We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the heart of the city”
Review of Fine Arts Museum

Fine Arts Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Half-Day Ho Chi Minh Art Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fine Arts museum is a restored home with sixteen showrooms displaying paintings, pottery, sculpture and even some weapons.
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of the city”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We've just spent the morning at the fine art museum and were pleasantly surprised, even my 13 year old daughter was impressed. Ok, so there's no Picasso or Cezanne but what is there are beautiful works of art by Vietnamese artists, my daughter was so impressed she took down names for more research. The ceramics and wooden sculptures are wonderful too. It is not huge but take the time to read about the artists and enjoy the art. Would highly recommend a morning there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    291
    166
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fine display, just nothing exciting on offer”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoyed a peaceful and almost solitary stroll through the museum which is in a beautiful old building. The content is decent (I don;t know that much about art) but as with most other things in Vietnam there is narrowly focussed cultural references, it's either rural-labour or war themes. Still interesting though and ;m glad we went anyway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MildlyMyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who Loves the Arts”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My sister and I spent more time in the Museum of Fine Arts than we expected to. That's how much we liked the place. We learned a lot about Vietnam, its past, and its culture. But then, not everyone loves the arts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinchu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Si Thammarht, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best value museum I've ever been to”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The entry fee is 10,000 vnd which is about 30p! You get access to two buildings! The one with 3 floors is better as. It has more variety. There is modern art, ceramics, sculpture and the mediums used are very interesting. I particularly enjoyed seeing the lacquer on wood images and the watercolor on silk paintings were so delicate and really beautiful. There are some charming pen and ink illustrations depicting war time scenes. Some of the modern art has been created in response to the American war and is quite horrific, yet moving. The piece 'agent orange' is one to brace yourself for. Beautiful building, a joy to walk around, especially as it was practically deserted during my visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“im not an arts person”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

so i doubt my review is unbiased - generally its pictures and art - its cheap to get into - they've improved since the last time i was there

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank restlesswandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Fine Arts Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing