We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vien Dong Hotel
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Vien Dong was clean, simple and very welcoming. The location is good for the main attractions but it is on a busy street so we were woken by loud traffic at 6.30am. Breakfast had a good selection. HCMC was interesting but not somewhere I would stay for more than a day. Agreed shower was good but bath towels tiny tiny!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 459 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel for 4 days.
Great location. Right in the middle of the busy traveller's district. 1 min - 2 min walk to bus companies offering great tour packages as well as great restaurants of different sorts surrounding the area. ABC bakery was just 30 min walk for your take home baguette, they open as early as 6am as well, try to grab a few baguettes before going home... the price is only 4,000 VD, which is quite cheap, we bought a few before going home.. Try to ask for tour packages around the area, some shops offer great discounted packages with excellent tour package. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast can be taken as early as 6am which is great and offers a variety of food daily, however quite consistent...and we really liked the bacon..so crispy.In terms of safety, quite safe in and out of the hotel. Initially, we were worried about the reviews re: walking along the streets, but thankfully, no bad incident happened. Great and accommodating hotel staff. Would be staying in this hotel again definitely. Price worth for your money. However, no swimming pool, small bath towels and free bottled water has metallic taste i don't know why. Additional advice, when asking for taxi, ask for Vinasun and you'll not be cheated.. thats what we did. From hotel, you can go out of immigration and look for vinasun taxi pay 100,000 VD one way to hotel instead of asking for hotel to pick you up, i think it will save you a few dongs.

Room Tip: ask for the quiet side, wing b if not mistaken ( not exposed to street noises).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinktravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice and clean hotel in central location in ho chi minh city. Lots of restaurants and tour companies nearby and park right across road. Walking distance to main things. Room was nice, shower good etc. wifi easily available all over hotel without even needing to enter a password which was good. Breakfast buffet had a good selection.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ohare1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good value choice, in busy area.
Staff helpful & friendly
Rooms clean and roomy.
Only 2 small problems no toaster for breakfast & bath towel size
Would stay here again Plenty of shops and food around this area
Plenty of tour companies to book your tours.
Pick up from airport was exellect

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank aussiedollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restaurant is good and the room is clean, big and comfortable. The staffs are helpful and friendly.Hotel is in the heart of the backpacker district, nightlife and daylife are alway busy ,lot to do and see.very exciting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was only a 3 star at best but overall was very neat and tidy. The language barrier was not an issue here as the staff were very good at speaking english. We booked about 6 rooms in the hotel and all the rooms where a nice size - not really small. The walls are pretty paper thin so when people come back to the hotel late at night after hitting the town you do hear them. The hotel has a walk way in the centre to access all the rooms of the building which does echo when people are talking or yelling in the centre. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the day & night markets which is a nice stroll along the park. The cleaners were a bit slow on the making up of rooms as on most days we would be out from roughly 9 am until around 2 pm as we were doing tours and majority of the days our room was still not made up... The breakfast was very minimal but still had an egg station and fruit etc. Overall would stay at this hotel if I needed a cheap stopover but would stay down the road at the more luxurious hotels if I was on a more flexible budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuttifrutti_chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. The free breakfast is adequate. The price is unbeatable. The exchange rate of the cashier was better than nearby banks. We got to the hotel late one night and many restaurants were closed. The hotel helped us call Pizza Hut - 2 1/2 blocks away for delivery. The pizza was at our door in 20 minutes. Ben Thanh Market is a short walk away. The negative is the sound. If your neighbors are speaking loudly, you can hear them in the next room. And there is open space at the bottom of every door through which all hall sound comes into the room. There is an atrium at the middle of the hotel and rude people will speak to friends at various floors of the hotel. All of that noise comes into the rooms. The noise at times made it a challenge to fall asleep. However, once we fell asleep, the noise was not enough to wake us up until we had slept for 7 hours or so. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The further away from the atrium, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LowMaintFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Elios Hotel
Elios Hotel
#74 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#41 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,124 reviews
0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Parkview
#106 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#87 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#80 of 467 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Address: 275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vien Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing