We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice architecture” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)

Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Full-Day Saigon City Tour Including Cyclo Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This stately landmark building hosts more than just opera; it's also home to classical recitals, pop concerts and dance.
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice architecture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We could not go inside; the guide thought that it was closed for lunch. Makes a nice photo though. It is in a very well kept area of the city.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,091
    1,026
    429
    39
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,024 reviews
737 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“elegant colonial style theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Like the majority of reviewers I was unable to go inside this building
however I can say that it's beautiful exterior makes it one of the most beautiful buildings in the city and well worth a view

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The white building represents a french style. It becomes an interesting view if you put it on the background when you see the traffic of motorcycles.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank linandhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long An Province, Vietnam
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice side trip as one walks around HCMC, If I remember my history
it served as the legislature back in 'the old days'.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We are not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is a very nice building from the outside. But inside it is worn down. We saw a play regarding some old vietnamese legends. It was nothing special.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing