost non existent. I had a hard time finding a table on the first day and had to wait a long time to get my utensils on the next two mornings (they're not set on the table). I wonder if this's all because it was a busy several days with this big group of Singaporean middle schoolers also staying in the hotel.

My hotel room was very spacious, the bed was nice and comfortable, but it had a hint of musty smell and the bathroom was dark and it had this ugly green tiles they used on the walls. This doesn't really bother me tho, as I was only in the room at night to sleep. The hotel doesnt offer free wifi, but the pho resto across does. I ate there three nights in a row just to utilize the service (it also had decent food).

Swimming pool was on the top floor and it was tiny. It wasn't inviting enough and no one seemed to be interested in making use of it,

Overall, the place is an okay place to stay at if you're on a business trip like I was. For a 5-star hotel, it is probably a cheaper option compared to hotels in district one. However if you come on vacation, I wouldnt recommend staying here. The location is quite inconvenient, it's off a busy street and there isn't much to see, eat, or do within walking distance, unless you don't mind taking a cab everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your review of your stay and comments are most important to us and the areas that you highlighted will certinally be addressed. As you stated we are not in the CBD however we do provide a complementary hourly shuttle service to various points in the CBD which is extremly well received by our guests.Ww thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed end of Jan 2103 for 3 nights with husband and friends. Nothing negative to be said, but not a very special experience either. Great views from the roof top bar. Much appreciated the frequent free shuttle to District 1. Had our dinners in the street "restaurants" nearby. Always good food, but once experienced a rip off - huge bill which we did not pay in full. Hotel breakfast very good, also their evening buffet looked nice but we preferred the street life.
A shopping center adjacent to the hotel. Favourite hobby was to sit in the corner cafe watching the traffic madness!

Room Tip: the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjat414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to revierw your stay at Windsor Plaza Hotel. Our complementary shuttle service is indeed a welcomed benifit for all our quests and very much appreciated. Reviews of our guests are very important to us and each and every one is looked at carefully and provides us with valuable information as we are constantly endevouring to ensure our service stantards are well received by our guests. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
Harmony Saigon Hotel & Spa
#31 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
574 reviews
1.7 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#35 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,612 reviews
2.4 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
568 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#19 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Property: Windsor Plaza Hotel
Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St | District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#32 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#43 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Plaza Hotel offers authentic Vietnamese hospitality and world-class facilities. Key Features + 376 well-appointed rooms and suites + 3 award-winning restaurants and a terrace bar + Conference center with six meeting rooms + 2,000-person capacity Jade Ballroom + Fitness Center and swimming pool + Hourly shuttle bus to city destinations + Complimentary wireless internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing