We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed, clean and comfortable”
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #122 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Spent 3 night here with organized group. No complaints. rooms had everything we needed, including tea and coffee making facilities. breakfast had wide selection of food but limited bread , but thats's not unusual over here. Opposite flower market and ATM nearby.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 459 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Right in the busy District 1, this beautiful hotel is a gem. Quiet and clean from the moment you walk in, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. But the best is the buffet breakfast: amazing! Quality and variety, enough to keep you going for a few hours. Highly recommend this place. Note: no outside windows, just inwards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellers0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights to explore HCMC. It was great value at just $55 a night. The staff are very helpful, and it is very clean and tidy. It's somewhere between 3.5 and 4 star by Australian standards. Breakfast is of a very good standard, though the hotel and breakfast can get very busy. Centrally located close to the Ben Than (sorry if spelled incorrectly) Market in the touristy area of District 1, it is a short $3 cab ride to museums, palaces etc etc.

Easy and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbono18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our trip to Vietnam. I upgraded us to an executive suite and was great ful it was great. Superb bed, sensational shower, hotel is clean and lovely and breakfast was very nice. Something for everyone. My only issue with hotel was the bell boy was most unhelpful . When we asked where we could go and look at different options he suggested his friends company (clearly so he wld get a kick back) this is not such a big deal - just not helpful when we wanted brochures and price comparisons - we booked through Kim's tours and when they arrived to collect us the same bell boy kept sending them away making the whole tour an hour late grrrr btw steer clear of Kim's tours. Would definitely stay here again and the location sensational.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an OK hotel. On the plus side is the location, close to the market. The staff was nice. The beds were comfortable. However, the walls need a new coat of paint, the rugs need to be replaced and the bathrooms had some mold between tiles. The breakfast buffet is not the best but it's OK. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a couple in December. Booked over internet for cheaper rate. Got a room overlooking the Park on level 6 was lovely and clean. Buffet breakfast was fabulous. Only downside was very noisy Street but slept well. It may be quieter if you don't overlook the Street. Short walk to markets and plenty of restaurants. Cheap taxi from airport.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rakbids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location in backpacker district with most of the good cheap bars and resturants close by. friendly doorman and trustworthy cleaners didnt steal money I accidentially left lying around. There are cheaper options available but $AU45 for a four star was reasonable to me. An outwards facing window or a balcony would have to be the only thing that could have been better. Breakfast was good didnt use sauna steamroom or spa so cannot comment there. Contiki also using this hotel while we were there.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicko43809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#75 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#41 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,124 reviews
0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#109 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#48 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#85 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#83 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Address: 275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vien Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing