We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and a real bargain”
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #122 of 461 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Our family stayed for 4 nights in 2 rooms at the Vien Dong Hotel in late January. We can thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is new, rooms are excellent and reasonably priced (we paid A$57/night per room), staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is great.
The location - opposite the 23/9 Park - is excellent with many restaurants and travel agents (try Sinh Cafe just around the corner for a good range of tours) in the area and just a 10 minute walk to the Ben Thanh markets and a little further to the Dong Koi area. Plenty of taxis available. We particularly like the Vinusan and Mauhai (not sure of the spelling?) taxi companies - airconditioned vehicles in good condition, drivers were polite and well dressed, meters which work properly. Overnight buses to Cambodia and regional areas of Vietnam leave from just outside the hotel.
We had 2 rooms on the 7th floor at the rear of the building. One of the rooms did not have any external window but, like all rooms not at the front of the hotel, faced onto a large internal atrium. Initially we were not so keen on no external windows but got used to it quite quickly. Deluxe rooms on the front of the hotel seem to have small balconies and have a good view over the park but face onto the very busy noisy Pham Ngu Lao street so rooms at the back will probably give a better night's sleep!
We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike28Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 454 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 28, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We booked Vien Dong hotel on expedia for first night of our vietnam and cambodia tour for 60$US a night with free b'fast. The hotel itself is very nice, good lobby with a bar, clean rooms, nice decor and good service. Free internet available in the lobby.

We got the room on 8th floor with very good view of the park opposite. It looked great but we discovered the park is used as sports and fitness centre by locals with continuous loud aerobics music that ends at 10pm and starts again at 4:30 am. So if you are light sleeper, you might not like it. Otherise I cannot flaw this hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices and good food.

For budget travellers, there are cheaper options available. We stayed at 18$ a night next time at Happy Inn near De Pham street but that hotel was very basic. It suited us as we arrived from our Mekong tour at 8pm and left at 4am next day. So all we needed was shower and bed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 23, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 21, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 21, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I love the staff here - they are SO helpful, which makes all the difference. Only a few small things to note - try to get a room not facing the park because there are 6 am exercises with a techno beat. That woke me up, even though I can sleep through all sorts of street noise. Also free wifi only in the lobby, so we spent a lot of time in the lobby, sometimes plugging into the fishtank. The hotel organized onward travel for us, they watched our luggage, gave us help on where to eat, and helped me across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieannSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#73 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#111 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#103 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,080 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luxe Hotel
The Luxe Hotel
#85 of 461 in Ho Chi Minh City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Address: 275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 461 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $41 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vien Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing