We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good, modern hotel; although wrong end of town for the colonial feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #151 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good, modern hotel; although wrong end of town for the colonial feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

Perfectly nice modern hotel with standard international facilities. Watch out for pick pockets and other less desirable elements in the nearby tourist bars.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    245
    80
    18
    19
See reviews for
40
144
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning and end of our trip. The rooms were clean, spacious and came with: bathroom amenities, wifi, safe, tv ,bottled water each day. and like all hotels in District 1, is in walking distance of all the tourist spots. If you stay at this hotel though, make sure you ask for a room away from the street otherwise it will be noisy 24/7. At the end of our trip we were given a street room and had to ask for a different room the next day - they gave us a room across the hall and the difference was amazing, it was almost completely quiet.

The staff were helpful - we bought a watermelon from the market and wanted to borrow a knife to cut it up. Reception told us to go up to the restaurant who wouldn't lend us a knife... but offered to cut the melon up for us. We asked them just to cut it into 4 pieces but not more than 2 minutes after handing the melon over it came out to us with the skin removed and sliced into small pieces - like how they prepare it for breakfast! The breakfast buffet was great - well stocked with lots of variety

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiny_teddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I can really recommend this hotel. I travelled solo (mature female) to Vietnam) and this Hotel was a bonus. Everything was excellent - room, cleanliness - everything.
Close to all attractions. I booked for two nights and stayed 9
Absolutely fabulous
Melbourne - Victoria -Australia

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sspea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

A nice hotel with good clean rooms, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet and close to parks, shopping etc. Big bed in room, as quiet as can be in HCMC.

At these prices it's very highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

Our family stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms at the Vien Dong Hotel in late January. We can thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is new, rooms are excellent and reasonably priced (we paid A$57/night per room), staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is great.
The location - opposite the 23/9 Park - is excellent with many restaurants and travel agents (try Sinh Cafe just around the corner for a good range of tours) in the area and just a 10 minute walk to the Ben Thanh markets and a little further to the Dong Koi area. Plenty of taxis available. We particularly like the Vinusan and Mauhai (not sure of the spelling?) taxi companies - airconditioned vehicles in good condition, drivers were polite and well dressed, meters which work properly. Overnight buses to Cambodia and regional areas of Vietnam leave from just outside the hotel.
We had 2 rooms on the 7th floor at the rear of the building. One of the rooms did not have any external window but, like all rooms not at the front of the hotel, faced onto a large internal atrium. Initially we were not so keen on no external windows but got used to it quite quickly. Deluxe rooms on the front of the hotel seem to have small balconies and have a good view over the park but face onto the very busy noisy Pham Ngu Lao street so rooms at the back will probably give a better night's sleep!
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike28Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We booked Vien Dong hotel on expedia for first night of our vietnam and cambodia tour for 60$US a night with free b'fast. The hotel itself is very nice, good lobby with a bar, clean rooms, nice decor and good service. Free internet available in the lobby.

We got the room on 8th floor with very good view of the park opposite. It looked great but we discovered the park is used as sports and fitness centre by locals with continuous loud aerobics music that ends at 10pm and starts again at 4:30 am. So if you are light sleeper, you might not like it. Otherise I cannot flaw this hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices and good food.

For budget travellers, there are cheaper options available. We stayed at 18$ a night next time at Happy Inn near De Pham street but that hotel was very basic. It suited us as we arrived from our Mekong tour at 8pm and left at 4am next day. So all we needed was shower and bed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#114 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#69 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#92 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dai Nam Hotel
Dai Nam Hotel
#368 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dragon Palace Hotel
Dragon Palace Hotel
#162 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Property: Vien Dong Hotel
Address: 275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vien Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing